We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good but not 5 star by a long way.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good but not 5 star by a long way.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just returned from a very good holiday in Playa Blanca staying at the Princess Yaiza. Its our families (2 adults 1 teen and one child) second time staying at this hotel and this year we were joined by 2 more adults and 1 teen from our immediate family. There is no question the hotel is a very good one but there are too many negatives from our experience for this hotel to be regarded as 5 star. We arrived on a morning flight on a package through sovereign holidays to find out that we had to wait 2 hours for our room to be ready without an offer of somewhere to shower or freshen up after our journey. When we finally did get our room the hotel mislaid our baggage for a further hour. Room was OK but the toilet seat was half hanging off its hinges and the hand rail on the bath was broken. Not what you would expect from a high class hotel. 4 out of 7 of us contracted ear infections that we could only conclude came from the pool (we only used the heated freshwater pool). Service was slow in the bars and on occasion we over heard rather rude comments made in Spanish towards us and others in the lobby bars. mmmm again not at what one would expect. However! The food was excellent although very very expensive and the rest of the hotel is to the expected standard. Its superbly situated and offers plenty to do for the kids and adults alike.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank underestimated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,291
    700
    225
    72
    36
See reviews for
1,417
1,390
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kilkenny, ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have just returned from our 10th visit to the Princesa Yaiza Suite hotel, I always looked forward to my stay here, but this time i was very disappointed, I always book early, so that we get a nice room, and always get upgraded, this time because there was a mess up with the system we were given a room overlooking the carpark!!. After kicking up a fuss we got a room overlooking the pool, but it was next to a noisey set of stairs!! Im sure they could have done better! We also noticed towels in our bathroom with holes in them and a torn dressing gown! Ig this was my first visit to this hotel i dont think i would be returning, i know the hotel was busy, but that is no excuse for a 5 star hotel to treat their regulars so shoddy, or anyone staying there for that matter, this is one of the most expensive hotels on the island to stay in, and after this stay, i would only say it was a 4 star, I am strongly thinking of staying somewhere else when i return in january.!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaymarrow31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Wonderful atmosphere, excellent greeting (champers and orange juice) beautiful rooms and a salt water pool. Very clean. Child was sick in the childrens spa - immediately closed until it had ben dealt with. Food was outstanding in choice and quality - try the miniature desserts, lovely! We are planning a return visit in 2012 for longer this time (friends wedding?)

Room Tip: 6XX rooms are high up and have brilliant views. Wifi less good up there though
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miweday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

So I wanted a sun holiday to celebrate a special birthday, just me and hubbie. We wanted to relax and not worry about getting a car - so ideally everything had to be a short walk away!!! Oh my god, this location, this hotel was just PERFECT!

There really isnt nothing negative say about this hotel/loaction. I researched it on Trip Advisor and was happy enough with what I read to go for it. It's a bit more money than what I would normally spend - but boy was it worth it. We went B&B and on arrival we were upgraded to a suite. I did contact the hotel beforehand and ask for a quiet room and thats exactly what we got :)

The staff are friendly and most speak good English, so no problems with communication.

The suite was spacious with a large bath and shower, two sinks and a toilet. The living area had a flat screen and two sofas, the corrider had a kitchen area with a sink and fridge, which was small but perfectly formed. We had a balcony, the view wasnt great but it was quiet which is what we asked for. The bed was huge and could fit my immediate family in, it was very comfy with black out curtains.

Breakfast was fantastic, there were two breaky rooms, with loads of delights for all - cereals, toast, hams, cheese, fry-ups, cold sausages, juices, fruit, pastries, the works, we ate well every morning with no room for lunch....every morning we looked forward to breakfast.

The grounds are lovely - there are several pools though we only used one...they are very well maintained and managed. Nice to know they dont like the quests to hog the sun beds, though there are many to go around for all. They have a system whereby on arrival you have a card, this card then gets swapped for a towel, this towel can be swapped for clean one anytime or taken out of the premises, maybe to the beach nearby...when you return the towel at the end of the day you get a card back, ready for the next day :) Very civil and works very well!!!

We ate at one restaurant on the premises, the italian, and it was perfect :o) I would have gone back for sure but only stayed 7 nights and wanted to venture out as well as in the hotel.

There are two "ports" as you leave the hotel through the back court yard;turn right and there are a lot of restaurants....they are more or less along the second smaller beach, but dont be afraid to walk there, it isnt far at all, about 10mins stroll, nice to build up an appetite :), turn left and stroll for 10mins that way there are more shops and restaurants nearer the "nice" port.

The beach is clean and perfectly formed, I thought on arrival it was small but on going to a day trip to Fuerteventura we realised we had the best beach - it has toilet facilities on the beach, with a bar where you can have lunch, drinks or ice-cream. For those that like water sports there is plenty to do!

I have never written a review before but felt I had to share my views. Hubbie and I are going back next year - we veery much look forward to as we miss the place already.

Room Tip: we asked for a quiet room and got it, we were upgraded to a suite, even better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsShazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We went the week before Xmas last year 2010 just missing the airport closures (when the snow was bad in the UK). The Hotel is lovely and does feel 5 star (big) and I will be brief;
1) The outdoor pools are unsuitable and no-one was using them Kids won't even get in. None are heated and the sea was warmer (beach really really close) ! We thought it would be Ok with wetsuits on the kids it put a real damper on the whole holiday. Pools should be heated all year round don't let anyone tell you otherwise. There is a kids pool but this is for toddlers or younger.
2) The kids entertainment was the same every night just singing songs and no real effort was put into it any variety.
3) The breakfast facilities are fabulous They do not have pastuerised milk and although we requested it from the manager it took them 3 days to find some even though they sell it on their on site shop. We had to buy our own and bring it to breakfast ! Not acceptable in a 5 Star.
4) The Kids clubs were actually very good and the staff were brilliant.
5) The gym was excellent (I think we were charged but well worth it).

We would not return to this hotel purely on the basis the pools are effectively unsitable (the temp was low 20's and hot) and I can't imagine its any better in the height of Summer due to the size of pools and depth of water

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the other side accessed through the tunnel which was a bit of a trek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.3 km away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
2.2 km away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
12.4 km away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,527 reviews
0.3 km away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
0.2 km away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort

Property: Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Address: Avda. Papagayo, 22, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price range (per night): $249 - $520
Hotel Class:5 star — Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the colonial canaries style, with its traditional, picturesque balconies, and exotic interior tropical, excellent facilities and faultless service, Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort is a welcoming, five-star luxury hotel, conceived to satisfy the most demanding customer by making their stay a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Booking.com so you can book your Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Yaiza Hotel Playa Blanca
Princess Yaiza Lanzarote
Hotel Princesa Yaiza Suite
Princess Yaiza Hotel Lanzarote
Princesa Yaiza Lanzarote
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing