We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great chalets to relax in, excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tongariro Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tongariro Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great chalets to relax in, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We booked a chalet for 4 days during the winter and it was fantastic. 40 mins to skiing, great local atmosphere and the restaurant prepares some fantastic meals based on local produce.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peeyooshchandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TongariroLodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thanks for your review....great to hear that you had a wonderful time up on the mountain and here at the Lodge. We hope to see you again in the future. Steve Smith - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    39
    23
    9
    0
See reviews for
29
78
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

The Lodge has excellent dining which is a must if you are looking for something special in Turangi. The place is full of character and history. If you are passing by try the dessert menu for a great treat!

The rooms are spacious and have great heating. The beds are very nice too. The rooms may be a bit old, but it goes well with the overall theme of the Lodge.

Only complaint is that there was an issue with the room cleaning service which was not appropriate. I wrote a letter to the owner and manager of the Lodge in the post yet never received a reply. I found this to be rather poor on the Lodges part and has somewhat tarnished my views on staying there again.

Room Tip: Book from Wotif.com as the rack rates are very very high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james_j_graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TongariroLodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Hello James,
It's Steve here from Tongariro Lodge. Great to hear you had a good time staying with us, apart from the housekeeping issue. I haven't seen your letter yet, hence my lack of response. If you'd like, please e-mail it to me (steve@tongarirolodge.co.nz), or give me a call on (07) 386 7946. I'll make sure I respond to you asap.

Thanks for the review.

Steve Smith
GENERAL MANAGER
TONGARIRO LODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Got a grab-one deal and stayed for a couple of nights over a winter weekend. Lodge very quiet. Stayed in chalets which were basic and comfortable - moved to a different unit on the second night because the bed was rather firm the first night. This was no problem for an excellent team of staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Watched the Super 15 final on a TV in the bar which nearly gave the barman a hernia carrying it there. Thoroughly enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZSTARGAZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TongariroLodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear NZStargazer,
Thanks for your review. Glad to hear the James' effort in bringing in a TV was worth it, despite the Crusaders being beaten.

I didn't realise your star gazing interest....next time you stay we can arrange a visit for you to the local private observatory.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Steve Smith
GENERAL MANAGER
TONGARIRO LODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

My partner and I visited the Lodge for a short getaway from Australia over the Easter break -and we did not want to leave.
When we arrived it was late (close to 11pm) yet the Lodge Manager, Steve, personally greeted us and made sure we were settled in and comfortable. The service was definitely a highlight of the visit, and that is saying something since the location was absolutely gorgeous, the food incredible and the choice of outdoor activities seemingly endless. Steve and the team were warm, friendly and full of great tips and advice to help us enjoy the stay - nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed in a standalone lodge by the river. It was private, roomy and very comfortable - kitchen, fire place, bbq and outdoor setting on the balcony.
The location was spectacular. The lodge is by the river, spotted by fly fisherman trying their luck. The mountains are in the background and trees with their autumn leaves a flaming red against a lush green countryside - a sight I dont normally see on the east cost of Oz. It made it very easy to unwind and relax.
The food at the lodge restaurant was an adventure in itself. My belt buckle is paying the price now but it was well worth it!!! We worked our way through the normal menu and treated to a bonus with a special 6 course function with a local maori chef hosting a dinner using traditional and local ingredients.
The choice of activities seemed endless - we were lucky enough to go on a helicopter ride which was phenomenal and definitely the best way to see sights (which landed on our doorstep right in front of our lodge!), white water rafting (a must do), golf and a visit to the local wine and food festival.
We didnt get to try the fishing (what the place is famous for!), spa, local hot springs or hiking trails - couldnt find the time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 255060Domenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We booked this as a late special on Wotif. The room was advertised at $499 and being offered for $199 so we thought we would enjoy a bit of luxury. As you drive in to the grounds, you could be somewhere in Scotland; they're quite stunning and the lodge itself was nice but not as outstanding as say Tarraleah in Tasmania. However, the staff were brilliant. We were given a one bedroom chalet which was where the enigma started. Beautiful grounds, nice lodge, fantastic people and yet the room was a real let down, especially at $199! We had just come from a fantastic motel in Taupo, which was $70 less and better than most hotel rooms we have stayed in! If it hadn't been for the staff at the lodge, we would probably have upped sticks and gone somewhere else to stay. The rooms must have been furnished in the 80s and nobody has thought about upgrading them in 30 years! There's wifi only at the lodge, not in the rooms. We had dinner at the restaurant, (dinner was up to 9.00pm but the chef told us that it was 7 or nothing) which was superb and the cooked breakfast the next morning was excellent too! So there you have it, beautiful grounds, beautiful people, good lodge, fantastic food and totally let down by lousy overpriced rooms. Why?

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0bbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
34.5 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
8.5 km away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
39.1 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.7 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.0 km away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.7 km away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Property: Tongariro Lodge
Address: Grace Road | PO Box 278, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turangi
Price range (per night): $236 - $714
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing