We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
305
75
32
34
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
75
32
34
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel beach work extremely hard pleasant stay salad special thanks cleaned every day barman season greek holiday karaoke drinkable essentials hire
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a lovely surprise when hubby brought me away for our anniversary without telling me. This little hotel in the quiet resort of Kato Gouves is a gem. Been here now for 5 days and although the weather not great the hotel has been fabulous especially the staff under the watchful eye of Ellis who appears to do nothing else but work. We have had 2 nights with entertainment and a Bab on the Cretan night which was really nice, cooked perfectly. We have also had a Kareoke night not really for us at our age but everyone seemed to enjoy the night. On the whole we have had a really fab time given that hubby did the entire trip without telling me, thank you hubby. Thanks to the whole hotel staff who were so friendly and did so much for everyone during their stay also. Food was always lovely and varied the location of the hotel could not be better, close to the airport after a long flight.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank cookiemarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It’s so very easy for any of us to make others not want to come to this hotel by making trip advisor reports sound horrible and being a long time member of trip advisor myself I try to give an honest opinion for others who consider coming to the DIogenis.
My wife and I have room 210 It over looks the pool and gets the sun in the afternoon, generally we have found the room adequate but a little on the small side in all areas. The shower water supply for hot water is a known issue with the hotel especially during the busy times around 6 pm where everyone is washing but either an early shower or later gets around the issue.
Television programmes should you need them are 2 in number for English speaking the remainder are Russian or German and it’s best to point out that this is predominately a Russian tourist hotel.
WiFi is free and able to cope with streaming or downloading, best areas are the close rooms ,bar areas and dining rooms.
Entertainment.... a weekly Cretan dance night with an amazing BBQ provided enjoyment for all, a second night with Kareoke and disco also was fun.
Like others we have had our moans, the bar is insufficient for the hotel guest, food is not the best being only warm and very repetitive.
The staff are amazing, led by a character “ Sefiliae” pronounced “Elias” they are willing and will do anything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, Glaud the bar man works exteremely hard, Enena and Alexandra the 2 waitresses always have their hands full with plates and things.
You can always find Elias at the busiest times of the day walking around talking to guest and assisting with their needs and doing a great job without Elias and his team it’s fair to say the hotel would have many more trip advisor reviews unfavourable.
The hotel beach is directly across the road and sun beds are free as long as they are blue, the beach is sand, views are lovely.
Location of the hotel is approx 30 minutes from the airport and is directly under the flight path of incoming planes.
Out of the hotel there are a few restaurants along the shore and a Main Street with shops etc a good 10 to 15 minute walk away turnining left out of the hotel.Theres very little along the coast going to the right.
THere are buses to be had every 25 minutes but it’s a good 15 minute walk to the main road to the bus stops and for this reason and others we found hiring a car was best for us, we used “KAYS” which was on the Main Street, this hire outlet let us alternate the days we wanted the car which others were reluctant to do and it was competitive. Shopping in resort was over priced and again for this reason we went to the nearest town some 6 miles away, the roads are typical of Greece driving on the right and the survivor lives !!!
In all, not the best hotel but it’s true what they say, you get what you pay for so don,t expect it. We would not return for more than one reason all of which are in this review. We want to thank the staff for their efforts to make the holiday enjoyable. What the hotel needs now from the new manager is investment to a number of areas, this hotel as amazing staff who work extremely hard and we thank them sincerely.
To anyone considering this hotel I suggest do your home work before being disappointed.

Room Tip: Poolside or front of hotel.
Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Quiet area with nothing to do really. Not even on a bus route, you have quite a walk up to the main road. Clean place. Not bad rooms with balcony. Nice and friendly staff. Do not think it warrants a four star rating. The incessant loud monotonous nightclub dance music from around 9am to 11pm nearly drive me up the wall! The cold food was cold and so was the hot food.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kimbayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a fabulous hotel...
What impressed us so much was the hard working staff who where so polite, friendly and extremely helpful.

The rooms where spotless along with the pool and the rest of the hotel. The food was awsome and a wide variety for vegeterians too.

Situated on the sea front with plenty to do and also tour busses leaving regulary to different parts of the island. Diogenis blue palace is an ideal place to stay whether for couples of famillies etc...

Thank you all so much.. we hope to see you all soon!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank garylyons888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a week. This is a very mixed review as there were parts of the hotel that we loved, but it was somewhat let down by the very unfriendly and rude reception staff.

Pros:
The hotel is larger than we expected, very clean, big pool, and is literally thirty seconds from several beaches. There are quite a few bars, shops, restaurants and a supermarket close by (plus more if you are happy to walk 10-15 mins). We had free transfers to and from the airport (which was about 20 mins away). The food was great quality and there was a decent variety of options each day - something for everyone, even fussier eaters. Theres a big selection of salads, and we really liked the fresh bread. Our only complaint at breakfast was the long queue for the coffee machine. We were very happy with the wine at the hotel, and all of the catering and bar staff were friendly and polite. We never really had to queue very long for a drink.

Cons:
The reception staff were generally very unhelpful and rude. We'd paid extra for a sea view room only to be given an internal facing pool view (these rooms also don't seem as nice as the newer sea facing ones). I showed the reception staff my booking info, and asked to be moved, and they were incredibly moody - stroppily showing us to a newer room with a partial sea view before storming off. They didn't even show us how to turn on the aircon, or give us any information about meal times etc. This room was a bit nicer so we decided to stay, but it wasn't what we had booked. The shower was warm but often leaked onto the floor which wasn't ideal. The room was generally very quiet, apart from karaoke night when they had the volume on far too loud and it was literally booming into our bedroom. The reception staff were very unfriendly during the whole of our stay (even though we had been polite when asking for the room we had booked) and I noticed that they tended to avoid eye contact with all guests when passing through reception, and certainly never said good morning or good evening to anyone. This was a real shame as it spoilt the start of our holiday, and they were also very unfriendly at the end when we checked out - they literally took our keys without saying anything.

Would we return? Maybe. Especially if they gave the reception staff some customer service training!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chloe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebHotels-Irene, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Diogenis Blue Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Chloe C,

We would like to thank you for finding the time to write such a detailed review.
We really appreciate the feedback provided and we would like to give you our feedback too.

As far as the room allocation is concerned, it's true that due to unexpected conditions, we had to give you a pool- view room for one night instead of relocating you to another property for that night, for your convenience only, as we had the right to do so. Since we knew that you had paid an additional amount for a sea-view room, we decided to allocate you for the rest of your stay, in one of our best rooms, in order to enjoy your stay even more, apart from the unfortunate incident of the first night stay. The room provided is one of our most impressive rooms with unobstructed view to the sea and a specious balcony. And this was something that our well-trained and fully- educated reception employees decided to do for you.

About your reception employees review, we can't hide how disappointed we are, as they have never before give such samples of behavior, even when they work under pressure, and believe us, that was a high demanded period for them.
They are there to help all of our guests with any issue may appear, with kindness and willingness to help them.
In other terms, they are struggling to keep all of our guests happy by finding solutions and giving answers to all of their requests during their stay. They are at the first line accepting and handling all the comments and complaints.

We hope that the next time you'll visit our property you will be able to reconfirm this by yourselves.

Best regards from the Management and all of the Diogenis Blue Palace Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews