We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location and spotless.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glencoe Youth Hostel
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great location and spotless.”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed 2 nights and our rooms were cleaned after the first night which was a lovely surprise as at a different hostel the bedroom carpet had obviously not been cleaned before we arrived and was not touched before we left after 3 nights.

The shower rooms and toilets appear to have been recently refurbished so were in very good condition.

The ‘quiet room’ is very small and would not accommodate everyone if the hostel were full. There is a large dining area with an average sized kitchen for the size of hostel.

There is space for car parking and a bike shed next to the hostel.

The hostel is in an excellent location for access to the hills. Glencoe village is about a 5 min drive away and it takes about the same time in the other direction to drive to the Clachaig Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldtravellerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    33
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
11
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

A little off the beaten track but good facilities and a very helpful guy on reception. Nice pub 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steelysurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This hostel is in a great location near the village of Glen Coe. The problem is that it was very busy and there was actually very little room in the common area/ quiet room.

Good facililties and clean but just not enough room for everyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adorey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

i booked my stay at Glencoe Youth Hostel to coincide with live music at the nearby Clachaig Inn on a saturday night and thought the location was beautiful- very impressive if you're touring with foreign tourists!

However, the hostel is a good 40 minute walk from the bus stop and the staff were really quite rude, booting us out at 10:30am when the hostel closes for 5 hours. The rooms were typical hostel ones- clean but small- shame about the segregation! Breakfast is an extra £5.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elean0r_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quimper, France
Level Contributor
255 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We only spent one night there but both of us had been there on many times before. Thomas is as wonderful warden, taking lots of care. Well furbished kitchen, great dining-room, lots of space, I wish I could have stayed for longer. Keep going, it's just GREAT!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuna1yuna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencoe Village
0.0 km away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
311 reviews
0.0 km away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
631 reviews
0.0 km away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.0 km away
Glencoe Independent Hostel
0.0 km away
The Glencoe Inn
The Glencoe Inn
#7 of 11 in Glencoe Village
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencoe Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe Youth Hostel

Property: Glencoe Youth Hostel
Address: Glencoe Village PH49 4HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Glencoe Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Glencoe Village
Price range (per night): $57 - $210
Hotel Class:3 star — Glencoe Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencoe Youth Hostel is ideally located away from the main A82 in the quiet countryside of Glencoe, surrounded by fields and trees with stunning view of the hills. The youth hostel is popular with walkers, climbers and families as it offers budget multi-share accommodation but also private family friendly rooms too. Glencoe Youth Hostel has a large open plan kitchen/ dining room with ample cooking facilities and dining tables. According to one of our customers, Glencoe Youth Hostel has one of the best drying rooms in the Scottish Highlands! Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glencoe Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencoe Youth Hostel Scotland - Glencoe Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing