We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
210
153
31
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
153
31
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white island cafe on site cancelled due boat trip across the road budget room the ground floor same company self cater short walk following morning weather conditions active volcano convenient location large bathroom booked this hotel eggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This motel is in a great location on a quiet road just a short stroll from restaurants and waterfront. We had no trouble parking our ute on site. The room was clean and modern. We were very happy with this motel.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 22KiwiTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hi 22KiwiTraveller22,
We're pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay at White Island Rendezvous, and thank you for your review. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Bungalow was very comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast at the cafe had many options and reasonably priced. The raspberry jam was delicious. Staff helpful and friendly. Best place to stay if you are doing the White Island boat tour.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank F850ATjorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We love exceeding expectations and were tickled pink to receive this review, Jorge. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, breakfast in the cafe (in particular it's raspberry jam) and, most importantly, our staff! Thank you for your review, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

First of all I advise people to book in advance as this is a popular motel.

We were fortunate enough to be able to book the Garden Suite and we are so glad we did. Totally self contained, like having your own bach but with privacy and seclusion away from the hustle and bustle of the busy motel. With a separate and generous lounge/dining/kitchen, separate bathroom with washing machine (and powder!) and good sized bedroom. Set in nicely landscaped grounds and accessed by a private driveway adjacent to the hotel it was a great place to return to after a happy day's tourism.

The oven, hob, microwave and dishwasher made meals a breeze to prepare and clean up; the shower always had plenty of hot water and the washing machine meant that clothes soiled from an adventurous day were fresh the following morning. TV in both the lounge and bedroom helped to unwind after a day's busy activity or to catch up on world events each morning. The air conditioner was a great addition to help manage the temperature and comfort of the unit.

I can really really recommend this unit - although it costs a bit more than a standard room the difference is well worth the extra.

On the downside, it is showing a little wear and tear and I would recommend the owners have a close inspection and fix it up a bit so that it keeps it's lustre. The shower was a bit low for me at 176 cm! Having the washing machine was great but there was nowhere to hang the clothes to dry and an instruction booklet for it would have helped though it's not rocket science. There was a shortage of cutlery and crockery - perhaps most people don't self-cater - but we enjoy cooking and like to prepare tasty meals from our own produce out of the garden which we took with us and a few more utensils, pots and pans and larger wine glasses would have been nice !!! Also, parking in the carport is tight to get into and out of though after a few practices and thanks to reversing sensors it got a little easier. But these are all minor and "doable" and only slightly dented our very enjoyable stay. The only "big" issue is that we found the bed uncomfortably firm and would recommend that is addressed.

All in all we given it a four star rating and really would recommend it to everyone and although a bit more expensive than the average it is definitely good value for money.

I note a few comments about the staff and the organisation. I can only say that I personally found them very helpful and informative. It is a very busy business and there are lots of staff there to help who all seemed knowledgeable and were all keen to help and very kind and pleasant, from reception through to housekeeping. Well done all of you and thank you for making us feel so welcome.

Room tip: Check the website to find something for you. Character and quality and something for everyone.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robinstanford2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Wow! Thank you, robinstanford2012, for such a comprehensive review. We were most pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Garden Unit (a favourite of staff too); appreciating the privacy and home comforts. Your feedback is most appreciated, and is taken on board constructively. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Great place to visit. The staff at WIR were hospitable, the brekky was delicious, and the views were picturesque. We will definitely back. Definitely go on the White Island tour. It’s a great way to spend your day and an awesome adventure.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tymurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review, tymurph - it was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

The budget room we stayed in was bright, clean and comfortable. If you're only staying for a day or two, it certainly would not be worth paying extra for the more expensive suites in my opinion, as this room was spacious, had cooking facilities and a good sized bathroom ensuite. Booked an in-room breakfast as we were taking the White Island Tour (run by the same company) for the following morning. The information we were given was incorrect regarding the timing of the tour, meaning we ended up with barely 10 minutes to eat breakfast (rather than the 40 we had allowed based on the information we'd been given). The fruit, yoghurt and granola was of good quality - but served in three little dishes, looked very attractive, but impractical as far as eating it - the yoghurt bowl was too small to add anything, as was the granola bowl and the fruit bowl was piled high with fruit so it would not be possible to add the other two items to that bowl either. Reasonable value for the amount one got - and had we been given more time, I would probably have enjoyed it.

Room tip: Budget rooms on the ground floor are fine for a short stay, don't bother paying extra
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Hi Susan,
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our budget rooms. As per your review on our White Island tour page, we're once again sorry that you were left underwhelmed by the communication you received from our Sales & Reservations team. To clarify, the information you received from the PM shift was in fact correct, though we appreciate that a clarification (specific to your "eating in" requirements) might of prevented confusion and disappointment on your end. At the very least, more time to enjoy your granola! Nevertheless, we're appreciative of your feedback, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews