We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 242
USD 190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Mangiacane(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)
USD 298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa I Barronci(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)(Great Value!)
USD 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Fonte del Machiavelli(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)(Great Value!)
USD 120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acquapietra Guesthouse(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)(Great Value!)
USD 127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Sant'Andrea(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)
USD 126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tenuta Il Corno(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)
USD 132
USD 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Art(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)(Great Value!)
USD 98
USD 94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Villa il Poggiale Dimora Storica(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)
USD 169
USD 161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Castello di Gabbiano(San Casciano in Val di Pesa)
USD 314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
63
14
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
14
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect stayliving roombeautiful locationcastleviewsvilla
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This was a perfect place to stay for seeing Florence and the Tuscany area. Easy access by car to all the " must see" sites.
The apartment was lovely. In one of the old farm houses on the castle grounds. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was there during a heat wave so the pool with a stunning view of the Chianti hills, was very much appreciated. As was
the wine and olive oil produced on site which can be purchased.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEWhitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This is the second time we've stayed here and will be returning for a third.

We stayed in the actual castle in one of the apartments. It's grand, large and has great views. Whilst you gain a sense of history in the apartment you lose out slightly on some of the comfort that the other houses offer.

We had no shower or aircon and the kitchen was tiny without washing machine. All of the above are available in the other places within the grounds which we only discovered because a whole group of us were staying spread across various rooms.

Breakfast I would give a miss - it was €10 per person and not worth it! Some cheese/ham and bread with a few cereals and yoghurts - most annoying of all was a very friendly man (you think at first) who, once you sit down, just sits and stares at you watching your every move in silence which makes for a very odd and unpleasant experience.

It's hard to fault such a beautiful setting. The staff in reception are super friendly and helpful; the pool is perfect; the grounds are stunning be it for BBQ or drinks and the views and sunsets from the grassy area outside the main castle are sublime.

In terms of location it's perfect. 30min drive to Florence, 45mins to Pisa and less than 20mins before you hit the Chianti region and all the villages that has to offer. San Donato for dinner or Castellina in Chianti for lunch are all must-do's.

The only suggestions would be for the rooms to be cleaned daily/towels replaced etc and maybe better tv's. What hotel, castle or not, doesn't at least have flat screen tv's and satellite these days?

We have been twice in July now and have been ravaged by mosquitoes so be warned!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

My wife and I had a reservation for 2 nights, then extended for a 3rd and then a 4th. Castello di Bibbione is a bit more expensive than other agriturismos in Chianti, but the peaceful, rustic luxury of the place is well worth it in my opinion. We stayed in Casa Erta, which is like a subterranean time capsule from the 12th century, with modern amenities like a Jacuzzi tub, satellite TV and a full kitchen. The grounds include an infinity-edge pool with a view to the Tuscan hills and a large outdoor terrace for dining. We took the breakfast one morning, and while 10EUR is high for a breakfast, it was worth it once for the homemade ciabatta and local honey. We missed the castle tour, which I regret dearly, but we did attend the wine tasting; I highly recommend both.

Room Tip: Check website to help choose room.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

When we arrived at the Villa it was more wonderful than we expected. The grounds are so beautiful it is like a fairy tale setting and our Villa was wonderful! The staff was gracious and helped us with all our questions and needs. I would come back here again and have already recommended it to a friend.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulubliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

My partner and I planned a very last minute trip to Tuscany and Il Castello di Bibbione was able to accommodate us on short notice. We initially requested two nights but ended up staying a third, we were enjoying our trip and stay so much. They gave us 20% off the posted prices as well. We stayed in la Quercia, which was more than big enough for we two and our two cats (animals accepted!). The apartment was clean, cosy and charming. All equipped and we had everything we needed, even coffee. The only disappointment was that breakfast is not included in the price, and at 10 EUR, we decided to get breakfast elsewhere. In December, there were very few clients so the estate was very tranquil and relaxed - just what we needed! We took several walks around the estate and through the countryside; just gorgeous. Ask about an Etruscan tomb further up the hill. The staff were very nice and helpful. They spoke English, French and Spanish - communication was not a problem. We stupidly left our boots at the apartment and they kindly shipped them to us. We also purchased products from their farm - two bottles of wine and a bottle of olive oil for approximately 35 EUR. They also threw in a pot of blackberry jam for free because these were about to expire (we could have taken as many pots as we wanted, actually). The location is excellent, with Firenze and Siena 30-45 minutes away by car, and not far from San Casciano, a small village. We enjoyed our stay and I hope we can return sometime.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalalaVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews