We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2011

A truly unique hotel, set on the cliffs of Praia da Rocha, with a breath-taking view over the beach and a stone-throw away from the shore-line. You will hesitate between the fantastic swimmingpool overlooking the beach and the beach itself, but in the end the poolbar will win and have you trying the snacks and cocktails that make your stay absolutely perfect.
Although the main building goes back to the begining on the 20th century, the hotel has been completely renovated and amplified in 2011 and the result could not have been better: luxurious and refined decorating, excelent and original rooms (in the main building no two rooms are alike and in the adjacent new building you will find connecting rooms which are ideal for families with children as was our case) and a lobby and bar that you will never forget. Ah! and the service lives up to the standard of the Hotel, with friendly and professional staff always available and at hand.I will definately be returning next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aguilarcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 410 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

We were on a busy trip to Spain and Portugal, fitting in as much sight seeing as possible and a few people has suggested going to the beach. Coming from sunny Queensland in Australia, this seemed a little wasteful, but we were soooooo glad we included it. Firstly it gave our sore feet a break from all the cathedrals, museums, etc but secondly it introduced us to a beautiful part of the world. The beach is quite lovely. The highlight was definitely the hotel itself - the rooms are lovely and the views are stunning. The service was excellent and the food was amazing.
The only downside was the poor wi-fi coverage, especially by the pool. We were keen to share our experience with family and friends!
The spa isn't expected to be open until 2012, so this will also be a welcome additon to a place that was certainly worth every second of our "wasted time"!!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have been built to provide some type of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

In busy, crowdy Praia da Rocha (in the summer, at least) there's an oasis of calm and luxury.
You can relax in the beautiful pool or walk to the beach just below the hotel. Beautiful view, beatiful hotel, very nice, polite and helpful personnel.

Room Tip: During high season, beware of rooms with windows turned to the disco "Katedral", if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wellmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed in the Bela Vista Hotel for a weekend and we were truly spoiled and enjoyed every moment of it. The hotel is beautifully decorated, the facilities are excellent, the staff was helpful and made us feel very special. We had the dream get-away weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed here for a week ( 24th September-1st October) and it was a wonderful experience.From the moment we drove through the gates and left the busy street in front of the hotel we felt truly spoilt.This is a destination hotel-don't let the fact that it is in the over commercialised area of Praia Da Rocha put you off.There is direct access from the hotel to the stunning beach below,reception reserve sunbeds on the beach for you and you can take poolside towels down.There are good beach bars and restaurants on the beach and some lovely walks along the seafront..Try to ignore the built up area behind the hotel full of cheap restaurants and bars,but if you want to catch up on sport and enjoy a cheap beer then this is an option!The amazing views of the beach more than make up for the area behind the hotel-this is an oasis Breakfast on the terrace is a wonderful experience and we ate in the restaurant twice for dinner-it is pricey,although they do offer a very reasonable guest menu alongside the main menu,and you get what you pay for,the food is of Michelin star standard-the best we have ever experienced in a hotel.Service is attentive,friendly yet low-key.The pool area is stunning,in fact the design and attention to detail is superb across the entire hotel-an amazing restoration of a beautiful old building with a choice of character rooms in the main building or modern rooms in the new wing-we stayed in a sea view room in the new block and it was gorgeous with a huge bathroom with l'occitane products.In the local area we would recommend turning left out of the front gate and walking for 10 minutes or so until you reach the last of the cheap bars and carry on a few hundred yards to the restaurant All Beef on the right-lovely food and service,or carry on past and visit the local blue and white Portuguese bar/fish restaurant on the left and sit on the terrace for the most amazing sunset views overlooking the beach.Ferragudo a fishing village across the estuary from Portimao is also well worth a visit for fantastic fresh fish restaurants on the harbour.It also has a lovely beach with a couple of nice beach bars and is very unspoilt.Allin all we would highly recommend a stay here at the Bela Vista and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Whitehouseq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.1 km away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,097 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,073 reviews
14.2 km away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
579 reviews
33.1 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,170 reviews
14.1 km away
Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bela Vista Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bela Vista Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: $277 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bela Vista Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Bela Vista has been completely renovated and it's now a 5 star Boutique Hotel with 38 rooms. The restaurant has a unique view and fantastic food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Bela Vista Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bela Vista - Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Bela Vista - Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing