We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury,location and nothing is a bother to the staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Luxury,location and nothing is a bother to the staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

On arrival, brought to separate area and given glasses of cava to welcome us, then upgraded to a sea view suite with balcony overlooking the cove! The staff were great and the facilities - including the free use of the Spa - were great. Breakfast went on to eleven o'clock and was fully stocked and refreshed the whole time.
The town was a bit lacklustre, but if you go North to Palamos and further, the area has great scenic beauty and beautiful coves.
We could not rate this Hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpgm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    151
    43
    7
    13
See reviews for
104
533
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

We have recently stayed at Cala del Pi for 4 nights and I can't recommend it highly enough. Everything was pretty much perfect from the minute we checked-in to the moment we checked-out (and were given a bag with a brochure for the hotel and two bottles of water for our trip back - what a nice touch). The service was very attentive (it's nice to be welcomed by the staff who cares), we appreciated delicious chocolates on our pillows and beds turn down every evening. The cleaning ladies were in fact the most cheerful ones I've ever seen in a hotel! The room was spacious, with a big terrace, sun beds, a table and chairs and nice views, the bathroom luxurious, with a jacuzzi bath, quality bathroom amenities, bathrobes and slippers and the bed was extremely comfortable. We didn't have a complimentary mini-bar but I guess it depends on the level of the room - we were staying in a standard one. Breakfast was one of the best I've ever had in a hotel (and it was included in the price) - huge variety of fruit, cheeses, cold meats (including proper hamon), smoked salmon, eggs, asparagus, pastries, impressive choice of teas... it was difficult to drag my husband out of there. The Spa was just magic, the pool at +32C, an amazingly strong jacuzzi and tons of various jets, hammam, sauna... on top of which for couple of days we had it all to ourselves (thanks to low season). Everything seemed pretty much brand new. The massages and treatments are on the expensive side but within the price range of 5 star spas. We dined at the restaurant once and I agree with previous reviews: while the food was tasty, the service was impecable and we appreciated nice touches like complimentary glass of Cava, the cuisine itself didn't really justify 30 euros tag for a small piece of dorada and tiny bit of vegetables on the side. Having said that, we still enjoyed it and looking at the menues of Platja d'Aro restaurants, it wasn't much more expensive than those. Platja d'Aro itself is not very exciting but the hotel is pretty self-sufficient and is a perfect pied-a-terre to explore Costa Brava - we loved visiting Tossa de Mar, Lloret de Mar, Cap Roig and other places. On the subject of decor, mentioned by other reviews, I must comment that while it wasn't to my taste either, this kind of decor is pretty usual for Costa Brava hotels, this place is not positioning itself as a boutique hotel where one expects to find very sleak decor. I think there is no hesitattion Cala del Pi deserves its 5 stars and we are looking forward to be able to take our next break to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Motienko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

After checking out early from another hotel we took a chance on this one for an overnight stay and were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly, the room spacious comfortable and clean. A lovely sea view from the balcony, bath robes, slippers and quality toiletries as well as a complimentary mini bar for soft drinks and beer. The restaurant menu wasn't to our taste but the front desk staff were very helpful in suggesting a local alternative. I wish we could have spent more time there as we did not have a chance to use the spa or any other facilities but if in the area again I would not hesitate to stay there or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

Very dissapointed with this hotel. The town of Platja d'Aro is a tourist trap and I would avoid it at all costs. Typical of 70's spain where they destroyed a town with high rise apartment blocks that are not very nice. The hotel itself is certainly not a 5*. The spa most definitely is very nice and this made up somewhat for the poor value for money that we felt upon staying here. The room decor is nothing short of terrible with bright brash colours and uncomfortable beds. The food in the restaurant was good, the outdoor swimming pool too small. Nearly dropped dead when we got the bill as this was the most expensive hotel on our trip and was the poorest in terms of value for money. Will not be back ever!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luvtravellingtomars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
188 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

Stumbled upon the hotel by accident & spent one night in off season. Was in Barcelona, so decided to take a drive up Costa de Brava. Friends had recommended Hostal de la Gavina in S'Agaro, but it was closed for the season.

Cala Del Pi is a smaller property in a less secluded spot than Gavina. Reception and service were very accommodating. Chose an upgraded room with direct sea view. View is as promised with private balcony; however, can see adjacent house (& hear dogs & cats on property). Room was relatively small and not decorated to my taste (a little baroque for my liking). Toiletries and linens are top notch. Bath is a little small (little awkward to get into shower). King bed is 2 twins pushed together, so can feel seam. HOwever, I slept like a baby on the bed.

Spa is an adventure. Has sauna & steam, as well as pool filled with jets & fascinating series of hydrotherapies - fun for adults and children alike. Access to the beach is down several sets of outdoor staircases. Beach is cove shared with neighboring estates. 15 minute walk into town along beach/rock path.

Overall, a very nice stay with good service. The hotel says that it is newer & more updated than Gavinas, but it is less secluded. We enjoyed our stay, but the property doesn't feel as special as we expected.

Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platja d'Aro
0.3 km away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
9.4 km away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#3 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.2 km away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#8 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
17.0 km away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi

Property: Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Address: Avda Cavall Bernat 160, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#7 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price range (per night): $263 - $644
Hotel Class:5 star — Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel offers direct access to Platja d'Aro's Cala del Pi Beach. It has a free 600m² spa, free Wi-Fi and parking and an outdoor pool with sea views.Rooms at Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi feature a hydromassage shower and a private terrace, many with views over the Mediterranean Sea. All come with satellite TV, pillow menu and Loewe amenities. Hotel Cala del Pi features a heated indoor pool, waterfalls, ice fountains, a Finnish sauna and Turkish bath. There is also a small fitness centre. The Rosa dels Vents restaurant serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared using seasonal products. The cafe bar includes a summer terrace overlooking the sea. Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi is located on the Costa Brava, just 27 km from Girona-Costa Brava Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salles Hotel And Spa Cala Del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala Del Pi Platja D'Aro, Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing