We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful family friendly villa in a stunning...”

Review of Casa Delle Grazie

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom in La Stalla
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Bedroom in La Stalla
view of Montone from the annex
casa delle grazie
Sunflowers in summer in front of the house
View from Casa delle Grazie
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Montone, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Karen S
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful family friendly villa in a stunning location”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We've just come back from a fantastic week staying at Casa delle Grazie. Situated just 5 minutes walk from the picturesque hilltop village Montone, the location is pretty perfect and we enjoyed stunning sunsets from our terrace every evening. It was great to be able to walk out in the evening for dinner in the buzzing piazza - or sometimes just going up for an Aperol Spritz and gelato!

We travelled with 2 girls who quickly made friends with the other families and enjoyed chasing (and catching!) the chickens, collecting eggs and cooling off in the swimming pool. They also did an art class with a local Italian artist! The house itself had everything we needed and was decorated very tastefully.

Aine and Gemma were perfect hostesses - they offered plenty of tips on things to see and do and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The only downside was that we had to leave after a week - we would have loved to have stayed longer and I'm sure we will be back in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraEsse...
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot in Beautiful Umbria”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just returned from our amazing family holiday at Casa delle Grazie. The location is absolutely perfect!
The accommodation has stunning views of the beautiful Umbrian countryside and the picture postcard perfect hilltop village of Montone.

Our cottage (we stayed in La Cantina) was spacious and beautifully maintained - it's was also very child friendly - a plus point was it all being on one level with no steps to worry about with our toddler. A travel cot and high chair were also provided at no extra cost.
Little touches like the box of children's toys in the cottage and a small welcome pack including wine and bread were lovely gestures.
Aine made us feel incredibly welcome (and was also fantastic and very patient with all our questions during the booking process)
Her assistant Gemma was always on hand to advise on the area or answer any questions we had.

The swimming pool is a great size and and a god send when you happen to visit Italy during a heat wave! It was very well matained and there were plenty of sun loungers and shade. The surrounding gardens were lovely and the chickens a complete hit with our daughters!

The nearby village of Montone (5 minutes walk via the short cut) is magical. A perfectly preserved Italian village - in the evenings the village square has a lovely and relaxed atmosphere.
The restaurants in the village are all great and there is a delightful little cafe to grab coffee and pizza at the entrance to the village by the steps.

It is also a great central base to visit many of the beautiful places North Umbria has to offer - Assisi, Gubbio and Lake Trameso all a must see!

A complete gem and we certainly hope to return! Thank you Aine and Gemma :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LNX300
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eccellente!”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We visited Casa delle Grazie in the first week in September 2016. The property we rented was excellent and we used this as a base for our sightseeing. However we did spend a couple of lovely days lying by the pool and relaxing.

Aine was a fantastic host, ensuring that we had everything that we needed and after a very late arrival even offered to bring us some cold meats. A welcome pack is provided which gives you more than the necessities to start your holiday. A lovely touch and much appreciated.

The accommodation was maintained to a high standard and we must mention the beds, which were great (my sleep app tells me that my sleep improved by 10% here). Rooms w ere spacious as were the bathrooms. Each cottage has an outside eating area, this is separated from the other cottages and gives enough privacy when sitting or eating. The views over the Umbrian countryside were spectacular.

The village of Montone was exquisite. A leisurely stroll (uphill) from the cottages brings you into a wonderful piazza, were locals and tourists mingle. The locals were friendly, welcoming and very cheery. The bar in the piazza is a great way to spend time, having an Aperol Spritz and watching the world go by. The restaurants were excellent and we had one of the best meals of our trip at Erba Luna. There is a great bakery and the small butcher sold the best fresh porchetta. If you walk up the hill at night, remember to take a torch to walk down!

We used this stay as a base to visit Assisi, Gubbio, Lake Trasimeno and for our second week we moved over to Tuscany. However we all agreed that we wished that we had booked our two weeks here. After driving and sightseeing, it was great at the end of the day to leave the car behind and soak up the atmosphere in the beautiful village.

A really enjoyable week, with wonderful hosts. Thank you Aine. We most certainly will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness, views and the village.
Liked least: The drive at night from Pisa airport. When flying from Scotland or the North of England, the option is Pisa and not Perugia.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom F
1 review
“Fantastic Umbrian accommodation ”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We visited Casa delle Grazie in September 2016 for a week. The accommodation was beautifully maintained with lovely facilities. We have a daughter who was 8 months old when we visited and Aine and Gemma ensured we had a cot, high chair and lots of toys!

The accommodation has wonderful views of the beautiful Umbrian countryside - perfect views across the valley at sunset. The swimming pool is lovely as are the gardens. Very peaceful and relaxing. The chickens were a big hit with our daughter!

The nearby village of Montone (5 minutes walk) is magical. A perfectly preserved Italian hamlet - in the early evenings the village square has a lovely bar where all the locals congregate and chat and play cards. The restaurants in the village are also superb (and very baby friendly). The village is well served by little shops with delicious local cheeses, meat, truffles and wine.

The houses are about half an hour drive from Perugia airport (you can fly from Stansted with Ryanair). It is also extremely well situated to visit towns in the area, such as Assisi, Siena, Gubbio and Arezzo (where the film Life is Beautiful was filmed). Gubbio and its market (on Tuesday mornings) was wonderful. Another stunningly beautiful town.

We were made to feel very welcome by Aine and Gemma. There was a lovely welcome pack and they looked after us very well.

We will in all likelihood come back soon - we cannot recommend Casa delle Grazie enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

In June of this year we had a family holiday here. We came from Australia, my sister and her family from Northern Ireland, my partners brother and sister in law from London and my parents from Scotland. Aine was amazingly helpful for the months leading up to our holiday helping us with itineraries, directions and so forth.
When we arrived we were warmly welcomed, shown around and and encouraged to ask for anything that we might need!
Aine and Gemma helped us to get a local lady, Daniella, to come to the property to teach us to make pasta. A brilliant experience for all, especially the kids because they could be hands on. Gemma was there to assist with translation, which was great as we all had a laugh together with no serious language barrier. We had a lovely evening at a winery nearby. Multi course meal with wines to match. Aine had recommended this. We also had another fabulous evening when she had suggested we get one of the local farmers to do a roast pig for us. A great evening spent eating amazing pork and lovely local wine. Then thanks to the amazing timing, it was off up to the village to watch Italy v Ireland in the Euro football, watching on the big screen in the piazza! An amazing village with warm and friendly locals and expats. A great night had by all!
The restaurants are amazing, with great views and wonderfully friendly service.
The accommodation was very comfortable, clean and very nice just to relax in with the stunning views and sensational sunsets! A lovely pool to relax next to and so many other wonderful places to visit a short drive away if you feel the urge! We couldn't recommend staying here highly enough and we have all agreed that we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall hospitality!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing