We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
56
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full irish breakfast tea and biscuits lovely country house comfy bed marie ireland fritz pasture lounge
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We have stayed here many times, this was the first November visit. The room was warm and the electric blanket on ready for our arrival. Tea and biscuits and a catch-up chat all added to the feeling of being welcomed to Marie's gorgeous house.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JandI2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We booked a room here at short notice. Marie was very helpful and welcoming, very down to earth. She even gave us a lift into town. Bed was comfy and we had a fab full Irish breakfast in the morning. Lovely country house.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RamblinRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Cloncarlin House is an amazing B&B! The 18th Century house is stunning! The rooms were very cozy and with the window open at night we were able to experience the peaceful atmosphere surrounding it. Marie is a wonderful and pleasant hostess. She sat with us in the parlor and was so personable which made us feel at home. Breakfast was fabulous, and afterwards we were able to walk into the pasture and pet the horses and the "new" baby!! Definitely recommend Cloncarlin House and hope if we get to Ireland again will stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

I can't say enough great things about Marie. She is kind, warm and welcoming. We stayed here two nights during our trip. The room was very spacious and the bed had heating blankets on it. What an awesome perk after being out all day on a chilly spring day in Ireland.

We stayed here as it was close to my family in Laois and there are no B&B's in Laois. The driveway is a long tree lined path that looks like the perfect countryside escape. The house is 240 years old and simply beautiful. Marie greeted us in the parking lot - which was large - and showed us to our room. We left quickly to have dinner with my family and were out late. The bed was easily the most comfortable of the whole trip and the heating pad helped make it the most restful night we'd had in Ireland since arriving. The next morning, we enjoyed a delicious and quiet breakfast before leaving for our next stop. We were headed to Dublin & our next stay was in Swords, but, they couldn't take us for 3 nights, only 2. So, after one night there, we went back to Cloncarlin. Marie welcomed us back with hugs and was able to give us the same room. She had the heating pads ready for us after waiting until almost 9pm for us to arrive that second time.

Wifi: The wifi was best downstairs and very weak upstairs, but, that was fine with us.

Cloncarlin is in a great location for visiting the midlands of Ireland and only about an hour or so from Dublin. Since Dublin has very few B&B's that take the travel vouchers - this is a great place to stay along the way!

My husband and I really enjoyed both of our stays here and would highly recommend it. The best nights of rest we had the whole trip and Marie is just lovely. I hope we can return someday soon! Thank you, Marie!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ak195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Marie is such a wonderful host. Excellent food and accommodation. So peaceful and nothing is too much for Marie. We will be back. She never rushes departure and is so accommodating... I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews