We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cozy perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 'Ocean View'

Ocean View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ocean View
Living Space Dugort Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Ocean View
Living Space
Dugort Beach
Kitchen
Kitchen
Ground Floor
Bathroom
Double Ground Floor
First Floor Bed
First Floor Double
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dugort, Achill Island, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Niamh U
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful cozy perfect”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here over the weekend while we were taking part in Achill Quest and it was perfect I loved the house very clean and warm, not to mention the stunning location with the beach a few minutes walk from the house, the Owner was lovely and we enjoyed chatting with him, He gave great directions and met us at the house. I would highly recommend this lovely house we will be back for sure.
Thanks again from Niamh and Paul

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Thanks for the great review Niamh! You, Paul and family are more than welcome anytime. We will do our best to maintain and improve on current high standards. The location is a major advantage and it makes sense to provide support in terms of facilities, comfort, convenience etc.
Val.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard b
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place . .”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Took my gorgeous girlfriend to achill island for her 50th and we loved it . . Ocean view cottage was lovely and overlooking the beach and mountains . Owner gave us directions over the phone and met us there very helpful . . Would come back again . Richard and Rebecca . . .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary V
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were met on arrival by Val who gave a very thorough introduction to the cottage. The cottage itself was great, clean, tidy and fully stocked with all the possible amenities required.

The floor space is quite large, we had a toddler with us who enjoyed the open plan element to use while playing with his toys. The screen in the bedroom was quite useful also.

The location of the cottage was a perfect base for early morning walks on the beach and an easy walk across the strand to the pub in the evenings.

The only downside we had was not with the cottage but it seemed that the Island had all but closed down with shops, restaurants and coffee shops in the area mostly all closed for the season and bars not serving food. (2nd week of September).

We will for sure be back to Ocean View Cottage but perhaps in the summer next time!

Thanks to Val for being a good host and being thorough in all aspects with follow up phonecalls etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Delighted to get receive another really positive review. It's good to know that everyone, including the little one, enjoyed all that Ocean View has to offer. Yes, some establishments offer a restricted service in late September before resuming fully in late October for the Halloween break. Hopefully, this trend will be reversed in the near future. The Vance family are most welcome at Ocean View any time of year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Q
1 review
“Great cottage with spectacular views of a stunning location.”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Loads to do in Achill! Absolutely perfect for walking, cycling, swimming...Ocean view is overlooking a beautiful beach and within easy walking distance of good venues for a meal and a drink. The Strand Bar and Pure Magic in one direction and Mastersons in the other direction.
The valley House is worth a visit and again is within walking distance or a short bike ride of Ocean View. The Valley House has an interesting history and a lot of character. We had a very relaxing beer in the courtyard on a beautiful sunny day, they serve food and there is a craft shop on site with local hand crafted gifts.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcosT58...
1 review
“Great location, nice, spacious house, nice host.”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

After a warm welcome the owner showed us the house. It is spacious and well furnished. The two floors are connected by an open staircase.
On our next visit in Achill Ocean View will be the location of our choice again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing