We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are fisherman” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anglers Paradise Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anglers Paradise Motel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you are fisherman”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

if you are fisherman,this motel will be good choice.We are not,but our stay was ok,room was clean but with older look.Internet was not there for 24hours and wifi was realy bad for important conection,but if you looking for only one/two night should be good.Average hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thanks for staying with us and writing a review.I am sorry that our wi-fi did not perform well for you. We have been having problems with the internet connection and are in the process of changing providers with the aim of solving this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    35
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
59
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We chose this place as our base for New Year with some friends, who had rented a house, but we wanted to have a place of our own. The motel has all the necessities, including a pool and spa. The kitchen has all the things you need and the bed is ok. There is a heater in the room as well. The only problem we found was that the bathroom floor kept flooding. We did let the owners know, who came in but did not seem to know where the problem came from. We were not offered to be moved into another room. In fact we had to ask for towels ourselves, to keep the soaking the water off the floor. This was quite inconvenient and I do wish we were offered another room to move into. The spa is a nice idea for the evening relaxation, its under a little roof, so even though it was raining all the time we were there, we still enjoyed the experience - though the actual "bubbles" in the spa did not seem to work. All in all a cosy place in a small town.

Room Tip: We had the studio and it was spacious, nice outlook to the garden and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondeBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you for for finding the positive dispite a wet time both outside and in it would seem.The leak was found to come from the toilet cystern which was leaking intermitently, strange,but eventualy the leak was located, and fixed, mystery water problem solved.Our normal proceedure in that situation is to offer another unit and I aplolgise if that was not offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Every year we end up in Turangi for a weekend. Every year we stay at the Anglers Paradise.

Why? It's certainly not the only motel in that towhship. But it's handy to all of the amenities, indeed everything you need is within a few minutes walk.

It's handy to the main roads but reasonably quiet when it comes to traffic noise. There's good parking -- not just for occupants' cars but also for motorcycles, which is how we tour.

Rooms are light and airy and fastidiously cleaned and well presented. The bed is comfy and sleep-filled.

If you're an angler, there are plenty of racks for waders and other specialist apparel. There's also an area where you can dress and fillet your catch, and also a gas barbecue where you can cook it!

The pool and spa are central to all the units. The spa is a particularly enjoyable and relaxing way to end a day.

Friendly and obliging hosts round out the experience of this delightful and welcoming motel.

Get yourself to the Anglers Paradise. We'll be there again next October.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettSangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Many thanks for your thoughtful and very positive review, we look forward to your stay with us at Anglers.All the best and safe riding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Wow what can you say when the owners bend over backwards to help you out when your stuck in a jam and they close the roads due to snow and ice.
Just brilliant is all we can say
The friendlist most helpfull people i have ever come across in years of Motel and resort stays and we will be sure to stay there again in the future(fishing season) and hopefully have time to do some fishing then as well.
Room was spacious and warm when we arrived (Cannot beat the old nightstore heaters eh!!!)even when calling late at night and had to use the night bell!!
Nice quiet atmosphere and surrounds and a big warm bed!!!
Convenient location just off the main highway so easy to find and village is just down the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vee0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
THANK YOU, it is great to receive such an appreciative review. We do like to help people where we can, any time of the day, our storage heaters are on right through the winter so we have warm rooms available with a large comfortable bed 24 hours a day, we are expecting you.
Thanks again for such an inspireing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

our company placed us at the anglers paradise motel for aprox 4 weeks during the month of july. we were all very happy with the units. always very clean and tidy with plenty of room. the units were also warm and cosy considering the weather was poor and very cold during our stay. we found the service was great. rob and lynn were friendly and always ready to help out or assist when they were able. the anglers paradise motel is in a great location and the spa was a much used bonus. if we ever work around turangi area again we certainly will stay at the anglers....if there is a room available!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulp255108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thanks Guys, your review is very much appreciated and you are welcome anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
32.2 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
1.2 km away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
9.2 km away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.7 km away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.9 km away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anglers Paradise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglers Paradise Motel

Property: Anglers Paradise Motel
Address: 57 Raukura Street | 3334, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price range (per night): $97 - $128
Hotel Class:3 star — Anglers Paradise Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in two acres of trees and garden, set around a swimming pool, spa and children’s play area, with plenty of room to relax after a busy day, our other on-site facilities include FREE Wi-Fi, free gas BBQ's, guests laundry and drying lockers. Continental and cooked breakfast can be delivered to units and we also have Anglers licensed restaurant serving dinner and breakfast (reservations necessary). Also, we can arrange various activities for you in the area, such as trout fishing guides for lake and river fishing (no experience needed and all equipment provided), rafting, kayaking, skiing and transport to and from the Tongariro National Park, Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Ruapehu Ski Fields,Scenic flights over the volcanoes and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Anglers Paradise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglers Paradise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing