We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple cafe-style eatery - nice mussels” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coromandel Mussell Kitchen

Coromandel Mussell Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 18
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come and enjoy some delicious, fresh greenlipped mussels served up in a beautiful outdoor country setting and wash it down with our very own craft beer brewed on site.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Simple cafe-style eatery - nice mussels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Highly recommended by our motel, I was expecting a restaurant or bistro style eatery. What we actually found was a simple cafe-style place with garden tables and chairs in an open plan dining area - definitely in the "no-frills" camp.

A very short menu with steamed mussels, grilled mussels and a few of token "tapas" dishes for those (like my other half) who don't like mussels.

I tried the grilled mussels - a dozen green-lips with an assortment of toppings. And what a selection! Every one of them was tasty and succulent, without detracting from the subtle, sweet flavour of the mussels themselves. Cooked to perfection (as you would expect from a place that specialises in mussels).

The missus opted for the pork ribs and greek salad. We got about half a dozen short ribs - quite meaty and falling off the bone. A tangy sauce covered them, and they were still nice and moist - not overcooked. The salad was fresh, if unspectacular.

Definitely recommended if you like mussels.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wozzaaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    95
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tastiest mussels I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Delicious green lipped mussels here for dinner during our stay on the Coromandel. We had them in Garlic, Bacon, Cream and Parmesan broth which was very very tasty.

Reasonably priced too, and the house Chardonnay was fragrant and not too dry. Highly recommended

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank pdotie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food good but service not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We ordered the mussel mixed grill which was I thought was good, but the service was not so good. We arrived to find the place was full [a good sign] but there was no available seats under cover as it was raining, plenty of outside tables but only one with an large umbrella over it - but we thought fair enough and I was looking forward to eating here again after a wonderful meal here two months ago with a friend. So we returned around a hour later when it was quietened down a bit and we then got a table out of the rain. The young guy came out to clear the table which was full of used plates and then vanished again only taking a few plates and never returned. We sat there for a while then another older guy I took to be the manager came out to take our order, saw the table was not cleared and apologised and proceeded to clear it and wiped the table. He then also vanished and my wife had to go back inside the restaurant and ask could someone please take our order. The second guy came out again and I asked what soft drinks they had and was told rather abruptly to "read the leaflet in front of us"! We finally got our meal and drinks, but to cap it all when we went to pay we were overcharged for some drinks we never had. We got a refund on the drinks OK and an apology from a nice lady on the till. This restaurant is not cheap if you consider the price of mussels these days and the service could have been a lot better, especially as I recommended this restaurant to my wife who had not eaten hear before, she was not impressed!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank royandangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Mussels I've had anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The coconut curry muscles with fresh herbs from their own garden are supurb!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brotherhug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“the Mussel Adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

stopped by for lunch. mussels at this place a must. lots of varieties (way of cooking) to choose from. i recommend you be adventurous. portions are big and are meant for sharing. most staff friendly and helpful. i got the one odd indifferent one assisting us when we were there. he could not even provide us with ice for our drink when we requested for it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank islandyuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coromandel Mussell Kitchen also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Coromandel Mussell Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing