We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Hide-away”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our trip from Canada in Dec 2012. We arrived late as the drive from Auckland was much longer than anticipated as the road there is very windy and narrow. It takes longer than you think.
We checked-in late and Des (the owner) was very helpful in trying to find a place for us that was open to get something to eat - it was very much appreciated.

Since we arrived after dark we didn't see the view until the following morning - what a treat to wake-up to a lovely sea view overlooking the flower garden. The room was very spacious, we stayed in Room 4. It has a separate bedroom (besides the main bed area) and quite a good little kitchen set-up. Also stocked with coffee, tea etc which is always nice.

We chatted with Des's wife Leanne the next day to get some tips on things to do and she was very friendly and helpful to us.

This place is only about a 5 minute drive to "downtown" Coromandel so it is very handy but also away from any noisy stuff, you feel secluded here which we quite like.

It was very nice to have free Wifi in the rooms, it seems a rarity to find in New Zealand and it is appreciated.

Although it is not totally modern, it is very clean and very roomy and represents a great value. We will definitely stay here again.

The only downside is the driveway/parking situation, it is a bit tough to park and the driveway is very narrow. This is not a complaint from me, but just to make others aware that might have a hard time backing-up or driving in narrow spaces.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtinckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 153 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

This was our first night in New Zealand, and we were not disappointed. Hosts were very welcoming. Only a few units, with beautiful views. We were treated to the most amazing sunset I have ever seen. The unit was spacious and well equipped. There were only 2 of us but it could have slept 4 as there was a separate bedroom with twin beds in as well as the comfortable queen bed in the main room. All you needed in the kitchen, and a sofa and table and chairs. Lovely private decking area with table and chairs to admire the view. I think there is a Jacuzzi/spa, but we did not use it - too busy admiring the sunset! They also provide free wi-fi which was an added bonus. Sadly we only spent one night here.
The motel is a little way out of the town, but most people who stayed there seem to have cars.
A word of warning!! If sitting outside admiring the view- APPLY DEET FIRST! We were badly bitten by either sandflies or mosquitoes or both!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissSunshine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We had the garden room - which although is not one which has a veranda overlooking the harbour would be the one we would ask for if visiting again -private garden, still with a view of harbour and wonderful sunsets. Lovely room and facilities - very clean with everything you could need. Hosts very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueMM186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Our hosts Leanne and Des went out of their way to make us welcome and both have a great sense of humour. Their advice as to where to eat and what to do was "spot on". The unit was very large and comfortable and the motel is situated close to all amenities. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NI_Travellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

3 of us stayed here. The view from the balcony was lovely, the room was very clean and well kitted out. The bathroom was nice. About a 20 minute walk to the shops and restaurants. All good.
Would certainly reccommend

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.5 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
21.3 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
1 km away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#1 of 11 in Coromandel
94 reviews
1.8 km away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
20.3 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Address: 25 Harbour View Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range: $106 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious self-contained 1brm ground floor units, all with private deck and harbour views. Set in quiet garden and bush setting, parking at door. Kitchens with cooking facilities, dining area, en suite with shower/shub and separate toilet. King or queen size bed in living area, separate bedroom with 2 single beds. SKY TV, Spa, BBQ, laundry,Broadband Wi-Fi. Continental/cooked breakfast available. Bikes for guest use. Adjacent to walking tracks, Wetlands, safe swimming beach; 2klm to town and golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing