We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Casa Maria - Lovely Villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Maria

Casa Maria Alporchinos
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Maria Alporchinos
Casa Maria Garden Casa Maria Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Casa Maria Alporchinos
Casa Maria Garden
Casa Maria Lounge
Casa Maria Lounge
Casa Maria Garden
Casa Maria Garden
Casa Maria BBQ
Casa Maria Garden
Casa Maria Twin Room
Casa Maria Twin Room
Casa Maria Kitchen
Casa Maria Double Room
Casa Maria Double Room
Casa Maria Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Porches, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
nannieang...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Casa Maria - Lovely Villa”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in September 2017

We have stayed at Casa Maria for 10 days last September.
Casa Maria is a lovely large villa with all mod cons which we enjoyed very much.
The only down-side for us, at our age (we are both 80 and 76 respectively) is that we never drive abroad now because of this, and we found that the villa was in quite a remote area and a car was definitely needed to get about. If we needed to go food shopping there was no shop in walking distance so we had to get a taxi there - do our shopping and get a taxi back. As we both have to have a couple of daily papers every day - even on holiday - it worked out as quite an expensive shopping trip every morning.
There was only 1 restaurant and bar on a nearby complex which we were allowed to use and we also had to use their swimming pool as the one on the Casa Maria complex was shut. For us to be able to go out to eat every evening it was always a taxi job there and back.
For younger people able to walk the half hour walk to the town and beach, this is a superb holiday villa especially for families or people with cars but not for 'Old Fogies' like us. We both have osteo-arthritis with bad backs, and wonky hips and knees and walking long distances are a No-No.
Other than that we would highly recommend Casa Maria and the owner is a very charming Irishman called Kieran who couldn't do enough for us, and his prices are very reasonable

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2018
Hi Ange
I am very happy that you and John enjoyed your stay in Casa Maria. I can understand how you found it difficult to get around in your circumstances. The main supermarket is about 15-20 minutes walk but for you I can see how this would be a difficult journey. The private pool should have been available, the key for it is in the apartment. Sorry about this.
Hopefully you might return again with some friends or family.
Thank you for you kind words.
Kieran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 May 2018
Dear Icefordstables
Many thanks for your wonderful review which is truly appreciated.
I also want to thank you for leaving the apartment in excellent condition on your departure. Kieran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lesc1
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a fab time. Apartment was perfect for 3 adults and 2 kids. Everything you needed for a self catering holiday was provided. Would definitely recommend this apartment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Dear Lesley, thank you for your great review and I am delighted you all enjoyed your stay at Casa Maria. I hope you will book again in the future. Kieran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Many thanks for your kind review. Delighted you had a great time and I hope you will book again soon.
Kieran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara P
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall a very enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Maria is a lovely ground floor apartment situated within reasonable walking distance to local bars, supermarket and beach. On arrival it was fairly easy to locate and collect the keys at Quinta das Figueirinhas, although finding the property was a little more troublesome as we were only directed and not taken, luckily we found somebody who was able to point us in the right direction. The bedrooms and living areas were tidy and clean with plenty of storage, although on closer inspection some of the appliances (fridge and cooker) could have had a more thorough going over. Initially there were three adults in the apartment myself, husband and 18-year-old son, for the last few days we were joined by friends who were to use the sofa bed, we then realised that it was not actually big enough for 2 adults and would suit children better. There could have been more outside furniture at the apartment as 1 of the 2 sun loungers was broken as well as more beds at the well looked after pool area which was just around the corner (I’m aware that this is not the owner’s responsibility) All in all it was a pleasant stay, but would recommend a stay for a maximum of 4 adults or a family with small children. The contact with the owner Kieran was also very good. Thank you and I hope to be able to book again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quietness.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Hi Barbara, thank you very much for your kind review. Sorry about the sun lounger been broken, I was not aware of this. I will ask my house keeper to check this.
All the residents have requested more sun loungers at the pool, hopefully this will be done soon.
The sofa bed is comfy for kids I agree.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will be back again soon. Kieran
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing