We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing desserts”
Review of Van Gogh Restaurant - CLOSED

Van Gogh Restaurant
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Exceptional in every possible way. A hidden treasure. I'll be back. I particularly enjoyed the pan fried chicken a spectacular dish.

Date of visit: October 2015
1  Thank TerryMyers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

I like Van Gogh restaurant because I love the food and the suroundings of it the view is marvellous it's really cool a great experience

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JJBIGGS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I am truly puzzled by the excellent reviews of this restaurant. We found ourselves alone on the night we visited. Weeds strewn all around the large and uneven stone steps into the restaurant. It took two of us to slide the door open enough to get in as the tracks were blocked with debris.

A timid waitress took our orders and we enjoyed the fabulous view. The children went to play in the play area but soon abandoned the neglected area in favour of hide and seek in the large unused areas outside.

We started in true Portuguese style (where they bring breads etc to the table unasked but charge you for) but the only accompaniment was rather smelly and strong packets of fish pate that no one liked on the rather stale bread.

The main courses were reasonable I guess, but the roast meats were of a machine sliced variety common at Christmas work dinners! The 'prawns in a sauce' main dish came with heads and tails attached, pray how do you peel a prawn when it's covered in sauce???

Oh, and avoid the children's 'hamburgers' as they are the horrible proper HAMburgers, you know, like the ones you got at the fairground as a child. Truly inedible.

Maybe our expectations were too high as the restaurant is big, in an incredible location and stylishly named....... but the clincher was.....6 out of the 10 of us had gippy tummies starting the morning following our visit. Bear in mind that the previous three meals we had were home cooked (we are all skilled foodies) so there was no doubt in our minds.

If the guy sat inside at the bar drinking Guinness was the chef/owner I would say, greet your guests and don't leave it to a waitress who looked like she would rather be elsewhere, oh and you might want to give 'Gordon Ramsey' a call because the location and size of your place is close to perfect, but everything else needs work.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank handycrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Staying in a local villa, we decided to try the nearest restaurant - Van Gogh. There were 7 of us in the group. We chose the Portuguese dishes from the menu - chicken pairing pairing & steak Portuguese style. Food was tasty, carrots and beans nice and soft, portions very generous (you might want to ask for smaller portions if you've a small appetite). We chose chicken breast from the kids menu, which was very tasty home cooked food, not frozen packets re-heated. Prices were moderate (12-13 Euros). Deserts were good (profiteroles, gateaux, cheesecake) testified by empty plates!! We drank the house white (8 Euros) which was pleasant and a more cost effective option. There were wine options ranging upto 49 EUR, but house White was fine.
We would eat there again

Play area could do with updating but this was not a priority for our visit.

View from the table across the countryside to Villamoura & Albufiera was delightful

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DOakesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Amazing views, and thats it... Very poor quality food, the "roast" lamb tasted of, er, well nothing . Roast potatoes? Nope, boiled potatoes fried in the chip pan, carrots and green beans boiled into a total submission of taste It was all so greasy tasting.The price was cheap, but if you want any semblance of quality give this place a very wide berth.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
10  Thank psuljohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Van Gogh Restaurant also viewed

Boliqueime, Faro District
 
Boliqueime, Faro District
Boliqueime, Faro District
 
Boliqueime, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing