We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place makes RCI in Italy look bad...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cala Corvino Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Monopoli
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Pros:
Good view of the Adriatic Sea
Pool was close
Terrace View was descent
The male bartender was a real sweetheart

Cons:
No wifi in rooms
Not very accessible to town
Front reception customer service was a joke
The showers were SUPER small; as big as the kitchen was; (like tiny house nation)

The location of the resort is good in that it is just off the motorway but it is impossible to go anywhere without going in a car as there are no nearby bars or restaurants, there is a large Lidl supermarket down the road but again the car was needed. Fortunately for us walking was not a problem. Local transportation was terrible; there was only 1 bus every hour. The citywide "siesta" is from 1:30pm (13:00) to 6:30pm (18:30).

We stayed here for less than a week because we were trying to find ways to leave, and were successful. We stayed on an Interval International Time-share. We were surprised this would be considered a RCI property. Even RCI's lowest star rated accommodations are better than this place. The quality and equipment in the apartment was far below usual time-share standards. Whilst we were there, there was no in room wifi except in the bar area and near the reception desk.. Kitchen facilities were very poor, only a standard 4 burner gas range which were temperamental in lighting. There was no microwave and no iron or ironing board.. When we arrived the first day, there was an infestation of ants. The pilot for the hot water was not lit thus the first night we had to take ICE COLD showers after traveling nearly 36 hours.

Most of the resort seemed to be closed,and a lot of work being done to get the resort open for the summer. Halfway during our stay, the resort became filled with a couple of hundred Italian teenagers, who had taken over the place with loud music being played late into the evenings, - fortunately we left before they did.

All in all I wouldn't recommend this resort unless it has an extreme makeover and people who care a little bit more about the people they are serving.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with 4 friends
1 of 5 stars Value
2 of 5 stars Location
3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality (only reason is because there was a breeze off the water and made for chilly sleeping at night. it was GREAT!
1 of 5 stars Rooms
2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
2 of 5 stars Service

Room Tip: Don't choose this place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CJacques05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luciano M, Direttore at Cala Corvino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2015

Dear guest,
we have taken good note of your comments and are truly sorry you did not feel attended enough. We are sorry for your experience with the bus service; our hotel is just 4 km from the city center and the “citywide siesta” is from 1:00 pm to 4:30 pm only in coldest season. Corvino resort follows the time-share standards and you can find every features and kitchen facilities on RCI web site. About the infestation of ants, Corvino Resort is surrounded by nature, so these things can happen.
We work daily to provide the best possible service and we are renovating all the rooms.
We truly regret to read on TripAdvisor that you did not feel welcome or taken care off. My door is always open and I would have been happy to address any complaint you may have had when you were with us.
Yours sincerely,
Luciano Mastrangelo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for a week on an Interval International Time-share. The quality and equipment in the apartment was far below usual time-share standard. Whilst we were there, there was no wifi . Kitchen facilities were very poor, only a standard 4 burner gas hob, no kettle or microwave and something we also take for granted now is a hair-dryer which again was missing. Something which has not been mentioned is that to use the swimming pool you must wear a swimming cap! We did walk to the nearby beach one day but it is not an easy walk and the smell of the drains was very overpowering and quite off putting. Most of the resort seemed to be closed,and alot of work being done to get the resort open for the summer. When we arrived on 31st May the resort was filled with a couple of hundred Italian teenagers, who had taken over the place with loud music being played all day and until late at night, - fortunately they left on the Monday afternoon,only to be replaced by JCBs doing drilling and concrete breaking all day for the rest of the week. The location of the resort is good in that it is just off the motorway but it is impossible to go anywhere without going in a car as there are no nearby bars or restaurants, there is a large Lidl supermarket down the road but again the car was needed. The restaurant onsite was very poor quality and expensive for what it was. All in all I wouldn't recommend this resort unless it has a complete update

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 3eleonora3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Se pensate che questa struttura "ha già dato tutto in passato" vi sbagliate di grosso...pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tronodoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo A, Direttore at Cala Corvino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo A, Direttore at Cala Corvino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monopoli
9.5 km away
Porto Giardino Resort
Porto Giardino Resort
#4 of 14 in Monopoli
816 reviews
5.7 km away
Il Melograno
Il Melograno
#5 of 14 in Monopoli
288 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Don Ferrante - Dimore di charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 km away
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
#2 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
2,292 reviews
4.1 km away
Palazzo Indelli
Palazzo Indelli
#10 of 14 in Monopoli
196 reviews
10.7 km away
Masseria Fortificata Donnaloia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Monopoli

Been to Cala Corvino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Corvino Resort

Address: Viale Aldo Moro 4, 70043, Monopoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Monopoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Monopoli
Price Range: $166 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Corvino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corvino Resort, recently renovated, far only 4 kms from Monopoli centre, is situated on the evocative Apulian coast, in a green oasis of serenity and peace. It is located just few kms away from the historical, architectural and natural wonders of Alberobello, the caves of Castellana, Ostuni, Martina Franca, Fasano and Polignano a Mare. The resort lays tunefully down on a reef characterized by natural caves, brushed by a deep blue sea with its stunning colors, just 200 meters away from small sandy inlets that can be reached on foot. Thanks to its new management, Corvino Resort represents the perfect location where to spend a relaxing holiday in the pursuit of sport, delicious food and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cala Corvino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing