We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Castelldefels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2016

First opinion was nice hotel, very polite friendly staff. Nice quiet outside pool .
However once allocated our room and unpacked we could hear yapping dogs. We were unaware that pets were allowed, on further recognition as we noted another dog further along our hotel corridor, I would describe the section we were allocated as the dog section as not only did it smell of dog , it was noisy and balconys even though large were not at all welcoming or private, these ones are not shown in any hotel photo images. The hotel rooms could do with updating and they are very small.
We checked out after one night.
If you like sharing holidays with animals then on a positive note, staff excellent . Nice quiet pool area.

Room Tip: One that is not in the pet section !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie7Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvGomez01, Director de Recepción at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Dear Charlie, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience here for others to read. We are pet friendly hotel and we allow dogs come in. We have terraces which are very big but not very private. This could be a good point to improve our standard, we will takte this into consideration. We are sorry that you left before. Warmest regards, Eva Gomez-Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2016

Was looking for a hotel near the beach not too far from Barcelona! this hotel seem to tick most boxes, it was clean,friendly and the breakfast was ok! However the restaurant is very pricey! and the pizza we ordered was not very nice, it felt like it was taken out of the freezer and cooked in the oven, very dry and had no real toppings! There are plenty of restaurants and bars located locally within walking distance which was a nice surprise, you can get the train, which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel takes you to Sands and then take a tour bus which is an 'on and off' ride to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Beware ...Taxi from airport too expensive! 47 euros one way! decided to order taxi from hotel came t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beanie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana M, Director de Recepción at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Dear Beanie. Thank You for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Mediterrnáneo. We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our location, cleanliness and staff. We will think about the problem of the pizzas and what else could we offer in stead of pizza. It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again. With kind regards, Eva Gomez - Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Been staying here on both business and pleasure for last few years. Ana and the team are amazing and really take a genuine interest in you as people and not just paying customers. Cannot recommend highly enough!! Rooms are clean and breakfast is varied with opportunity to sit by the pool and eat at your own pace...

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana M, Director de Recepción at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Dear Mr Price, thank you for your nice review and we try always to make the best for our guests. Hope to see you again. Warmest regards from all the hotel staff. Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We stayed there for a four nights stay. The room was spacious, clean and confortable with all the amenities you would expect in a 4 star place. The rest of the hotel is also very nice and clean. The breakfast had a good selection of products and well presented, it was also possible to sit outside and eat by the pool. We arrived at 11pm on our first night after a very long journey but were not able to eat there as they were closing the restaurant. On the second night, the pool was closing early because of a wedding and the restaurant was moved to the bar for residents. The waiting staff were doing their best to serve customers as quickly as possible but having to trek to the other side of the building to reach the kitchen was not easy. The next night, we expected to be seating in the restaurant but dinner was served again in the bar. This was ok but did get busy and cramped. We had half-board and had to chose from two 3 course meals every night. The food wasn't exceptional but ok and well presented.
The restaurant/bar staff were very friendly, helpful and pleasant. The reception staff however, did answer our questions but didn't go out of their way to be helpful.
The hotel is situated in Castelldefels Plaja and can easily reached by train from Barcelona airport but it's important to get off at the "Plaja" stop as it's only 5 minutes from the hotel.
This part of Castelldefels is very quiet as it is a residential area, there are not many tourists and mainly locals going to the beach. You will find a few bars and restaurants along the main road but don't go there if you like partying.
The beach is just across the road and is nice and clean.
I would go there again

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulu72S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvGomez01, Director de Recepción at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear Lulu., We would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comments but also for your useful remarks. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best regards, Eva Gomez-Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Such a pleasant hotel, very helpful friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. It's in a great location for the beach, train station and restaurants. Our room was a little tired but kept clean and tidy and we didn't spend much time in it. The breakfast was always fresh and plenty to choose from, and the couple of meals we had from the resturant were good.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arubatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvGomez01, Director de Recepción at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Arubatravel. Thank you for your wonderful review and for your score of 5/5. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. It will be a pleasure to host you again in future. With best regards, Eva Gomez- Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelldefels hotels
2.9 km away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#2 of 17 in Castelldefels
843 reviews
2.5 km away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
0.4 km away
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Gran Hotel Rey Don Jaime
#3 of 17 in Castelldefels
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
Ibis Barcelona Castelldefels
#1 of 17 in Castelldefels
459 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Playafels
Hotel Playafels
#12 of 17 in Castelldefels
277 reviews
1.2 km away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#4 of 17 in Castelldefels
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Passeig Martitim 294, 08860 Castelldefels, Spain (Formerly Best Western Mediterraneo)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Castelldefels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castelldefels
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Castelldefels
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castelldefels
Price Range: $126 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo Hotel Castelldefels
Best Western Castelldefels
Castelldefels Best Western
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo Castelldefels, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing