We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT.”
Half Way House, Salt Cay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Half Way House, Salt Cay.
Ocean Side Decks Ocean View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Half Way House, Salt Cay.
Ocean Side Decks
Ocean View
Ocean Patio
Salt Cay, Quiet and Tranquill
North Beach
Downstairs Living Room
Kitchen
Hallway to Upstairs
Upstairs Living Room
Upstairs Bedroom
Upstairs Gallery with Ocean View
Bedrrom with Ensuite Bath and Balcony
Third Beroom
Bath with Balcony off of the Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Salt Cay, Turks and Caicos

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MalibuJoe...
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“PERFECT.”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We returned to Salt Cay to celebrate my 50th Birthday. Several years ago, we were lucky enough to find the Half Way House on line, and stayed here back in 2011, so, for this trip, it was a no brainer.

The Half Way House is, without a doubt, the most beautiful house on Salt Cay--in fact, in my opinion, its one of the most beautiful, classic rental homes in the Turks and Caicos. If you want to stay directly on the world's most beautiful beach (North Beach)--i'd only recommend Castaways (a more rustic, smaller, 'studio'-like accommodation) --but if you wish to stay in a restored, classic Caribbean, GORGEOUS home, where your comfort is guaranteed, and contains every amenity you'd need, The Half Way House is it, and you don't need to look any further.

The Half Way House IS on the water --a rocky beach, with a spectacular view (particularly at sunset--WOW!!!!!!)--and directly on the whale migration route. If you stay here early March, this is the place to see the whales--right from the lounge chairs of ur backyard. Aside from your water front back deck (with a bbq, umbrellas, furniture, etc.), you have 2 beautiful living rooms, perfectly appointed and so tastefully designed in turquoise and white---big cozy white couches, ceiling fans throughout the home, antiques and art work, 3 large bedrooms, a lovely front porch with rocking chairs, a big kitchen with everything you'd need to prepare a meal, dining area, and....a brand new washer and dryer (you don't realize what a PLUS this is on vacation, until you actually have one at your disposal..) BTW, when my friends arrived on the island, and we brought them over to the Half Way House, as soon as we walked through the front doors, their mouths literally dropped....its THAT beautiful.

You also have cable tv, wifi, bicycles, and, of course, the owner (Holly) will arrange EVERYTHING for you before you arrive---from your buggy rental to all the food, beverages, alcohol,etc.you'd require for you stay. The Half Way house is the perfect rental for a family, or just a couple, who are seeking luxury, comfort, and elegance on an island which is much more rustic and low key than the rest of Turks and Caicos. If you're looking for that perfect studio on the beach, with all the basics, check out Castaways--but if you want something REALLY special, and if you're an aesthetic, who values classic beauty and good taste, and likes the idea of spending their holiday in an old, perfectly restored plantation/Caribbean home, with plenty of room, amenities, style, class, elegance, and beauty (and just a 5-10 minute golf cart drive to North Beach), the Half Way House is IT....... ENJOY!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: its the most beautiful home on Salt Cay.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thank you Joe, so glad that you enjoyed both the house and Salt Cay, looking forward to having you come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lckemelce...
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Most beautiful house on Salt Cay”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I chanced upon this property when searching for accommodation. We are a group of 4 friends looking for accommodation for 4 nights. I was finding ways and means to adjust our flights just so I can stay in this house! I am so glad I did. Holly was very responsive to my email queries and we did. We were picked up from the airport and we got help with the groceries. We also rented a buggy from Holly and we took it to the north beach and all over the island. The house was spotless and the patio facing the sea saw us enjoying many sunset drinks. One of my friends only dived on 1 day just to spend more nice quiet time in the house. It was very breezy throughout our stay and we often fall asleep in the living room. We could see the humpback whales swimming right pass the house in the mornings with their calf.

There are 3 bedrooms and could easily sleep 6 adults. There is also a living area and patio on the 2nd floor. The kitchen was very well equipped and we cooked breakfast on some mornings.

Our cable TV didn't work and someone came to fix it the next day. We had good wifi connection in the house.

We had dinner at Pat's and enjoyed chatting with her. breakfasts, dinners and drinks at Porter's were always good fun! Everyone on the island is very friendly and we enjoyed the island life.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the decor of the house
Liked least: cable TV did not work half the time we were there
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
So glad that you enjoyed your stay, Salt Cay is very special, and the house is fantastic. Hope to see you again, soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, USA
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VA
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fundrench...
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite Engaging!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Words will never be able to convey how wonderful our vacation was thanks to Holly and her husband's love and care of The Half Way House (we called it "home")! From the moment I decided on this property, Holly kept the communication going regularly, she answered all questions promptly and probably even stayed up late due to me contacting her while I was deployed in Afghanistan. She made all of the arrangements for the food to be stocked, for the pickup and dropoff at the airport, for every little thing you could possibly need, want, or desire--Holly had it covered. The kitchen was well appointed, the linen was well stocked, the lounge chairs and umbrellas were set up, the furnishings were beautiful and inviting, the caretaker and housekeeper were there to patiently go over the whole house answering any questions...I really don't believe you could ever get more than this at any other place.
The pictures on the website are an absolutely dead-on stunning representation of this property and I assure you, you will NOT be disappointed! You are getting exactly what is pictured and much, much more. We did a four-day stay and opted to rent the buggy (golf cart) for three days. We explored the island from tip to tip. We hiked to the ruins that Holly suggested, visited an abandoned church, met the locals at the restaurants and stores and along the street, and we walked all over the island at night to gaze at the stars and share the road with donkeys, cows, and roosters. Of course we visited different beaches every day. There were bicycles for our use, a washer and dryer, beach chairs, huge beach towels, and umbrellas to take to the beach, the list is endless of the supplies in that home--including things you didn't even think of.
On our second night there, my boyfriend (now fiance) lit the beautiful candles, turned down the lights, turned on a song, and proposed to me right there in the living room. The tradewinds were blowing, the sound of the ocean was in the background and it was a perfect setting for the surprise of a lifetime! I couldn't think of a better place to get engaged. We will have warm and fond memories of Salt Cay and The Half Way House and yes, we will be back (I hope we can get in after this).
Now, for those of you who want nightlife and parties, this is likely not the place for you. We were looking for rest and relaxation and solitude after a deployment in Afghanistan and for us this was an absolutely perfect location. But don't think you're stranded. The internet was fast, the satellite TV worked fine (we didn't use it because we were out everyday), and we took a ferry to Grand Turk one day just to do it. The water was crystal clear and we put on our goggles and followed schools of fish near the shore. There were restaurants with good food and very friendly people and they had lots of stories to share and more recommendations of swimming holes, beaches, and other places to visit on the island.
I say, if you can't get The Half Way House on Salt Cay, wait until there's a vacancy. Even the locals ooh'd and ahh'd when they realized where we were staying. We certainly didn't want to leave. Definitely a special place to return again and again....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the home
Liked least: The little bugs at night--no fault of the owner at all--just comes with the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing