We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the Middle of the Dutch Nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WestCord Hotel Schylge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Everything is perfect in this hotel. You get a real yoga experience while the guest are nature walkers and lovers. So you get a real quiet feeling and you are close to the nature. But look out with the breakfast on the balcony. The nature is so close that the Seaguls take your croissant if you look to the other direction. Sitting on the balcony of your room you smell the sea and dream about the future. So take a room with balcony at the seaside.

Room Tip: Take the SNELBOOT from Harlingen with not to much luggage and rent a bike with Tijs Knop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EricDordrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016
Google Translation

Beste Eric,
Hartelijk dank voor de leuke beoordeling op Tripadvisor, fijn dat u zo heeft genoten van uw verblijf in ons hotel. Excuses voor de matige opvoeding van de lokale meeuwen!

Graag tot de volgende keer,

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2016

Everything is perfect: location, views, rooms, personnel, food. It is a short walk from where the ferry puts you on the beautiful island of Terschelling. There is a baggage service as well. The four stars are really four stars.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view on the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Urspeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Dear Urspeter,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor, it's great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you soon on our beautifull island!

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We booked a room on the land-side, but we changed for a see- view room because of the traffic noise in the land-side room. This room was OK, but lacked a small fridge which was present in the land-side room.
Other very disappointing points for this high priced hotel:
You had to pay for extra Senseo cups (only 3 per day were supplied free of charge).
You had to pay € 5 extra, if you want to deliver something to your room.
No shuttle service for the transfer from the harbor, where the ferry arrives

In short: a expensive hotel with a wrong business model. Very disappointing!!!!!

Room Tip: More expensive see-room (but lacks a standard small fridge)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Dear Joos,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay in our hotel en the service we provided, specially since you stayed with us on such a beautiffull weekend.
Although a fridge is not a standerd in our seaview rooms, our receptionist offered to have one brought to your room inmediatly wich you refused. I am sorry we can't offer unlimited amounts of free Nespresso cups, the costs would simply be too high.
Because off the extra handling we are forced to charge a roomservice fee, otherwise we would have to raise the prices for all food and drinks to cover the extra staffcost.
We actually do provide free bustransfer from the harbor to the hotel and back for all our guests, wich should be mentioned in your booking confirmation. We also offer free transport for your luguage from the hotel to the harbor.

Again, I am very sorry we could not meet your expectations, kind regards,

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We expected a modern hotel with all the things you expect from a four star hotel. The hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious and relative modern but still the hotel seems a little outdated.

Staff was friendly but there can be improvements. As a guest it feels the staff is doing what they were told to do, but we did not feel we were warmly welcome. We had to wait in line for 5 minutes at the reception while the receptionists was helping other guests. There were other receptionists near by, we could see them talk to each other in a room 10 mtrs away. They could see us too, but decided to talk some more until after 5 minutes they helped us. This is not a huge problem, but does not make you feel eehm warmy welcome.

The breakfast is good. Scrumbled eggs and bacon, very nice. Only thing I want to say is that during our 5 breakfasts we had, there was no change in the breakfast. It stayed the same everyday.

WiFi is free, not too fast. Good signal except in our room.

The beds are all two beds (together) with two blankets. We prefered one bed with one big blanket. They provided a topmatrass but had nog two persons blankets.

They were performing improvements on the hotel, there was some noise but nothing to too disturbing.

Location is very good, nearby the harbour and West. Not near a beach though. Beaches are 6km away.

We had no seaside room (were none left) but had a view on the forest which was nice. We suffered from noise from trafic though. When the windows are closed you don't hear much, but we like to sleep with the rooms open and the you hear traffic quite loud.

The roof terrace is very nice, as is the normal terrace. Super view at the harbour!

All in all we were happy to stay there, but we expected a little more from a four star hotel. The price is also a little high for what you get in the end.

Cheers.

Room Tip: Room with seaside view are the best. But also the most expensive. Always try to book a room on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Coltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Coltex,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, I am very sorry that we could not meet your exspectations. I the comming month we will replace our entire Wifi network, wich will greatly improve both the speed and signal range in the hotel.

Kind regards,

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We had a 3-night arrangement with New-Years-Eve dinner. The hotelroom (harbourside) has a good size. The bath is fully equipped. The rooms at harbourside are quiet and do have a balcony and a great view over the harbour and sea. The hotel arranged also bikes for touring this wonderful island. The hotel is situated a bit outside of the main centre of Terschelling, but a 20 mins walk is allways good. Otherwise the busstop is just in front of the hotel.
A perfect place for a view days or a whole holiday on Terschelling. The restaurant is perfect, and breakfast is absulute complete.

Room Tip: Rooms at harbourside are quiet and have a great view (with balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesdeLange, General Manager at WestCord Hotel Schylge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016
Google Translation

Beste Klaas,
hartelijk dank voor de prachtige beoordeling op Tripadvisor, fijn dat u zo heeft genoten van ons oudjaar arrangement. We hopen u spoedig weer te mogen ontvangen op ons prachtige eiland.

WestCord Hotel Schylge
Kees de Lange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West-Terschelling
4.2 km away
Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
#2 of 6 in West-Terschelling
592 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Bornholm
Hotel Bornholm
#3 of 6 in West-Terschelling
63 reviews
0.5 km away
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
#3 of 10 in Terschelling
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Hotel de Walvisvaarder
13.4 km away
Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn
0.9 km away
Hotel Nap
Hotel Nap
#5 of 6 in West-Terschelling
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Hotel Schylge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Hotel Schylge

Address: Burgemeester van Heusdenweg 37, 8881 ED West-Terschelling, Terschelling, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Region: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Terschelling > West-Terschelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West-Terschelling
Price Range: $156 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Hotel Schylge 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Schylge (4-stars) is in the lively harbour of the village West-Terschelling and has a wonderful view over the Wadden sea. The hotel views are dramatically influenced by the continuous movement of the sea and tidal changes. Hotel Schylge offers luxury and comfort. Restaurant 'Op West', one of the best on the island is led by star decorated chef Ton van Scheppingen. Within a short walk along the harbour you will find yourself in the charming village of West. Walking and cycle paths to the beach, woods and sea begin from both the front and back of the hotel. In the last few years Hotel Schylge has been largely renovated. The rooms have a luxurious designer feel but at the same time still manage to capture the unmistakable island feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your WestCord Hotel Schylge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip West-Terschelling
West-Terschelling Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing