We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,027)
Filter reviews
2,027 results
Traveller rating
1,116
541
254
65
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,116
541
254
65
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el volcan piano bar privilege restaurant privilege room salt water a la carte restaurants dolce vita buffet restaurant half board privilege package privilege guest guest relations lovely hotel main building mikes coffee shop sea view branded drinks
Filter
Updating list...
911 - 916 of 2,027 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Me and my family returned from a week's half board stay here on Friday, for a double birthday celebration. On arrival I must say I was amazed by how beautiful the hotel was, and even more impressed when I was greeted with champagne and a biscuit. We had upgraded to superior rooms and were taken by buggy with our bags to our room. Our room was lovely and clean and the sunbeds on the terrace were a nice touch. Overall my holiday was great, just a few pointers would have made it perfect, as there is always room for improvement. Travelling with a child of 12 and seeing the amount of children there, I think a bit more child friendly food in the buffer restaurant would have been better, as only one night chicken nuggets were on the menu. The only meal we had to pay for was lunch and we chose to use the snack bar, where the food was very tasty but very overpriced for what it was, €4.50 for 3 chicken wings. Also the boutique could probably do with better variety of food/drink and being a bit more reasonably priced, with there not being many shops/supermarkets close bye. Finally we were surprised that we were not allowed to pay for drinks and snacks with cash, and everything having to go on a tab, this wasn't clear on booking the holiday. Overall the hotel and staff made my dad's 50th and my birthday very special so thank you, and the recent refurbishment had fabulous results.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank stacey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear stacey w,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at H10 Rubicón Palace. It is a pleasure to receive your nice comments about our hotel. The special mention to our staff team is very valued since they make a great effort and with no the hotel wouldn't be the same without them. For sure, your different comments and notifications will be taken into account carefully, in order to improve, since the main goal of the hotel is to offer better experiences each season, increasing the guests’ satisfaction and having even better quality standards.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in the future, in order to provide you excellent holidays and memories! We would like to see if we deserve an even higher rating next time with all the improvements done.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

We stayed at the Rubicon Palace during November 2017 and had a wonderful time.

Check in:
Upon arrival we only waited around 10 minutes to check in and found the girl behind the desk very friendly and professional.

Room:
We stayed in room 4024 which had recently been renovated and have a nice balcony with sea views. The room itself was very spacious with more than enough storage room. If you want to use the in room safe then remember to ask for a key when you check in.

Food & Drink:
Breakfast - Plenty of choice and the food was hot unlike some other buffets at other hotels we've stayed at. I especially enjoyed the cooked to order crepes. Unlike other reviewers we never had any problems getting coffee from the wait staff who were all friendly. One piece of advice might be for more people to utilise the nespresso machines.

Lunch & Dinner - Like at breakfast there was plenty of choice with different food being available each day.

On our first morning we queued for 5 minutes to book into the specialty restaurants. We only went to the Italian and the Steakhouse and we both really enjoyed the meals at both restaurants.

Sports pub:
We enjoyed a few drinks in here each night after our evening meal. Bar staff were very friendly and professional. Inside there are several TVs showing a mix of music and sport. The football was mainly Spanish games but we did watch a Premier league game one night.

Mikes coffee shop:
This was a relaxing place to sit and enjoy a coffee. The wife enjoyed her daily iced cappuccino.

Check out:
When it came time to check out there was quite a large queue but luckily we had given ourselves plenty of time before our airport transfer arrived. One suggestion to free up the queues would be to have people get their towels from the activity centre rather than reception.

We would have no hesitation in recommending the Rubicon Palace to other people and look forward to returning again in the future. In fact we've already booked to come back in April for an early 10 year wedding anniversary and would love to stay in the same room again if possible.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank bondphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear bondphil,

First of all, thank you very much for trusting H10 Rubicón Palace to spend your holidays and thank you for the time you took to share an opinion with all of us through Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to know that our hard work has paid off and that you were satisfied with all our services and facilities. Furthermore, the fact that you would recommend us proves we are doing the right thing and therefore enhances our motivation to reach our goals in order to keep on fulfilling your wishes. Regarding your enquiry about wanting to stay in the same room next time you come, we kindly ask you to send us an email (contact details are found in our website) in order to meet your expectations more accurately. With this being said, we are already looking forward to your next visit in april and wish you all best!

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Just home from a great week at the hotel, great service from start to finish! We were originally booked for half board but decided to upgrade to AI on the second day, looking at the prices we knew we would certainly get our value from this. Gorgeous room, lucky to get refurbished room with sea view. In block 81 so well positioned. Food was delicious in the buffet across all meal times, sometimes food slightly cool and could be warmed better. Generally ate in the pool bar for food- again great variety and delicious but slightly cold. Staff were excellent however they were far too busy- definitely more staff needed to help clear tables, bring more drinks, clear plates. Staff were always friendly and helpful but just far too busy! Hotel grounds gorgeous - walked into playa Blanca which was a nice walk but would advise taxi back for €5. Sun beds were plentiful however slightly uncomfortable- for hotel rating I would have preferred cushioned sun beds like the Iberostar offers. Would definitely love to return to the hotel and advise Anyone to upgrade to AI for the extra €36 per person per night.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank JYD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear JYD16,

Thank you very much for your trust in H10 Rubicón Palace and for sharing your kind words on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to know you have been satisfied with the different services the hotel has to offer. Your comments about the lack of staff and the uncomfortable sunbeds are very valued since our goal is to improve and offer better services each season. We are sure our readers and our future guests will be thankful to read all your nice tips about how to get to Playa Blanca in order to make the most out of their stay. We are looking forward to seeing soon!

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

On first impressions cannot fault this hotel,reception area,grounds and the bar are fantastic. We stayed for a week half board at the far end of the complex next to the block being refurbished,not ideal and sometimes the noise wasn't appealing but it wasn't at ludicrous times so we managed. Room itself was very spacious with everything required, the shower sometimes took ages to heat up in the evening and this room had had a recent lick of paint but was very tired,def not 5 star standard of the rest of the lovely hotel. Often the do not disturb sign was ignored or blew off so housekeeping was sometimes a surprise!The buffet restaurants were more than adequate such a large selection,we tried the themed restaurants,the steakhouse was awful poor quality food,the chicken burger didn't seem like real meat!however the Italian restaurant was fantastic,book early for any of these though. The staff were extremely accommodating and friendly including going out of their way to help someone unwell just outside the hotel grounds.overall good experience just few improvements required for that 5 star luxurious feel

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Karla B,

First of all, thank you for sharing your opinion in TripAdvisor. I greatly appreciate all the comments about the hotel, restaurants, room, that you gave to us and despite the minor tweaks required during your stay, you were still able to have a lovely one. We can guarantee you, that we will take everything into consideration. We really regret you didn’t contact our Guest Relations team in order to track your stay and to make it more enjoyable, since it is the department in charge of looking after any kind of non satisfactory notification. We have the feeling that many of your different comments could have been easily solved by our teams. Our main target is to make sure you enjoy your holidays. The special mention to our staff team is very valued since they make a great effort and with no doubt the hotel wouldn’t be the same without them.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in the future, in order to provide you excellent holidays and memories! We would like to see if we deserve an even higher rating next time with all the improvements done.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We (hubby and two boys now 6&8) have stayed in the H10 Gardens, H10 Princess and now this week (Feb13-19) we are in the Rubicon Palace. All of them are family friendly- but if you need a kitchenette then stay in the H10 Gardens- otherwise I think the Rubicon is the nicest and has the best location for people who don’t mind being a little away from the busy resort.
We arrived as “Privilege” guests- check in was quick but I was a bit concerned that my request for a 1st floor room was ignored- the lady did say if we didn’t like the room to come back. The room was 9717 - it had a sea view and west facing-and would have been perfect for a couple but TINY for a family of four- I went straight back to reception and she said she could upgrade us to a privilege junior suite, two days later, I said yes even though it’s very disruptive to have to pack up and move and not have any room for a few hours- moral of the story , book a Junior Suite if you are a family- the new room 9728 is PERFECT and I will most DEFINITELY come back to this hotel if I can get this or a similar room, it’s HUGE!
I have read through the other reviews and from them you will get an honest account of the hotel. There is no 100% perfect place but the Rubicon has some great attributes 1. Location on the sea front. 2. Large hotel grounds nicely landscaped. 3. Privilege Junior Suites that are large and spacious. 4. Food that is definitely better than similar “all inclusive” 3 or 4 Star.
I would recommend it for both couples and especially families. The kids pool was heated and the boys loved the slides.
We stayed half board because we always rent a car and go exploring- a MUST if you are adventurous- Lanzarote is a beautiful island- the Malpais, or volcanic lava fields - have lots of “off piste “ trails that are suitable for kids (over 5/6 I’d say) - if you’re from Northern Europe and are sick of green fields and mud then the barren and lunar-esque Badlands provide an alien landscape to explore. The beaches of Papagayo and the amazing beaches near Orzola, as well as numerous other stunning sites, are all worth a look.
I look forward going back!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank sophiejuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear sophiejuno,

Thank you for giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to read you have been very satisfied with the hotel and the services and facilities we provide. Your comments about our hotel as well as the island are very appreciated. We are glad to know you enjoyed the room provided and that the whole family had a good stay. We are glad to know you found the Privilege Service well worth. We have very good feedback coming from the guests regarding that service, since it's adding an even more full experience of the stay at the hotel with all the benefits it has.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews