We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, underserved and get ready to pay for everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Cooghen
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Waarlands
1 review
“Overpriced, underserved and get ready to pay for everything.”
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We booked a junior suite based on the strength of the photos on the website. The "Boutique" look we hoped for was absent and the room just looked like an old out of date hotel room.
I was sick so we decided to get room service for dinner. Although after calling reception we were told they didn't do room service. We asked maybe the restaurant could take our order and we would come down to collect but apparently they were too busy. Eventually I went out to collect some takeaway, passing the restaurant on the way out I saw there was only 5 people sitting there.
I the morning I complained about the room quality and the lack of service. In fairness they gave me a free parking token worth €10 but after spending €157 I still felt hard done by.
Don't stay here, in fact don't stay in De Koog, Den Burg is a much nicer little town with cute streets and nice restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    72
    73
    29
    14
See reviews for
39
119
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We chose this hotel because we were travelling with our dog and saw it advertised as pet-friendly. We were pleased to find that he was not only welcome in the hotel but also in the restaurant for breakfast (the waitress even brough him a bowl of water).

Don't worry if you are not an animal lover - the hotel is not over-run with smelly muts - this is just an example of the friendly and open nature of the Dutch hosts.

We had a very enjoyable stay at the De Cooghen. It is modern, clean and comfortable, located on the main pedestrian street of the holiday town of De Koog. For this reason the rooms at the front can be noisy at night. You are advised to book one of the quieter rooms at the back.

Our only complaint in the the 'Wellness' centre of sauna and sunbed are only available for an extra charge. A bit of a cheek.

  • Liked — Pet friendly
  • Disliked — Charges for sauna
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

We were obliged to return to this hotel for our second night which we had to postpone to a less noisy time of the year if we didn't want to loose our prepayment. When we wanted to change the dates of this trip a few months earlier the hotel actually wanted to charge 10 Euros for changing the reservation to another date. When we asked why they said "Because it is a lot of work". As I am from this business as well I was baffled by this statement and refused to agree to this. The receptionist gave in.

We stayed at the Hotel Cooghen again during a less busy season. This time we were allocated a room facing the courtyard and as it was low season our stay was quiet this time. Cleanliness is ok, however for the price the hotel makes a stingy impression. I have never seen such a small amount of amenities in a hotel room. One below small amenity size shampoo to share for both and a little shower gel. The wall-mounted dispenser was empty. The staff is still not really friendly.
When we arrived at the hostess desk for breakfast in the morning they could not find our name on the list and made us feel like we were not supposed to be there. The breakfast selection was even smaller than last time, however during the time we were there it was replenished regularly. I still cannot recommend this hotel although during this less busy time it was less noisy and therefore ok.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Gnu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these De Koog hotels

Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2007

This is a very nice hotel. Clean, quiet, in the middle of the centre. The breakfast is very good. The restaurant is wonderful, we ate a suprise 5 course meal. we booked the rooms which said it could be a bit noisy, but we heard nothing. If you book off season, there is no noise at all. Go there...DO IT!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank marleen888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

Think Dutch Provincetown without all the gay people. Hotel Cooghen is located along a lively strip of shops, close to a number of clubs and restaurants and within walking distance of the beach. Rooms at the front of the hotel might be subjected to noise from late night revellers, but my rear-facing room was quiet and comfortable. The extra-long beds (for the extra tall Dutch) were supremely comfortable -- like sleeping in the hand of God. Must be the feather-bed pillow tops or the clean island air. Be sure to try the sugar bread at breakfast, a delicious Dutch treat.

Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Koog
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Opduin
Grand Hotel Opduin
#2 of 11 in De Koog
269 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Greenside
Hotel Greenside
#1 of 11 in De Koog
292 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Kogerstaete
Hotel Kogerstaete
#3 of 11 in De Koog
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof
5.6 km away
Hotel de Lindeboom
Hotel de Lindeboom
#2 of 6 in Den Burg
152 reviews
9.3 km away
Hotel Prins Hendrik Texel
Hotel Prins Hendrik Texel
#1 of 1 in Oosterend
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Cooghen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Cooghen

Property: Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Cooghen
Address: Dorpsstraat 10, 1796 BB De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Price range (per night): $130 - $253
Hotel Class:3 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Cooghen 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Cooghen lies in the centre of the lively centre of De Koog town and within walking distance of the beach and dunes. Enjoy the great cycling and walking routes that this island has to offer. Beaches, dunes, woods and polders are spread arouFletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Cooghen lies in the center of De Koog and within walking distance of the beach and dunes. Enjoy the great cycling and walking routes that this island has to offer. Beaches, dunes, woods and polders are spread around De Koog. The 3 star hotel has various facilities that include an a la carte restaurant, where you can enjoy several regional, national and international dishes. Beside that the hotel has a Wellness Center (with solarium, sauna, infrared cabin, steam cabin and a number of showers) and comfortable rooms for a very pleasant stay.Nd De Koog. The 3 star hotel has various facilities that include an a la carte restaurant, a Wellness Center (with solarium, sauna, infrared cabin, steam cabin and a number of showers) and comfortable rooms for a very pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Cooghen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooghen Hotel De Koog
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Cooghen Texel/De Koog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing