We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated ”
Review of La Luna

La Luna
Ranked #4 of 97 Restaurants in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Ok, the view is great and it’s always nice to see a beautiful sunset over the beach. Pizza is good, and the beer is cold. What’s not nice are dirty glasses with lipstick stains still on them, cold red snapper and lukewarm kebabs. Also not great is crappy service from waiters who did nothing to replace the dirty glass. Suggestion? Park nearby, use their beach ( open to the public) and bring your own cold beer. You can also order to pizza as takeout to save the hassle and cost.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 123 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

La Luna always has an outstanding view, especially at sunset. The food is consistently spectacular. We love cracker crust wood fire pizza, so hard to find. The service is typically a little slow. You HAVE to make a reservation and the reservation is best done in person! Calling for a reservation is iffy and i have never been able to get anyone to respond to an email or FB messages. Cheers! Until we meet again.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Server was good but busy as I am told they often are when people come around sunset. Accommodated my allergy easily. Food but prices are what you would pay in a major North American upscale restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George_and_WIlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The location is lovely - right on the beach - a great place for a date. Sit inside or out, for dinner, and enjoy the sunset.
It might be cultural, or just this place, but the service was remarkably slow. Order your drinks at the bar, if you can. Otherwise, you may be waiting for some time to receive them. We had a good-sized group, and the drinks slowly appeared one-by-one over the next 30 minutes or so. And the food took a long time as well.
However, the food is good and it is a nice place to relax and take your time. ;-)

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank egwelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Went there with the family without clear plans made, expecting to find a very crowded place, and I guess we were lucky not to. There was a good number of people, but we found a good spot. The waiter found us an even better table once a reservation had a no show.

The menu selection is wide but not overwhelming. All seems -and ends up being- delicious! Prices can be just a bit over the regular (although just the normal in Nosara) but are definitely worthy.

Pizzas are highly recommended! Absolutely a must.

Overall, we really enjoyed the place, the breeze, the location, the food and the service. A come-back for sure.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank carlosvirgilioa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Luna also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing