We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
80
171
126
31
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
171
126
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con pool area scrambled eggs and bacon nice reception area the main strip minute walk yogurt snack bar mini fridge restaurants and bars sea view great pool within easy walking distance short break quiet end hotel bar stunning beach
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We stayed at the luar hotel week commencing the 13th June the room was fine if a little dated but by far the biggest problems were the fridge and the air con firstly the fridge it was that noisy that we had to switch it off every night because the noise was an unbearable whining but the air con was horrendous with the units being outside on the balcony the noise was unbearable the nice people in the room above us felt the need to keep it on all night resulting in us having practically no sleep with the constant vibrating of the unit you had to sleep with the doors closed to save your sanity when venturing onto the balcony during the early hours to get some air you were aware of the number of people who were also being kept awake .the breakfasts were edible but we resorted to buying fruit from the fruit seller in town to have with the breakfast to make it a bit more interesting it was a real shame because the location is stunning really close to the resort

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view rooms
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank merlinStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Hotel itself & public areas very nice.
Pool lovely.
Location great - by beach, restaurants & walking distance to strip. Lots of nice little shops. That's where the good points end...

Breakfast....choice awful. Worst breakfast i have ever had abroad. Exactly the same cheap & tasteless choice every day. NO fruit. NO salad vegs like tomatoes or cucumber either. NO yoghurt. Fruit juices were just disgusting watery squashes. Only 'hot' food was runny scrambled eggs & practically raw bacon every single day. Both cold, yuck & inedible. We gave up & had to go out for breakfast. An added cost of £150 to our holiday that we hadnt envisaged. If they offered room only there would be nobody at breakfast! Amount of waste on tables says it all.

Sort it out please Management!!!! All reviews on here mention the breakfast being bad. Please listen to your guests! I note there's no response to any of the reviews on here, so I guess they don't care unfortunately.

Room....dated but comfortable. Beds good. Aircon absolutely atrocious. As powerful as a gnats breathe. No full length mirror in room at all. 1 electrical socket nowhere near the mirror. No kettle or hairdryer in room either. Can ask at reception but only limited supply. The room safe is like something from the last century & you have to pay for use of it at €7.50 a week.
As others have said, fridge really noisy & ancient. If your room is on the street side you will be woken at 6.45am by the man with the leaf blower & his coordinating sweeper van. Soooo noisy!

Definitely need to spend some money on the place. Rusty dangerous umbrellas by pool. Sunbeds are diabolical. Big dip in the middle. Cant get off them in a ladylike fashion! Light switches in room loose on walls. Light on balcony broken. Patio doors dont lock.

Could do with some info posted around or in the room about local activities, markets etc as nothing. Staff not very helpful when asking. All staff quite miserable to be honest. Customer service needs looking at!

Hotel cafe nice but very expensive. €3.50 for a tiny portion of fries. No happy hour or entertainment to encourage guest spending. Their loss.

Would i return? Maybe if they do something about all the above. Especially the revolting breakfast!

Real shame, as hotel has so much potential.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank GeeGee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

This hotel really needs an overhaul.
There is only one person on reception so (if you are polite) you wait in a queue for 10 mins to speak to someone - meanwhile everyone else loses patience and queue jumps (& the receptionist lets them!)
At check in time, after the 10 min compulsory wait at reception, I was given the key to my room - the room had not been cleaned at all, the beds were not even made. I went back to reception (waited 10 mins) and was told it would be given priority. While I waited, I noticed others complaining their rooms were not ready - guess what - they were Portuguese and were given priority. After an hour and a half waiting, I insisted on getting the key - it does not take an hour and a half to clean a room - their standard of cleanliness is not that good. There is mould and grime in the bathroom and a sticky 30 year old film over every piece of furniture in the hotel and that includes the pool which had a grime line around all of the tiles.
Breakfast was poor being cold fatty bacon, cold scrambled eggs and as much bread as you can eat.
WIFI is only in the lobby (and poor at that)
Only good thing is the location - stay here only if you can avoid touching or eating anything and dont mind wasting half your holiday standing in a queue!.

Room Tip: Side Sea view isnt worth it unless you are in the rooms closest to the sea (& you wont know until you arrive).
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank practicallady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Have just come home from our holiday, having spent 10 nights at the Hotel Luar. It's 3 stars and you obviously don't expect luxury. It was a pleasant stay, but no more...I'll list the minus points first: The pillows were not pleasant, small, and the kind where the filling is lots of small pieces of foam, so very 'lumpy' and uncomfortable. If you have any kind of bad back / neck, you will find that the support awarded you by these pillows is hugely inadequate! The fridge is VERY noisy and we turned it off every night and placed a small towel to soak up defrosting ice/water. the Aircon is outdated and also noisy so we were unable to have it on during the night. Our room was at the back (street side) and on the 2. floor so the seemingly incessant noise from the street kept us awake/woke us up on a regular basis. All 3 reception staff we met and bar staff (except one young man) seemed incapable of a smile for some reason and on occasion appeared almost rude and acted as if we were an inconvenience rather than paying guests. We are pretty used to travelling and also used to hotels, and we are pretty friendly reasonable people so this is not being written by a couple of moaning complainers, but the hotel needs to buck up their ideas a little on the concept of customer service. There are signs everywhere telling you what you mustn't do, eg. take any food out of the breakfast room (you'll be asked to pay 10 Euros if you do it says) You are not allowed to consume any food, snacks or beverages brought from your room by the pool or elsewhere other than your room (you need to buy this at the snack bar which as far as food and snacks are concerned, is over-priced) The breakfast has been mentioned by so many others, so just add to it yourself, go to Spar and buy some fruit and yoghurts etc to spruce it up a bit unless you thrive on a virtual carb-feast. Pool is lovely - beach loungers (the yellow ones) need an urgent update as well as the almost lethal parasols! The positives are without a doubt the location so close to the beautiful beach (where loungers are 5 Euros each) the Pool and the cleanliness (oh, and the Club- sandwiches!) We had a lovely holiday but will in all likelihood not choose the Luar again due to the issues with the rooms mentioned above.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street as there is a lot of noise and very early (6.30am) clanking of machinery (waste collectors?)
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dorte_Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

This hotel is at the quieter end of the resort and very reasonably priced for the position it is in; the cleanliness of the rooms; the helpfulness of the staff; and clean and tidy swimming pool, which is quite large for the size of hotel. Breakfast is the same every day but, plenty available of all provided. Bar staff are very accommodating and, for us, was somewhere for a drink before retiring. All in all we were very pleased with our trip to the Hotel Luar and would recommend to anyone. Plenty of very decent restaurants in the vicinity for lunch and dinner. Safe available for a reasonable charge. No fee for air con.

Room Tip: Rooms 122 - 126 faced west onto a public garden and was very quiet. Shaded in the mornings and received the evening sun.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews