We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WestCord Hotel Schylge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Very good hotel approximately 1km from centre of West Terschelling. Short walk into town. Handy for going to other parts of the island as the bus stops just outside the hotel. (Don't forget your OV Chipkaart!) Good buffet breakfast and a very nice restaurant for dinner.

Definitely get a sea view room.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are mush better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dfscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear dfscot,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor, it's good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located around 1 km from the town center, so we were happy that we rented a bike.
Our sea view room really had a great view!

Our room was very spacious, with a large bed, two comfortable chairs and a private balcony.
Although it wasn't very hot weather, inside it was pretty hot and the hotel doesn't have air conditioning. You can ask for a fan which helps a little.

The shower is firm and the bathroom was large enough.

Breakfast was very good, lots and lots of fresh products to choose from. We really enjoyed it. We would have liked it to last untill 11 or 12am, but during week days it ends at 10am.

Staff is welcoming and helpful.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AvW12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear AvW,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor, we are very pleased to hear that your have enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you again soon, on the beautiful island of Terschelling,

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Great view over the sea (ensure to get a proper room). Hotel is quite luxurious but nothing too special. It's the best you can get on Terschelling though. Hotel restaurant is fine. Staff is very professional and friendly. It's a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Akxsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Dear Akxsel,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor, I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon on our beautifull island.

Kind regards,

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Very pleasant place to for a meeting. Excellent facilities with bowling in the bar. Quite hotel that you cannot hear the fog horn at night. Excellent food in the restaurant. Probably excellent views but able to see due to the fog.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank barryjukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Barryjukes,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor, it's nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

The view of this hotel cannot be beat. When you are having breakfast or lunch/dinner in the hotel restaurant you have a perfect view of the marina and the sea. The staff is super attentive. We rented bikes (they have 'Tijs Knop' bikes in their own bike garage) and rode the island. The two person rooms have two single beds shoved together, leaving a crack. A regular two person bed would have even been nicer. We had a problem with the television (digital television update got stuck). After calling the front desk we got help very quickly. The problem could not be fixed, but the work around (switch to analogue) did work. Sound quality of the television not great, but after a full day on the island you should be pretty beat and ready to fall asleep right away anyway. We liked the interior decorating and the photos on the doors (hallway side) of birds of the area.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear WordTravelOne,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor, it's great to see you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again soon!

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West-Terschelling
0.5 km away
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
#3 of 10 in Terschelling
175 reviews
4.2 km away
Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
#2 of 6 in West-Terschelling
598 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Bornholm
Hotel Bornholm
#3 of 6 in West-Terschelling
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn
0.9 km away
Hotel Nap
Hotel Nap
#4 of 6 in West-Terschelling
79 reviews
7.5 km away
Hotel de Walvisvaarder
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Hotel Schylge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Hotel Schylge

Address: Burgemeester van Heusdenweg 37, 8881 ED West-Terschelling, Terschelling, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Region: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Terschelling > West-Terschelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West-Terschelling
Price Range: $166 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Hotel Schylge 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Schylge (4-stars) is in the lively harbour of the village West-Terschelling and has a wonderful view over the Wadden sea. The hotel views are dramatically influenced by the continuous movement of the sea and tidal changes. Hotel Schylge offers luxury and comfort. Restaurant 'Op West', one of the best on the island is led by star decorated chef Ton van Scheppingen. Within a short walk along the harbour you will find yourself in the charming village of West. Walking and cycle paths to the beach, woods and sea begin from both the front and back of the hotel. In the last few years Hotel Schylge has been largely renovated. The rooms have a luxurious designer feel but at the same time still manage to capture the unmistakable island feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your WestCord Hotel Schylge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip West-Terschelling
West-Terschelling Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing