We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
217
176
36
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
176
36
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat viewone wordhotel is locatedfree wifiharbourseaislandterracemachinebathtubsaunastopscheesecorridordetailsbike
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Everything is perfect: location, views, rooms, personnel, food. It is a short walk from where the ferry puts you on the beautiful island of Terschelling. There is a baggage service as well. The four stars are really four stars.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view on the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Urspeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Dear Urspeter,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor, it's great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you soon on our beautifull island!

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We booked a room on the land-side, but we changed for a see- view room because of the traffic noise in the land-side room. This room was OK, but lacked a small fridge which was present in the land-side room.
Other very disappointing points for this high priced hotel:
You had to pay for extra Senseo cups (only 3 per day were supplied free of charge).
You had to pay € 5 extra, if you want to deliver something to your room.
No shuttle service for the transfer from the harbor, where the ferry arrives

In short: a expensive hotel with a wrong business model. Very disappointing!!!!!

Room Tip: More expensive see-room (but lacks a standard small fridge)
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Dear Joos,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay in our hotel en the service we provided, specially since you stayed with us on such a beautiffull weekend.
Although a fridge is not a standerd in our seaview rooms, our receptionist offered to have one brought to your room inmediatly wich you refused. I am sorry we can't offer unlimited amounts of free Nespresso cups, the costs would simply be too high.
Because off the extra handling we are forced to charge a roomservice fee, otherwise we would have to raise the prices for all food and drinks to cover the extra staffcost.
We actually do provide free bustransfer from the harbor to the hotel and back for all our guests, wich should be mentioned in your booking confirmation. We also offer free transport for your luguage from the hotel to the harbor.

Again, I am very sorry we could not meet your expectations, kind regards,

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We expected a modern hotel with all the things you expect from a four star hotel. The hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious and relative modern but still the hotel seems a little outdated.

Staff was friendly but there can be improvements. As a guest it feels the staff is doing what they were told to do, but we did not feel we were warmly welcome. We had to wait in line for 5 minutes at the reception while the receptionists was helping other guests. There were other receptionists near by, we could see them talk to each other in a room 10 mtrs away. They could see us too, but decided to talk some more until after 5 minutes they helped us. This is not a huge problem, but does not make you feel eehm warmy welcome.

The breakfast is good. Scrumbled eggs and bacon, very nice. Only thing I want to say is that during our 5 breakfasts we had, there was no change in the breakfast. It stayed the same everyday.

WiFi is free, not too fast. Good signal except in our room.

The beds are all two beds (together) with two blankets. We prefered one bed with one big blanket. They provided a topmatrass but had nog two persons blankets.

They were performing improvements on the hotel, there was some noise but nothing to too disturbing.

Location is very good, nearby the harbour and West. Not near a beach though. Beaches are 6km away.

We had no seaside room (were none left) but had a view on the forest which was nice. We suffered from noise from trafic though. When the windows are closed you don't hear much, but we like to sleep with the rooms open and the you hear traffic quite loud.

The roof terrace is very nice, as is the normal terrace. Super view at the harbour!

All in all we were happy to stay there, but we expected a little more from a four star hotel. The price is also a little high for what you get in the end.

Cheers.

Room Tip: Room with seaside view are the best. But also the most expensive. Always try to book a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Coltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Coltex,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, I am very sorry that we could not meet your exspectations. I the comming month we will replace our entire Wifi network, wich will greatly improve both the speed and signal range in the hotel.

Kind regards,

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We had a 3-night arrangement with New-Years-Eve dinner. The hotelroom (harbourside) has a good size. The bath is fully equipped. The rooms at harbourside are quiet and do have a balcony and a great view over the harbour and sea. The hotel arranged also bikes for touring this wonderful island. The hotel is situated a bit outside of the main centre of Terschelling, but a 20 mins walk is allways good. Otherwise the busstop is just in front of the hotel.
A perfect place for a view days or a whole holiday on Terschelling. The restaurant is perfect, and breakfast is absulute complete.

Room Tip: Rooms at harbourside are quiet and have a great view (with balcony)
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016
Google Translation

Beste Klaas,
hartelijk dank voor de prachtige beoordeling op Tripadvisor, fijn dat u zo heeft genoten van ons oudjaar arrangement. We hopen u spoedig weer te mogen ontvangen op ons prachtige eiland.

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

I stayed one night. This is a large, comfortable hotel. Good size bedroom, good shower, good bed, nespresso machine in the room. Breakfast buffet was decent. The hotel is conveniently located at walking distance from the ferry and a good base to explore Terschelling.

My room was at the front of the hotel, above the main entrance. As a consequence, I heard quite a bit of road noise and had to keep my window closed.

Why stay here?: comfort and convenience, and (if you are a group) ability to handle larger groups.

Why stay somewhere else?: if you like smaller scale hotels, if you want to be further away from the road/village (or closer to nature).

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room on the sea side. This is quieter and offers better views.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernIze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Dear Fern,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It's good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. For your next visit I can recommend booking a room with sea view, not only do you get a beautiful view over the harbour and waddenzee, these rooms are also situated away from traffic and outside noises.

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews