We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
103
34
8
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
34
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver lodgeenjoyed our staygreat placepeace and tranquilityfew dayslong weekendexcellent serviceluxury chaletoutdoor showerfood was greatcity lifewonderful staylast minuteearly morningpersonal touchcelebrating our anniversaryyear end function
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Booking a weekend away via the internet can be risky business, but seriously, every review and picture I saw, was exactly that. Our chalet was amazing, right on the river. The food was very good and and service in all arrears, was excellent. For a quiet break from the big city, this is the perfect place.

Room Tip: Luxury chalets along the river
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sheilamclellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Waited about 10 minutes for someone to attend to us. No one in reception. Rooms are definitely not what you advertise. Very low class!!

Just expected more. We always book based on what is advertised. This is a very low class venue.

"1 Star Accommodation"

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
8  Thank eugenec29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Thank you for a lovely weekend at Zenzele Lodge. We enjoyed the peace and quiet we needed, offered in all the facilities of your lodge. I went for a neck and back massage and Onica was excellent. This definitely added to the excellent service of your manager and her staff. We will definitely be back. Regards. Christie Leonard

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christiecasperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

The luxury chalet was lovely. Thanks to Gloria who recommended the chalet instead of the economy room.

Lovely finishes and interesting décor. We had chalet no 3 at the main lodge and it overlooks the river. The deck was an added bonus. Great outdoor shower and indoor shower, both with two shower heads.

There is a fire pit at the chalet and they have wood, fire lighters and matches laid out for guests at each chalet. Candles, emergency lights, parrafin lamps are on hand in case of power outages. A tea and coffee station in the chalet.

It was quite the surprise and a dinner topic to get used to the open plan bathroom and toilet area. Nice touches in the manner of how the towels are laid out with leaves as décor.

There is a TV with DSTV channels in the room and in the bar/upstairs lounge area. Fireplaces in the dining room. Limited wi-fi signal. They provide guests with the password upon checking in, however there are do's and don'ts for using it. The latter I felt is rather unnecessary.

There is an on-site restaurant. Be warned it is pricey. R65 for a toasted sandwich and if you have a salad and chips with it, you'll have to fork out R110.

Leah was an absolute super star! So friendly, helpful and informative. All-in-all not bad at all.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chrmnvntndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We picked this Lodge because it was close to our Job site. It turned out to be a great place to stay. The staff were wonderful and accommodating. Plenty of things to do in the area including seeing the wildlife on Zenzele property and surrounding properties. The weather was absolutely perfect in May. Not to hot and not to cold. My only complaint would be the rooms were a little dark. since it was a work trip I was out in the bush every day and I found a few ticks. It was hard spotting them in a honeymoon sweet but that is being very nit picky. If I were on holiday it would have been perfect! If I ever come back to South Africa Id defiantly stay at Zenzele River Lodge again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank scottwS3529CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews