We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family mini break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Welland Valley Private Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
View of the Welland Valley
Private Garden
Private Car Park
Large patio view 1
Large patio view 2
Over looks the Welland Valley
Dining Room
Kitchen leads to original station stairs
Reception room with Cinema Entertainment System (include 2 sofa beds)
Kingsize bedroom
Double bedroom
Family Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marcus H
1 review
“Family mini break”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Met with family from Norfolk as we are from North Wales and Rutland is nearly in the middle!!
Great location, undulating countryside and chocolate box villages, but still near major link roads to civilisation.
House was great - oozed character and charm, everything was as advertised and a great stay was had by all.
Our party had young children and pensioners, but the house and the local area had enough to keep everyone happy.
The house is next door to the owners who are on hand if you have any difficulties, or if you just want to see their mammoth cats!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - lovely views and character property
Liked least: The local pub was shut when we were there :(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Spaciousness of property and location
Liked least: No washing up liquid or dishwasher tablets provided
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
binliner
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My apologies, I have been somewhat tardy in posting this review.
We chose this property based primarily on Trip Advisor reviews as we sought a bit of peace and quiet in the countryside away from the mayhem of summer holiday traffic. Barrowden and Wakerley Station fitted our requirements perfectly for the duration of our 3 week stay.

Alexandra was the perfect host welcoming us on arrival and offering friendly advice, recommendations and support. Although she was away on her annual vacation for the last two weeks of our stay, this in no way detracted from the smooth running of the property which continued to be serviced weekly. We experienced no significant technical problems or issues with the property which was well maintained throughout.

The old station is beautifully converted, from the 'grand' staircase to the high ceilings and spacious rooms. The ample on site parking would comfortably accommodate 4 cars and the private outdoor patio was a delightful place to relax and enjoy a drink or two at the end of the day. We were somewhat spoiled during our stay as, although there were only 2 of us, the property sleeps 8, I believe. We had been travelling in the United Kingdom for the previous 5 months and this was, by far, the most spacious and comfortable property we have enjoyed. The main bedrooms are upstairs, although there is one downstairs bedroom (we only used this for storing our luggage) which would be eminently suitable for people with mobility problems.There is also a downstairs bathroom/WC.An earlier post questioned the absence of a freezer. There was in fact a perfectly adequate freezer on site, albeit located in the washer/dryer room which is accessed externally.

This is an extremely peaceful location tucked away in the 'wilds' of Rutland/Northampton/Leicestershire - I think about 3/4 counties join about here so I was never quite sure which one I was in! Although the property itself is somewhat remote, there are some delightful and historic small towns nearby including Stamford, Uppingham, Oakham and Oundle with, importantly, some good coffee shops. There were also many excellent local pubs nearby offering tasty food.

Overall, we had an excellent stay. Not only would we be happy to stay here again, we are already tentatively planning our next UK holiday which is likely to feature Barrowden and Wakerley Station in the mix. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its peacefulness and location
Liked least: Nothing significant
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oagey
1 review
“Amazing will definitely revisit”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

After reading the previous review the week before we were due to go I was very apprehensive but I can assure you I needn't have been.
The house was wonderful yes they are working on the nearby property but it certainly didn't affect our stay. Alexandra couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable nothing was too much for her.
Our children loved exploring, playing hide and seek and listening to the lambs.
The only slight downside is in the downstairs bedroom there is nowhere to put clothes as we were only there for a weekend that didn't bother us but if going for a week I wouldn't like to have to live out of my suitcase.
We had the most wonderful time and will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing