We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
94
71
28
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
71
28
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack food thomas cook indoor pool kids club nice hotel evening entertainment pizza across the road niki lollo isla jet bungalow animation german spa chips
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018

I spent a week here with my boyfriend and have never felt so isolated in my life. I agree completely with other reviews that comment on how much this hotel is aimed at the French, which is absolutely fine if you speak the language. Its a shame that Thomas Cook neglected to inform us of this. Entertainment, Kids clubs etc cater predominately for the French I would not recommend this hotel to an English family. We found the food, rooms and general service at the hotel to be adequate. However I agree again with other reviews that comment on the noise, some sort of strange bird or mechanical device making an extremely loud and annoying call all day long while you are 'relaxing' round the pool is very distracting. This hotel is also on the flight path so expect to hear lots of airplanes coming and going constantly, literally about 3-4 every 30 minutes or so. The rooms are extremely basic, quite dated bathrooms, cheep doors and thin walls that unfortunately mean you can hear lots of noise from other guests throughout the night. I feel this hotel lacked in the entertainment area, as the resort is situated in an extremely scarce, boring and underdeveloped area, it brought to light that you really do only have the pool as entertainment. Nothing to do for any children over the age of about three, we didn't come with children but it was very obvious that there was nothing for them to do. From our experience this hotel is perfect if you are French, retired and looking to literally do nothing. We feel we have paid 4 star prices for 2/3 star quality.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zoecody1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frontofficeM16, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Marina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments.
We are sorry to read you have felt isolated!
Kindly note that we are an International hotel and receive many English but also German, Italian and Scandinavian Guests except of the French guests.
We receive very positive comments from a wide variety of nationalities regarding our entertainment and our facilities of the hotel.
So many sports equipment for rent free of charge, there are endless options: Tennis, pingpong, mini golf, archery, boccia, molkky, aerobics, beach volley, aquabike, stretching and many more are organised on a daily basis.
Therefor you comment of nothing to do is not in accordance with the reality.
Children club: kindly note that there is a daily program in the morning and afternoon with always totally different activities and every evening children disco.All activities are organised in the kids'club area, which is a separate area, away from the pools.

Activities take place when children are present in the hotel .It is possible that during the time you have spent your holidays with us, there were not many children in the hotel as it is school season now.

Your opinion is not in accordance with the majority of most of our guests but all feedback is appreciated and welcome, we hope you
do keep a lovely memory to your visit to Crete,
Kind regards,
Sunconnect Marina Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Hotel very clean throughout, food was excellent and varied, very comfortable beds.
Niki and Dimitri at pool bar were friendly always chatting and smiling.
My kids loved the lollo and bernie kids club, mihael and maria were great but my kids formed a special bond with Nicola who was amazing with them always having them laughing.
Animation team worked very hard putting on amazing shows and involving all nationalities.
Special thanks to Aymene who made a great effort to have us involved.
Only negative we had was with photographer who was rude to my daugher asking if she could speak english and speaking to her like she was stupid because she didnt understand which way he wanted her to sit!! Photos were overpriced so we didnt purchase any.
Would definately return to this hotel fantastic holiday.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Alib41z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frontofficeM16, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Marina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and for taking the time in sharing this comment on tripadvisor.
We are delighted with your highest rating and your lovely review!
Your kind words regarding our animation team are deeply appreciated!
We are sorry to read regarding the incident with the photographer, we will report this to their supervisor in order to avoid these misunderstandings in the future.


It will be our greatest pleasure to welcome you again in the near future,

Kind regards from Sunny Crete,

Sunconnect Marina Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Just waiting to leave this lovely hotel. Weather was a bonus 28-30 daily. Hotel very clean staff friendly and helpful. Food a good choice even for the funniest of eaters. Would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday. Down side if one very French Oriantanted but this didn t bother us as we were a group of 7 and had our own entertainment x fabulous time highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frontofficeM16, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Marina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Guests,
We are delighted with your highest rating and to know, you enjoyed a fabulous holiday at our hotel.
Your recommendation is deeply appreciated!
We hope to welcome you again in the future as our guests.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays,

Kind regards,
Sunconnect Marina Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in September and had a brilliant time. The staff were brilliant all across the hotel - Dimitris and Niki in the pool bar were great as were all the staff in the evening bar area. Food was good, drinks were good. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank rwood4887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frontofficeM16, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Marina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing this amazing review on tripadvisor! We are delighted with your highest rating!
Your recommendation and you kind words are highly appreciated!
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays,

Kind regards,

Sunconnect Marina Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We visited in May and left very happy with our visit. We returned at the end of August and spent an excellent two weeks. The food and service were even better than our previous visit, Nikos the MD, Dimitra, Maria, Nikos and the rest of the restaurant staff made sure everything was perfect. Niki and Dimitri at the pool bar made us welcome and had a smile every day. Alexandra at the reception was ever attentive and the general atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. The room and gardens were excellent and the Jet team girls and boys made sure there was always something going on if we got bored just lying beside the pool. The A la Carte restaurant, Isla serves amazing dishes and is a delightful place to spend an evening, again the staff are warm and welcoming. An excellent holiday all round.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Silver-dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frontofficeM16, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Marina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Dear Guests,
We are truly happy to read your great review and couldn't be happier with your kind words!
It gives us a great boost to know, we have offered you through our hospitality and services, an excellent holiday!

We thank you for choosing us for your holidays and will be looking forward to serve you again in the future!

Warm regards from sunny Crete,
Sunconnect Marina Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews