We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff & Rooms”
Review of Villa Marie Kelly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Marie Kelly
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Just returned from Mari Kelly Appartements.
The staff and owners are very attentive. Special regards to the barmen. He livened the bar, before you had a drink.
Rooms spotless. Cleaned everyday. Bedding changed twice a week.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter holiday this is the place,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank walkerpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Fantastic place to stay. Owners are so helpful and accommodating, don't know where people get the idea from that Demitris and Olga are unfriendly from. Natalie and Aris are great (behind the bar), Natalie does days and Aris the nights. Aris not at all arrogant, (as previous reviews) and very friendly. Will VERY HAPPILY stay here again. Must also mention Skorpios restaurant and Taverna George nearby which do the best food ever.

Room Tip: Excellent place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valshippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We have just returned from this charming self catering complex after a 7 night stay. We found the location perfect, being just a stroll away from the beach and local tavernas. The accommodation itself was clean and tidy and we were pleasantly surprised to find a small oven in our apartment which is very unusual in self catering kitchens. The property owners Dimitri and Olga we friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed the company of the other holidaymakers in the on site bar in the evening and were kept entertained by the barman Aris who is a credit to this property with his friendly personality. Overall we would recommend the villa marie kelly highly and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julieperry67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Having read the reviews before I went wasn't what I expected.
On a flight path planes day and night.
Smelly drains.
Noisy bar till all hours.
Arrogant barman.
Food cold and rubbish.
Nowhere to buy meat so had to eat out a lot.

Room Tip: Away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erniegadsby .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

After reading all the reviews for the Villa Marie Kelly i was disappointed after been there 3 days,( returned October 2017 ) The food was not very nice and after seeing the chef like her fingers while preparing lunch for someone, then continue to prepare the same lunch i am afraid we did not eat here again.Had to ask on the second week for clean towels as not had any and the bed was not changed in 2 weeks. The cleaners were quite noisy on a morning in the court yard at 7.30 am. We were at the rear of the complex but the noise from the bar was way too noisy until early hours on a morning also. I know Greece rooms for self catering are quite basic the facility's were very lacking to self cater so had to eat out every evening. Unfortunately i would not return to these Villas again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosebud1yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMariekelly, Διευθυντής at Villa Marie Kelly, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Guest,
We are sorry for such bad and in fact dishonest review. We would like to reply to each of your comments so that there are no inaccuracies left:
-first of all concerning the chef's licking her hands, I am surprised how you saw her as there is a separate room in the kitchen where guests have no access. Moreover, there are special guidelines we follow concerning health and safety issues and always our score is high.
-secondly, regards to the cleaning of the apartments, as it is clearly mentioned on the contracts and on our website, the cleaning of the apartment is done every day and the change of sheet and towels is done twice per week. In your case though, we had to change towels and sheet EVERY DAY despite we are not obliged to, because both towels and sheet were too dirty, the colour of which had significantly changed from white to brown...
-moreover, regards to the noise, your apartment was located in a quiet area, however there were clients drinking at their veranda and caused the noise you mention. As for the cleaners, you mention that the noise from them began at 7.30 in the morning, I am really surprised as they do not start working before 8.00 in the morning and they always start cleaning the pool area which is far away from most apartments.
It is your choice not to return at villa mariekelly as preferences differ from client to client but it would be more honest from your side to refer to objective reasons and not lies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kato Gouves hotels
0.1 km away
Despina Apartments
Despina Apartments
#21 of 36 in Kato Gouves
98 reviews
0.2 km away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
2,035 reviews
0.4 km away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
457 reviews
0.6 km away
Cosmi Apartments
Cosmi Apartments
#24 of 36 in Kato Gouves
78 reviews
0.3 km away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#11 of 36 in Kato Gouves
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marie Kelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marie Kelly

Address: Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kato Gouves
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#5 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $34 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Marie Kelly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mariekelly is a luxurious fully renovated complex of 30 autonomous apartments. They provide fully equipped kitchenette with fridge, boiler and toaster, bathroom with shower, air conditioning, safety deposit boxes, TV, telephone, haidryer and balconies or terrace with panoramic view to the sea, pool and or garden. Villa Mariekelly offers reception service, free parking, free book hire from a huge variety, satellite TV, internet facilities, laundry service, pool table and other games, outdoor swimming pool in a huge terrace with sun loungers.Gouves is a modern tourist area, 20 km away from the city of heraklion, with organised beaches, cafes, taverns and restaurants. You may find a variety of shops in the shopping centre, as well as car and motorbike rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Marie Kelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marie Kelly Hotel Gouves
Hotel Marie Kelly
Marie Kelly Hotel
Villa Marie Kelly Kato Gouves, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing