We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fishmekaaaan i have some more please?”

Mekan Charcoal Grill Meze
Ranked #7 of 342 Restaurants in Hove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 26 - USD 39
Description: Mekan Charcoal Grill & Meze is a Hove based restaurant bringing you to unique tastes from Turkish, Mediterranean and Cypriot Cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: Mekan Charcoal Grill & Meze is a Hove based restaurant bringing you to unique tastes from Turkish, Mediterranean and Cypriot Cuisine.
Reviewed 31 January 2018

i came here after seeing the great reviews online and i was not disappointed. The staff were super friendly and knowledgable as well as attentive and lovely. We had a mixture of cold and hot starters all of which were delicious- i would definitely recommend the sea bream! A selection of starters was enough for our main course but we definitely had desserts which were outstanding. We also enjoyed a bottle of prosecco and the general ambience and atmosphere of Fishmekan. I absolutely loved every minute of Fishmekan and can't wait to visit again!!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tramp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 83 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

We visited here while in Brighton for a weekend away. The ambience is amazing, lovely decor. We were recommended the tapas and ordered various vegetarian, fish hot and cold. The flavours are amazing and unusual in some cases, but it all works. The service and friendliness of the staff is great. Will definetely go back.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank HelenS93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

I read such wonderful reviews of this place and first impressions on arrival were really good. The restaurant is set in a lovely building with high ceilings, atmospheric lighting and the overall ambience is great. Staff are warm and welcoming and we were offered a carafe of still water with lemon which was a nice touch.

As first timers, we picked a selection of tapas as recommended by the very helpful waitress and waited to be amazed.... Expectations waned a tad when the first dish of marinated beetroot with balsamic vinegar turned out to be... sliced beetroot. Marinated in very little at all from the taste. Literally £4 for a pack of sliced beetroot. Hey ho, next dish 6 native oysters with chefs own red wine and shallot vinegar. Think the oysters had been on a post Christmas diet as they were minuscule. The accompanying red wine vinegar, well, it was harsh and totally overpowering.

Onto the calamari, over cooked and not overly fresh. The accompanying homemade tartare was unpalatable.

The seafood crepe - tasteless

The marinated prawns? They were just like the pretend prawns you can buy on the seafront and again, there was little flavour to the marinade.

If this is the number one fish restaurant in the area, I’d be amazed. I have no problem paying good money for good food. That’s not what we got here. Nice idea, lovely staff, maybe look at the chef/execution of the dishes.

Date of visit: January 2018
2  Thank Lornsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faruk B, Manager at Mekan Charcoal Grill Meze, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear Lornsie

We are so glad to hear that your experience at our venue with regards to our staff and décor was a pleasant one and apologise that your experience with our food was not the same.
We would like to assure you that our produce is from local suppliers who work very hard to provide us with the best stock for our dishes, the recipes of which were carefully created by our head chef with intricate attention towards a balance of flavours and a fusion of Turkish cuisine.
Any feedback is always more than appreciated as we are always looking at ways to improve our menu. We do apologise that the dishes ordered did not live up to your expectations however and would love the chance to amend this by inviting you back to try something else from the variety that our menu offers.

Hope to see you again,
From all of us here at Fishmekan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

This is a fish restaurant for a special occasion...A birthday celebration with food and and a great place make it very special....We choose a bit of everything between starters and main course and we love it!!! The wine list was very interesting too and was a lovely dinner...The place is quite different high ceilings and the service was very attentive....We loved and will come back!!!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlfonsoAlongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

What a find - it's a little further than I usually venture, but so pleased I stumbled across it. I'd set off for one of my favourite restaurants, which turned out to be closed - decided to carry on in the direction I was already heading & after reviewing menus in the windows of a few places decided to try here.
They have quite a small menu, but almost everything was tempting (I eat meat-free!) - staff are well informed about the dishes & provide excellent guidance, all with a smile too. The food was freshly prepared & perfectly presently.
Apparently Sunday evenings are the quietest, I had no problem getting a table - but it's likely to be worth booking, especially Friday & Saturday.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DamJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mekan Charcoal Grill Meze also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Mekan Charcoal Grill Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing