We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Like walking in another world

It was a great trip overall; we we're lucky with great weather and calm seas. The ride out and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Henry S
,
Oakville, Canada
via mobile
An unforgettable experience...

I can't recommend this tour enough... it's an awesome experience to walk amongst hissing vents and... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
mizfiz
,
Sawtell
Read all 1,008 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Whakatane
from USD 69.42
More Info
from USD 69.42
More Info
Reviews (1,008)
Filter reviews
1,008 results
Traveller rating
839
128
17
10
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
839
128
17
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews active volcano boat ride packed lunch live volcano gas mask white island sandwich once in a lifetime tour company flying fish unique experience new zealand steam vents lunch box sea conditions hard hats sea legs
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 1,008 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had a great time - it's expensive but worth it for the unique experience. The guides are knowledgeable (happy to invent an answer if they're not sure!) and the tour is well managed. See a volcano close up in amazing. The catamaran boat is quicker and got back about 30 minutes before the other, just something to bear in mind if you're a big group.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 77GBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour to White Island with us, and thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Lucky with the weather in April. No rain, sunshine all day long and a great boat trip to the volcano island. Great guides too. Sounds expensive but it's a boat trip out 50k to a volcano, a guided tour which is super interesting and fun, and the boat trip back plus a snack included. We are very glad we did it. Stinks like hell, is basically hell, but cool to see.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank ValGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hell? Aw, that might be a bit harsh, ValGermany! haha
Thank you for your review, we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to White Island with us, and appreciate you sharing your experience! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The boat trip to the island is not too long, plenty of informative commentary on the way three & back. Hard hats and gas masks handed out, and definitely need the mask. The landscape is spectacular but the sulphur extremely strong. Our guide was full of information without sounding like a textbook. A quick dip when back to the boat and a lunch provided. We did spot some dolphins on our return just to finish the trip off.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank calnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Calnor,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post you review, and share you experience! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We had a great day with the crew of white island tours. The weather was just perfect to go out. On the way to the island we saw many dolphins right in front of the boat jumping and having fun!
The crew gave us much information about all the nature around us as well as about the white island.

After 75 Minutes right in the bay of the island we were seated on a small boat and brought to the beach. The safety equipment was pretty new and we felt very safe through the whole tour. Our guide (we split up in smaller groups) had a great knowledge and good humour to take us over the island. It was so fascinating, seeing and active volcano and standing right on it! We had a lot of time to take photos and ask questions.

On the way back we saw some flying fish as well! The light meal was bread with a super sauce on it (no clue what it was, but it was good), a cake, two cookies and an apple. Nice!

We'd like to thank the great crew for our wonderful day, the experience and the knowledge we gained.

I recommend this tour! Do it!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank peterhG245SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Peter,
Thank you for your informative review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your tour of White Island, the boat journey and lunch. Your kind recommendation is most appreciated. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We had an awesome trip to white island. The crew of PEEJAY were awesome, marvelous, very friendly , helpful and most of all safety for everyone was very paramount.
The safety and historical briefings were note able, interesting and the views of the island were breath taking. It was a very informative tour of the island through dedicated tracks.
We had heaps of pictures taken on the island and I must say it is a "must do" activity on holiday. On the way back the captain of our boat gave the opportunity to our little boy to skipper the inflatable boat that transported us to and from our cruise boat. We thought this was a very nice gesture on his part. The lunch on the boat was lovely and we really enjoyed it.
The boat ride was very good and staff were there to help us overcome motion sickness. A very good crew , I should say.
Overall, a lovely trip and highly recommended for others who was not afraid to take such adventures like exploring a live volcano.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Ushmendra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Udhmendra,
We're so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your tour to White Island with us, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews