We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect honeymoon (you had us at the Prosecco)”
Trullo from main drive
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard Trullo looking down drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard
Trullo looking down drive
Trullo bedroom from the courtyard
Trullo sitting room from kitchen
Trullo kitchen from sitting room
Sitting room from the kitchen
Trullo bedroom with en suite bathroom. Mattress size 140 cms wide.
Courtyard in bloom
Garden - evening light
Trulli cones of main Trullo
Olive blossom in May
Olives - ready for picking in October/November
Pool from far side
Sitting area on main garden side by the pool
Time for an aperitivo!
Magical pool by night!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AliciaH84
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect honeymoon (you had us at the Prosecco)”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

After the fun-filled mayhem of our wedding, we headed out to Puglia in search of relaxation, adventure, a spot of luxury and more than a spot of good food and wine. Having picked up our hire car from Bari Airport, we followed Jill's excellent and detailed directions and headed for Trullo Caterina. Upon arrival, we got a warm welcome from Jill, who had stocked the fridge in the trullo generously with something delicious for dinner, some nibbles and a lovely bottle of Prosecco! Already convinced that we had made an excellent choice of honeymoon destination, we eagerly followed Jill to take a look at the pool. We were blown away. I think this is one of the most beautiful spots I've ever had the fortune to be lazy in. There are comfortable sunbeds and shaded spots among the olive trees to take refuge in when the sun gets a bit too much. Beautifully tended flowers and a satisfyingly crowded bookshelf make this area a really special place to be and we especially enjoyed watching the swallows swooping down to take a dip in the water!

The trullo itself is clean, comfortable and cosy. It's well equipped and we found everything to be high quality and in good working order. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept well every night. On the nights that we didn't go out we enjoyed sitting out on our private terrace having a glass of wine and planning which stunning town we would visit the next day. There are many to choose from.

Cisternino itself is gorgeous and Jill and Andrew's son James kindly offered to book tables and taxis for us if we needed. We also did James' local tour which was fun and ended with a delicious lunch at a fantastic restaurant. We visited Locorotondo, Martina Franca, Lecce, Otranta and Ostuni. All of these places offer stunning architecture, history and culture. We loved wandering round, taking photos, and stopping on romantic squares for lazy lunches of amazing pizza and seafood (and excellent local wines).

Trullo Caterina is ideally placed for towns, beaches and countryside. The pool area is just perfect and Charlie Pickles the dog is the icing on the cake, such a gentle, friendly boy!

We were so sad to leave but so grateful to have made memories to treasure. Thank you Jill, Andrew and James for a wonderful break and an excellent honeymoon - we hope to return one day!

Alicia & James

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: Nothing - everything was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Limoges, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Out most relaxing holiday ever”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

we had a great two week stay at trullo. caterina. Everything was perfect . Hosts Andrew and Jill are full of delicate attentions for their guests, they are helpful and generous. The trullo is very well equipped and comfortable , for a self catering place many things were provided for us such as water, yogurts, biscotti, olive oil vinegar, butter, soap , washing powder , wine...as we arrived on a Sunday afternoon with the shops closed , it was very convenient and thoughtful of our hosts .
Moreover the trullo is well situated in a beautiful landscape .we enjoyed the quietness of the place . We spend days relaxing by the beautiful pool . The Trullo is also well situated to visit Puglia .close to Cisternino a beautiful village to do some shopping, very good restaurants and cafés. The drive to the beach is very quick, barely 20 mn . Definitely a place to recommend, it was our first time in Italy and we felt at home . Many thanks to our wonderful hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness and th hospitality of our hosts
Liked least: nothing everything was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect, Relaxing ,Trully Wonderful”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just spent 2 weeks at Trullo Caterina. The photos and description does not do it justice, it is better and location spectacular. Hosts Andrew and Jill were more than your average hosts, they were the most friendliest hosts we have met. Perfect place to explore parts of Puglia. Cisternino on your doorstep, Locorotondo, Alberobello a short drive away. If you want to experience a stay in a Trullo, this is the place you need to come to. We had a perfect 2 weeks holiday, we would return again tomorrow if we could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amenities and Hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oleg_and...
Kiev
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“excellent location for exploring Puglia”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The property is completely as described. Even though we stayed in January and temperature outside was freezing at night inside it was comfortably warm.

Jill and Andrew are great hosts. They did everything possible to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

the property is just enough for 2 people. the only complaint I had was that the doorways between the rooms were quite low and i hit my head couple of times even though I am not exactly a tall person. But that minor discomfort is well worth staying in an authentic Italian trullo.

so, if you are looking for a rustic place to stay in southern Italy - take this one.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
De Pinte, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful location with the best hospitality we've ever seen”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We've enjoyed every minute of our stay at this trullo!
Jill and Andrew are the most caring people, with attention to every detail. For a self catering location, everything was thought of. From dishwashing liquid, candles over a welcoming drink by choice (Jill had foreseen wine, beer, water, milk, coffee and tea), biscuits,... so we could truly relax by arrival and did not need to rush to the supermarket for first shopping.
The trulli is beautiful with different terraces, swimming pool, barbecue, ... everything you could want and more!
We did feel ever so welcome and could not have wanted our stay to be any better.

If there would be one remark, we would advise to invest in a box spring bed or a higher quality matras for better sleeping comfort, but this is just our personal preference. I'm sure if we would have mentioned it, Jill & Andrew would've looked for a solution to resolve this. We just couldn't because they already were doing more than enough to ensure our perfect stay :)

We advise this location for couples who like peace and quiet with excellent service!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: excellent hospitality and beautiful peaceful location
Liked least: quality of matras
Travelling group: Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing