We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Cottage on a Perfect spot”
other travellers have booked this property
Achill Ocean's Edge on the Wild Atlantic Way, nestling at the foot of the hill.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Achill Ocean's Edge on the Wild Atlantic Way, nestling at the foot of the hill.
Achill Ocean's Edge looking out to sea Our new double glazed windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Achill Ocean's Edge on the Wild Atlantic Way, nestling at the foot of the hill.
Achill Ocean's Edge looking out to sea
Our new double glazed windows
Welcome to Achill Ocean's Edge
A bright room with a view out to sea
The kitchen
Twin bedded room with ocean view.
Another look at the twin bedded room.
From the living room window, Achill Beg across the sound with Clare Island rising beyond
Living room with open fire
Living room
bathroom
bathroom
A bedroom with a view
Cecil the seal cub on our beach
Cecil's mum and dad on their rock.
Crabbing Cousins
Bullagugs
Kildownet Castle
The Garden
Lobster pots at Cloughmore just before dawn
Dawn, from Derreens
Sun rising over the beach at Ocean's Edge
Sunset
Looking across clew bay from  up the hill
New neighbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Achill Island, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cornelis...
Susteren, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Perfect Cottage on a Perfect spot”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This Holiday cottage is a cosy small house with four bedrooms and a small living with real fire place ideal for the use of turf/peat
Small problem with the central heating was quickly resolved, no problem, thank you for the quick response.
The Achill Island with it's beautiful scenery perfect place to relax and a dramatic history to investigate.
Including the County Mayo with the Wild Atlantic Way

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire D
Wexford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A gorgeous quirky cottage, beautifully decorated with everything you could wish. A very thoughtful welcome basket basket greeted us on our arrival, which such a lovely touch. But it's when you step
outside that the magic really happens, the view is breathtaking, the sounds of nature all around. The beautiful garden leading down to the ocean, the seals on the rocks, the sheep and lambs walking by the hall door..and that sunset..amazing!!! Could not recommend this place any higher, hope to be back very soon:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2017
Thanks Claire. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our seaside home,. The spot is indeed magical Hope to welcome you back soon! Thanks again, Mike and Rosaleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanhayes
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning views, cozy cottage”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Everything you need in this cozy but spacious cottage. The view is amazing and even in the unpredictable February weather we took advantage of the cliff walks and stunning ocean views. The location is unusual in that we could see the sunrise and sunset over the ocean. This would be suitable for families as the house is well-equipped for cooking and kids' movies and games. It was nice to be greeted with a gift basket and peat for the fire. We saw hardly a soul (beyond the sheep) but the people we met on our walks were so friendly. Rosaleen and Mike were very accommodating and responsive, and we would return in a heartbeat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you very much Hannah, it's lovely when visitors share our delight in our cottage by the sea, we really appreciate it. We have great neighbours, glad you met a few of them!
Rosaleen and Mike.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauppauge, New York
Reviewed 9 February 2017 for a stay in July 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you Jeanne, hope to welcome you back soon1
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kate E
1 review
“Idyllic cottage for a perfectly relaxing break”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The location is absolutely ideal - and Achill has some amazing scenery on offer - on calm days its idyllic, stormy days dramatic and if you are lucky enough to get a clear night it is breathtaking.

It is in close proximity to small towns for shops and amenities - and also an ideal location to explore what County Mayo has to offer, with Ballycroy National Park a beautiful drive away. (NB. Tourist season is from Mar-Nov, so some places close for the winter season)

The cottage is well equipped, comfortable and really smart. Ideal for families, couples, friends and anyone who wants a relaxing break.

The owners answered any queries I had promptly and accurately, so the booking and whole stay was seamless. She even left a welcome basket with much needed essentials after a long drive.

We would definitely recommend this cottage to friends and family - and hope to return ourselves maybe in the summer months!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you Kate, we hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing