We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,614)
Filter reviews
3,615 results
Traveller rating
933
1,178
754
356
394
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
933
1,178
754
356
394
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dino park water park free bus chinese buffet pool bar thomas cook staff great holiday family holiday kids club animation team evening entertainment self service soft drinks mini disco life guards plenty of choice salad
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 3,615 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Just got home from a brilliant holiday at Paradise island! Every holiday has certain things that will bother people and I understand that but you get what you pay for. The views are also amazing!! Such a pretty country

Our room was a ground floor room (travelled with a 5 year old and a 3 month old) downsides... we had ants however I spoke to reception who quickly sent someone down with spray and happily left it with us. We did see cockroaches however they didn’t enter the room so didn’t matter. The only downside to this room is no bath, with a baby it can be a bit irritating trying to shower them so if you are travelling with an infant bare this in mind, it is doable but awkward :).
Good points... the room is very spacey! Our bed was massive! A 5 year old and 2 adults could fit without knocking each other in our sleep! We were provided with a cot for the baby which in my opinion was a perfect travel cot, although had it not been I would’ve been happy to ask to swap.

Pools, the pools here seem deceiving in the pictures however it does not take away the fact they are good albeit slightly cold! The Dino park was perfect for a child with one downside of slippery floor when your feet were wet however this isn’t the case at the big pool! Plenty of sun beds so no need to reserve (even though people did)
Too many inflatables in the big pool and too many left unattended which could be watched a bit better when there are little ones playing.

Food... I honestly cannot fathom why people think the food is bad, unless they were slightly unlucky! We had a different variety each day, pork, chicken, plenty of fish available, chips, a children’s section, every meal was lovely! The themed restaurant could be improved as we only remember seeing two options however I believe there is 3! If you go have the pizza and kebab it is delicious!!
There’s no waste either, which is great when it comes to helping the environment.

Staff were friendly although did not need much interaction, downside in reception is the bar, this could either be manned better as the queues in the evening were extremely long and annoying when your used to helping yourself although plenty of choices on the all inclusive!

Onsite supermarket was good especially if you wanted an inflatable as they provided the air on site.

Overall a brilliant holiday and I would definitely go back! No complaints for what we paid for!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Gerente at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Kate C,

We are delighted to find out that you were satisfied with the choice of our hotel as you found here the perfect place for your holiday.

From all the staff of HL Paradise Island we are looking forward to welcoming you back so you can have a great holiday again.

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in Oct 18. 3 adults and a 3 yr old son. There were some pro’s and con’s with this hotel.
Pro’s -
*fantastic pools especially the Dino park as my boy loved it.
*friendly staff and visitors.
*english visitors were very lovely, all the children played together.
*free bus service to the beach
*thomas cook rep jo was very informative.
Con’s-
*the food!!!!!! Just awful! really really disappointing as could be so much better - everything was cold!
*ants in the room - the reception staff gave us ant spray to use
*pool area around the dino park is very slippery.
*pool bar food is awful too. Cold and too many people touching the food. Infection control issues. Children also unsupervised which causes more mess
*all drinks are watered down!

Overall the hotel is good for children but certainly no where near a 4 star.
The weather was brilliant and playa Blanca beach is beautiful! There are plenty of eating places which are cheap enough to have a decent hot meal outside the hotel.

I won’t be returning to this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Gerente at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Jennifer B,

We would like to thank you for your review on our your stay in HL Paradise Island.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoyed your entire stay in our hotel but we are happy to read that you enjoyed the pools and staff.

Your feedback is important for us and we will verify every detail mentioned and do our best to improve constantly. Regarding the food we have an international restaurant and a theme restaurant, this gives many variety so there should be always something for everone.

Once again we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your entire stay in the hotel.

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Spent 7 nights here end of sept/start of Oct. Great time with two young children (1 & 3), slides were brilliant and pool area was large, clean and tidy. Likely wouldn’t be enough to keep older children busy and the resort itself is relatively small but beach area was again clean and had selection of shops/restaurants to visit - not practical to walk but bus provided for free.
Good view from volcano beside hotel, bout 20-30 min walk to the top then same again around the summit. Bring decent shoes as there is loose rocks.
Minor niggles, would recommend some basic maintenance (painting and some lights out) around the grounds. Food selection was slightly repetitive but standard was fine and overall range of options was good.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Main complaint relates to Friday night entertainment. Disco held in the pool area instead of the usual location underneath the pool bar. This was significantly loud (our apartment was beside the pool area) and went on until 1am. Thankfully only once per week but if you think this may be an issue request a room further away from pool area.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank mrmasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Gerente at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Mrmasty,

We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us.

We take note of your comments regarding the friday night entertainment and will discuss this internally.

We hope we can welcome you back in of one of our hotels in the future.

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here in the first week of October, the weather was great as the locals said it was a mini heat wave, the hotel is spacious, clean and tidy, the pools are plenty big, the food is nice, buffet style for all meals, we always found something to our liking, chicken, turkey, pork, fish or beef, the drinks selection is ok, beer is Amstel, lots of choices for kids drinks, the hotel itself is about 2km from the nearest bars or restaurants (we went one night) for a change, air-conditioning, pool towels and TV remote can be rented for €60 which you get back when your checking out, the highlight of the hotel is dinopark the water park on the hotel site, as October is well out of season the water slides were ques free, just climb up, slide and repeat no waiting which was great, and the kids section has lots for them as well slides, swings, climbing frames, football courts, tennis etc. All in all we had a lovely holiday and would highly recommend for families with young kids

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank paul07hegarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Gerente at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Paul07hegarty,

Thank you for taken the time to share your experience with us about HL Paradise Island.

We are pleased to hear that you and the children had a great holiday and that they enjoyed the Waterpark, food, the rooms and the pools.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again so you can have a wonderful fantastic holiday again.

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We stayed here in August for 12 days. The hotel was busy but that didn't stop the restaurant managers taking the time to walk me and my 7yr old son through both restaurants and give us a clear "yes" or "no" to all the food available. We had a milk and soya allergy and I was amazed that there was so much he was able to eat at lunch and dinner. There wasn't a lot at breakfast on the counter, but we had specially cooked pancakes (that were lovely) every morning. Deserts on an evening were mostly milk (as expected) but we had specially prepared jelly and any of the fruits on offer. A special shout-out to Emilio, Pascal and Kevin (sorry if I spelled these wrong) for looking after us so well, it really did make the holiday perfect. The Thomas Cook rep was also very helpful. I would highly recommend you go to the welcome speech that Jo holds, she clearly states if there is anything that might make you think it's less than a top star review then let her or the hotel know and they'll fix it, because they want you to have a top-rated holiday. They stuck to this no end; every minor issue was resolved quickly and with a smile. I would also recommend to anyone that wants to stream on your phone/ipad/laptop to go with the small fee for the priority wi-fi, it was faultless.

Room Tip: get top floor room, ground 'might' get cockroach (which is a common unavoidable pest) wander in. Hotel sort asap if you call them.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Gerente at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Lee S,

Thank you for staying with us in HL Paradise Island.

We are pleased to read that you had a fantastic holiday and that you enjoyed the resort and his facilities, the staff and the food. Regarding the allergy options we are very pleased we were able to help you as it is important for us that everyone is pleased and can eat all meals.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again so you can have a wonderful holiday again.

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews