We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good local pizza place.”
Review of Amici

Amici
Ranked #16 of 337 Restaurants in Hove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 19
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Got a take away for two early evening. Only three people eating in (it was a wet evening) hard to comment on the atmosphere but it's a cosy enough place. Ordered the Bruschetta and vegetarian anancini. The former was made with fresh tomatoes, it was a little salty for my liking but good. The arancini was big! It was a little bland but oddly enough became more moreish as it cooled down and what's leftover will be eaten tomorrow. We ate Pizza Florentina and Al Tonno. The bases had become a little limp on the 10 minute journey home but crisped up nicely on our pre-heated pizza stone. Both were very good and a lot better than most we've had in Brighton & Hove although they lacked the rustic taste of pizzas cooked in wood burning ovens. The bases were again a little salty to my way of thinking but that's probably because I never add salt to my food. Overall the pizzas were enjoyable and tasted freshly cooked (which they were as I watched them cooking) and the bases were well cooked. It'd be a great local pizza restaurant and it's a good place for take away and we'll definitely eat from there again.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HoveMan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

We were looking fo somewhere to eat after unpacking in my daughter's new house before starting uni. We googled local eateries and stumbled on this little gem. With an extensive menu and prices that are very reasonable, the waiter went the extra mile and although we were outside of the lunchtime menu special offers, he still charged us that rate. The food was fantastic and I would highly recommend the sweet calzone with nutella and bananas!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maria32017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Excellent service and very tasty food! Great atmosphere and very friendly staff. A hidden gem - I had never come across Amici before but I will definitely return

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jimihendrix2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We have ordered home delivery- very bad experience. Pizza arrived 1h10min after placing an order and arrived cold!
Small bottle of mineral water charged £2 each! Disgrace!

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank FarAway699369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodfoodHove, Owner at Amici, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi,

We are very to hear about your negative experience with us. Please let us apologise for your food arriving later and cold, this was certainly not our intention. We are not quite sure which customer are you, and is always best to contact us straightaway to see if we can do something for you to resolve a complain. The bottle of water is £2 at the restaurant so it was an oversight of the waiter who charged it as eat in and not as takeaway which should be £1.5. We only use glass bottles and that's why they cost a bit more. Please feel free to contact us regarding this issue on our phone number where we can offer you money back on the water we overcharged you and other issues.

Thank you,
Amici

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Really good value. Portions and quality and Italian atmosphere
Family group of wide age range and all genuinely happy with the meal.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sally652380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amici also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing