We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Not Bad but far from being a 5 Star hotel."”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Gale Mares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Gale Mares
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Camacari
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Not Bad but far from being a 5 Star hotel."”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

It´s a nice hotel with a good swimming pool but it´s not a five star hotel or a resort. It is focused on quantity and not quality. The employees are friendly but not oriented to the consumers need. The bar stop´s at 1 AM and the hotel does not have enough animation, probably because it seemed to me that they were more oriented to families programs.
The food isn´t bad but it far from the usual “resort” style, with several meals similar during the week. In the bar I also noticed that they have a small menu and lack off choices.
The Hotel it´s a little far from any cultural and shopping areas but they have several programs that we can do thought agencies that operate in the area but they seemed a little expensive.
They have an ATM machine but it´s wasn´t working, a problem that we should be solved in the interest of the gests.
In resume - not bad – specially concerning the relation between the quality and the price but it´s far from being a FIVE STAR hotel according to the European standards.

Room Tip: Rooms far from the pool probably are better because of the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atrigueiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    1,183
    479
    172
    98
See reviews for
1,761
730
10
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I and my father stayed at this hotel for 4 days during december 2011. In fact, it is not a five star hotel or a resort. They just have a big swimming pool and nothing more. Staff is enable to give a reasonable service. Food is focused in quantity and not quality. During the weekend they giv promotion and the hotel is crowded with guest whose intention is just eat and drink until the death

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rdpiovezan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaragua Do Sul, SC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Well, I had a discouraging experience at this hotel.
The hotel had been recommended by two couples of friends who have stayed there years ago. They spoke wonders of the hotel. My family and I decided to get our vacation here.
First arrived before check in and we could not use the hotel facilities or common areas before the start time of check-in. I was very hungry and there was nothing to eat before check in started. I had to wait five hours.
The place is decadent, the furniture of the rooms are old, they are broken, releasing the walls. The garden is poorly maintained, and the soccer field, park, library, nightclub, games room, etc.. The pool deserves a special chapter as many tiles missing and the remaining are falling all the time inclusive may cause injury.
The beach chairs are torn. The food is bad. For dinner the two decent restaurants, you need to book each day and the number of places is limited.
The hotel service is BAD.
One night I saw a cat eating in the buffet restaurant central.
Missing comfortable area, lack comfort, lack everything.
I will never return this place!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gilzacarlafloriani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

It took me 2 years to sit and write about my experience at this hotel, but I finally decided to do it.

In short, NEVER GO TO THIS PLACE.

I went there for my honeymoon, this place almost ruined my marriage before it even started.

First of, when we got there, there were no rooms available for people arriving from the airport. All passengers were asked to stay in the lobby, no aid from the hotel whatsoever, for 4 entire hours. It's unbelievable that we actually PAYED in advance for an additional day in order to check in before 12a.m, but when we got there, surprise: NO ROOMS.

We could have sued them for starters, but we were too depressed to do so after the whole experience.

The crew was so rude. So rude, ALL THE DAMN TIME. There are no words to describe their lack of commitment to the guests. Everyone acted as if they didn't care.

Then finally after they got us a room, the luggage took another 2 hours to get there. One day we found out why: there was 1 guy to deliver all the luggage to ALL the guests.

After the initial stress I said to my wife: "Hey, things will get better now. Let's relax and take some time to enjoy the place."

Big mistake. It only got worse.

Let me put this straight: In this hotel, nobody cares about you. And I mean nobody. If you ask for a towel, It will get there... 3 hours after you asked. You will dry yourself faster if you just stay in the sun. If you ask for anything special at all, you will simply be IGNORED. If you go to a bar and ask for a drink, you will probably have the impression that the waiter is doing you a favor. And that's it. ALL THE TIME.

As for entertainment, there was a big swimming pool over there. And that's it either. Please someone tell the owners, resorts ARE NOT about swimming pools alone. There were not shows worth mentioning. No activities lead by PROFESSIONALS. Only amateurs. The entertainers were amateurs, who clearly didn't know what they were doing, and they all had the same "I don't care" attitude all the time.

The restaurants were really, really bad. They were basically 3rd tier buffets with no healthy food whatsoever. If I am at a resort, then I expect to be SERVED, at least sometimes. Quality food, not just french fries, spaguetti and sausages all the time. But that never happened, not at least during the day.

But the worst is: there was nothing to discover. All the buffets were one and the same! Once you've seen one, you've seen all. No special drinks, no special food, no special nothing. It's the very same food that you would eat at your mother's house, only but worse and greasier.

Ok, during the night there were "special" restaurants that must be booked beforehand, and in these restaurants they do serve you. But they are nearly amateur when they do so. I actually spotted the very same staff from the buffets in EVERY restaurant. Even the food is the same. I am pretty sure that there was no chef, at all. These people were NOT specialized, in anything at all. They would only rotate the days, the names of the restaurants, and the crew from the buffets. There wasn't a single dish that was worth mentioning. There was no way to get a romanting dinner on those places. Not even if you tried really hard.

One day me and my wife decided to go for a bike ride. The bikes were almost all broken. The remaining were in such a bad state that is was really hard to ride them. And again, nobody cared. Then we decided to go snorkeling. The equipment was supposed to be included in the price, and it is... "BUT ONLY IN THE SWIMMING POOL" said the attendant!

That's when I got really mad. What kind of joke was that? You are going to a natural paradise, but when you try to snorkel they send you to the SWIMMING POOL... or you have to pay some extra if you want to do it at the OCEAN? Come on...

But the worst was yet to come... On the weekends they open the place for locals... for 1/3 of the regular price!!! That means you are in swimming on pool when the place gets suddenly crowded with people that ARE NOT staying at the hotel at all, joining the big "I don't care" team, except these are not crew, these are CUSTOMERS.

And all they do is eating like pigs and getting drunk by the pool, until the day is over.

By the end of the trip me and my wife were so tired and disappointed that still today we feel that we didn't have a proper honeymoon. That place was hell. We were really happy to go home after that.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank musiqueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uberaba, MG
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Excelent hotel with a friendly staff. The Nep club "uncles" and the "inevitavel" restaurant re fantastic!
If you can, pay a extra and stay in the "superior chalet", it´s another hotel, another life.
But you may NOT go there now, because the 2/3 of the pool are closed and the remaning part is with the floor broken. You can get injured there !!!
And of course, there are lot´s of workers not prepared to work in a resort, so you may became unconfortable... See my pictures
Only stay there if they give you a huge discount or if you don´t have another option.
Another HUGE disappointment: no free internet.

Room Tip: Daniela (manager), she´s a problem solvers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisRonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camacari
35.0 km away
Bahia Plaza Hotel
Bahia Plaza Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abrantes
326 reviews
9.3 km away
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
#1 of 10 in Praia do Forte
490 reviews
9.0 km away
Refugio da Vila
Refugio da Vila
#2 of 10 in Praia do Forte
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Iberostar Praia do Forte
Iberostar Praia do Forte
#3 of 10 in Praia do Forte
5,841 reviews
20.6 km away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
8.0 km away
Sauipe Resorts
Sauipe Resorts
#2 of 3 in Costa Do Sauipe
6,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Mares

Property: Vila Gale Mares
Address: Praia de Guarajuba | Guarajuba, Camacari, State of Bahia 42820-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Camacari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Camacari
Price range (per night): $275 - $560
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vila Gale Mares 4.5*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel is located beside the beautiful beach of Guarajuba and is 42 km from Salvador (Bahia) International Airport and 12 km south of Praia do Forte beach. The building is an exotic project utilising exclusively native materials and profiting from the magnificent tropical landscape, the lush vegetation surrounding lakes, a lagoon, and a 460 m long private beach (with lifeguard and security). Surrounded by sprawling gardens, this air-conditioned beach hotel with security has a total of 447 rooms, of which 352 standard rooms, 74 chalets, 18 superior chalets and 3 master chalets. The impressive lobby offers guests a 24-hour reception desk and a hotel safe. Facilities on offer here include four shops, three bars and three restaurants. Guests may also take advantage of the library, the business centre with an Internet connection, and a conference room. The laundry service completes the offerings, and parking is available for those guests arriving by car. The comfortable rooms all come with an en suite bathroom with shower, cosmetic mirror, and hairdryer, a direct dial telephone, an Internet connection, and satellite/ cable TV. Also provided as standard in every luxurious room is individually adjustable air conditioning, a minibar, a hire safe, and a balcony or terrace. There is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with loungers and parasols laid out ready for use within the hotel grounds. There is also Jacuzzi for guests to unwind in. Guests searching Spa treatments may visit Satsanga Spa composed with a set of infrastructures composed by a gym, heated indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Steam room / Turkish bath, Vichy shower, massages and treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Vila Gale Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Mares Camacari
Vila Gale Mares Bahia/Camacari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing