We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Greenside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Greenside
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very charming hotel”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Very charming hotel in a splendid environment off course. Rooms are very tidy and with modern accomodation and a large, wel equipped bathroom. Service is very good and breakfast is elaborate and diverse. We also had dinner which was very nice, you get high quality for a very reasonable price. For the price you pay, you get everything you can expect from it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    93
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
194
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Wow - not at all what I expected. Wonderful accomodation in a junior suite, Large balcony, great coffee maker, nice ammenities in the bathroom. Very thoughtful staff. Excellent breakfast and dinner. Comfortable bar. No complaints - highly recommended.

Room Tip: go for the junior suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We came here for a three day trip while travelling with our 11 month old daughter. The rooms are really spacious and clean. Even though it seems to be one of the best hotels (and restaurants) in town guests as well as staff were absolutely child friendly. A baby bed was ready, a toy sheep was waiting and staff was always very helpful. A nice and quite atmosphere just of the lively parts of de Koog.

A very good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccronauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

so our friends were surprised to end up on an island! :)

Rooms are great, except for the single beds strapped together as a double. (Dutch custom?)
The bar is great with a broad selection of local beers and a variety of snacks.
The food in the restaurant is also great, using local ingredients as much as possible. Some menus are based on that as a theme.

When we were there the receptiondesk closed on that Sunday afternoon (we don't know if this is always so) so we couldn't leave our luggage at the hotel and explore the island. Instead we went back to the "mainland" :S

We are planning to come back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCE_NRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights, booked a nice arrangement. We had a standard room. They are big and have some great views. Some luxury rooms in the other building misses the nice views over the small lake. You can open the door from your balcony for some fresh air . The beds are normal size and just ok. We only missed the tea facilities. You can hire bikes everywhere, also the hotels have some to lent. Breakfast is certainly 9 out of 10 ! Dinner is also tasty ! But certainly not cheap!. Its 2 minutes walking to the little village and 5 to the beach.
In oktober its a easy going island , all the crowds had left and we had e great time walking and biking. Nature here is wonderful. Boat to the island cost 35 euro, they sail every hour.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerald1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Koog
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Opduin
Grand Hotel Opduin
#2 of 11 in De Koog
269 reviews
5.0 km away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#1 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
149 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel de Lindeboom
Hotel de Lindeboom
#2 of 6 in Den Burg
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Kogerstaete
Hotel Kogerstaete
#3 of 11 in De Koog
149 reviews
0.3 km away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Cooghen
0.4 km away
Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greenside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenside

Property: Hotel Greenside
Address: Stappeland 6, 1796 BS De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Price range (per night): $182 - $287
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Greenside 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Greenside is an intimate four-star hotel in the seaside resort De Koog, just outside the centre where peace predominates. The spacious rooms are surprising. The large sitting area, the comfortable beds and your own private balcony or terrace. Extra luxurious are the Superior bedrooms with Whirlpool and Sunshower. Greenside has a separate wellness and fitness area. Bordering on the water is the restaurant Wambinge. Classic simplicity characterizes the tasty dishes; products from Texel reign supreme. Greenside can also facilitate business meetings. A tasty lunch or dinner and a relaxing stay in Greenside compliment your business event on Texel. In cooperation with sport and cultural partners Greenside organizes complete made to measure (day) programmes. Our function rooms form the perfect setting for family dinners, weddings and other parties or functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Greenside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Greenside Texel/De Koog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing