We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
158
26
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
26
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari surf el manglar free laundry service manglar restaurant toaster oven surf school restaurant staff restaurant el coffee maker luxury suite free water bottles walking distance to everything beach cruisers living room kitchen nearby beach pura vida short walk through the jungle
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We have stayed at Olas Verdes in the past but now own a home in Guiones Beach. Since we've been to the area many times, we're very familiar with the local restaurants and the restaurant at Olas Verdes is one of the best!

When visiting the restaurant you can expect a very friendly and welcoming staff along with consistently good food and service. Chef Mary is an outstanding cook and the waitstaff always greets you with a smile. The specials never disappoint and are made from the freshest ingredients cooked to perfection. A few times when visiting the restaurant, we took fresh fish we caught earlier in the day. Without hesitation, Mary and her team prepared it in multiple ways to suit the tastes of everyone in our group and added delicious sides. Simply amazing meals that we talk about for days! Folks who say they don't like fish, love fish when she prepares it! What an excellent cook!

Now that we're lucky enough to visit more often, we always look forward to going to Olas Verdes when we're there. You have an excellent restaurant with a team that leaves us looking forward to returning multiple times during each visit to the area. It's our go to spot with family and friends when in Nosara and we always recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olasverdeshotel, Guest Relations Manager at Olas Verdes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

We are very fortunate to have two wonderful on-site partners here at Olas Verdes, Restaurante El Manglar, and Safari Surf School. We fully agree that El Manglar is outstanding - always fresh and offering a wide variety of tasty treats. We will pass on your very kind remarks to the owners and staff. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your frequent visits! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

If you care about sustainability and the environment, this hotel is right for you. Local and native plants adorn the property so sprinklers need not be going all the time. And staff is not always busy trying to prune and keep non-native plants alive. The hotel has 17 lovely units amidst a reserve of beautiful growth and vegetation. At this time of year bugs don't seem to be a big concern. Every day was beautiful and hot. Because of its size, if you prefer to party with lots of night life and activity, this hotel is not right for you.

The pool is a fair size for a small pool but it seems to be always quiet. It's in a lovely spot alongside some of the hotel units and right beside the restaurants. It is not over-chlorinated.

The nearby town of Guiones is walking distance with a few shops and restaurants for you to visit.

The products used at the hotel, namely, shampoos and soaps are 'green', large bottles to accommodate your entire stay. Try and take their sustainability tour to learn how they do it. Other hotel chains can learn!

There's a lovely restaurant serving very respectable food, local fruits, eggs for breakfast, seafood etc.

Because everything is in close proximity, you need not sojourn across acres and acres and suffer through numerous concrete buildings of discos and casinos to get a snack. They employ local people, extremely friendly and service oriented. Most speak English well enough especially the Front Desk Staff.

Shown in one of the pictures is the Clubhouse with a large screen where you can watch Netflicks if you so desire.

A beautiful expanse of beach is just a few steps away, and if you are a surfer, you are in heaven!"

My daughter and I are here on a surfing package with the Safari Surf School, on site and in partnership with Olas Verdes. They work well together but I will write separately about the surf school.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank HellofromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela G, Guest Relations Manager at Olas Verdes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Nice to hear you enjoyed Nosara as much as we do. Making sure we preserve it, is not only our responsibility but what we strive for. We are glad you and your daughter enjoyed so much Nosara, the surf lessons and your stay at Olas Verdes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

I have been coming to Nosara since the mid-90s and have seen both the good and the not so good that comes with growth and popularity. Olas Verdes combines the good of the "old days" with the great stuff that's come to Nosara with growth.

First, the hotel is south of the a main car parks and "the palm tree" which means you're away from all the hustle and bustle of the main beach. Second, the hotel has it's own semi private trail to the beach. This is a huge plus since with so many of the hotels you have to get in the car or walk 10 plus minutes to the beach. At Olas Verdes, you're a cool 3 minute walk to the beach.

The hotel itself is incredible, especially the luxury suites. The staff is beyond compare, especially General Manager Luis Pardo. The staff takes such good care of their guests!

I will definitely be back and I recommend Olas Verdes wholeheartedly! A wonderful place!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela G, Guest Relations Manager at Olas Verdes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Thank you so much for recommending Olas Verdes to other travelers, that means a lot for us, specially coming from someone very familiar with Nosara and Playa Guiones. We enjoy keeping the "Nosara vibe" and the authentic hospitality from the town. Looking forward to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Loved this intimate hotel. Really nice staff, good restaurant & great location. The Lux. suite was perfect for our family of 4. It has a pull out couch in the living area & a king bed w/ another single bed in the bedroom. Having the surf school & beach right there was a perfect arrangement. The little restaurant at the hotel is really very good also - an unexpected surprise! Met some amazing other families here, which was another incredible bonus - really was one of our best vacations ever. Pura vida for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olasverdeshotel, Guest Relations Manager at Olas Verdes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed companionship with our other guests. Having the beach a quick walk through the jungle is a wonderful feature for our guests. And we are very fortunate to have our partners, El Manglar Restaurant and Safari Surf School, on-site. We hope you will come back to visit us again soon! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

My wife, two kids (ages 9 and 7) and I stayed at Olas Verdes for a week. We absolutely loved this very well run hotel. We have traveled quite a bit and our experience at Olas Verdes compared favorably to any other hotel at which we have stayed. Luis and his staff are all incredibly friendly, welcoming, and professional. We felt at home the entire time we were there and really enjoyed the laid back atmosphere. It was perfect for a family.

In addition to the great staff and atmosphere, the property is beautiful and flows very well with the surrounding area. The beach is a couple of minutes away through a gorgeous path through the dry tropical forest. The rooms are spacious, modern, comfortable, and clean. The food at the on-site restaurant was also very good, and the free breakfast that was included with our room rate was a real bonus.

If we are ever in Nosara again we will definitely stay at Olas Verdes!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mseanmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olasverdeshotel, Guest Relations Manager at Olas Verdes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for the kind, thorough review. It really means a lot to us, especially coming from seasoned travelers. We're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back soon to stay with us. We'll leave the welcome mat out for you. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews