We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
206
51
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
51
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square air con snack menu small friendly hotel town square plenty of sunbeds fruit trees lovely pool boiled eggs lovely little hotel fab hotel well stocked bar year after year every other day ferry port comfortable rooms ham
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018

My boyfriend and I had booked a very last minute holiday and had chosen this hotel on a whim and it certainly exceeded all of our expectations! Great communication with the hotel staff before we arrived who advised us that instead of getting a taxi from the airport, we could save ourselves 30 euros by getting a taxi to the harbour and a short ferry to Lixiouri (taxi was around 20 euros and ferry around 3 euros each) with a 5 minute walk to the hotel. As soon as we arrived we were greeted very warmly by Janetta who showed us around and gave us some helpful advice about the local area. The grounds of the hotel are the incredibly well kept and lovely to spend time in. If you want to lounge by the pool there are plenty of sun loungers to go around and a lovely gazebo to sit and have lunch under. There is a very affordable snack menu that is served until 7pm (I recommend the baked Kefalonian cheese!) and a cheap and well stocked bar. The room itself was air conditioned and very clean with a television and twin beds with a fridge and kettle. La cite is less than a 5 minute walk to the main square which is very lively in the evening, and about a ten minute walk to a small beach and several supermarkets. The local people are very friendly and helpful and most speak good English if, like me, your Greek is terrible! This is a great hotel for couples, families and solo travellers- made a few friends during our stay. The thing that absolutely made our holiday unforgettable was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, who were relaxed but also willing to go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. The only slight criticism I have for the hotel would be the fact that most of the rooms seem to have twin beds which means that you may find yourself falling down the middle!! Other than that, I cannot fault it. Highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Choose room with balcony overlooking the grounds.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

9th visit to Kefalonia , 5th visit to this hotel , the service you get from all the staff is 2nd to none ,we do not feel tempted in the slightest to stay anywhere else ,the location is great , it is easy to get to anywhere else on the island , but we also think all the best beaches are on the Lixouri side ,see you all next year

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We chose lixouri In kefalonia for our holiday, we chose la cite hotel to stay there. What a choice. From the first minute of our stay Until the last we were made to feel like family. Janeta Christina rula and the owner lita looked after us superbly. The hotel had lovely grounds and pool. The rooms were very tidy and comfortable. The hotel had restaurants in abundance within a short walk. Also within a short walk you could catch the ferry to argostili it runs every 15 mins and takes 20 to get there. We feel blessed finding this gem.

Many thanks Jeff and Michelle from swinton manchester

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jeffreygodiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

The hotel is cosy, clean and comfortable and the staff could not have been more helpful. It is well located for exploring the island, especially with the ferry linking the town to Argostoli. Our room was on the top floor, overlooking the countryside. We paid extra for air-conditioning, which was well worth it. A little gem of a place that we would definitely recommend.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We were looking for a hotel somewhere sunny where we could relax by a pool, and have a few day trips. Our room was on the top floor, overlooking the garden, and was a lovely size. It was very quiet at night and we were able to lay in bed without being woken. The only issue we had was that the toilet sometimes spontaneously flushed itself and we had to run the taps to make it stop!

The pool was just about the correct size for the size of hotel. Most days there were the two of us and between two and five other families around the pool and garden. One day, we had it completely to ourselves for a few hours! There was a nice breeze past the pool which made it very pleasant to sit around. There is also a pleasant grassy area you can relax in instead, as long as you aren't scared of bees!

The hotel offers a decent breakfast, and you can pay extra for sausages, bacon, etc, which we did not bother with. You can get small meals from noon until 7pm. We had lunch there most days and can recommend the gyros as our favourite option. Everything we had was nice though. There is wine and beer at a good price, and some excellent value cocktails, which have a LOT more alcohol in than you'd expect for the price!

The staff are wonderfully friendly, and very helpful. The same few ladies are based on the desk, the bar and around the public area. Our room was cleaned every day. The garden areas were tidied and maintained almost every day.

The town of Lixouri is smaller than Argostoli, but was exactly what we were looking for. We went to several of the restaurants along the front and side streets and enjoyed all of our meals. V&S Corner had a wonderful feta pastry starter and excellent Baklava. It is only a short ferry ride to Argostoli, so we visited there one evening. We took a taxi to and from the airport to the Argostoli ferry, then walked at the Lixouri end of the journey to our hotel, which was just a few minutes walk.

We hired a car on two days, organised through the front desk. One day we drive easily to Melissani Cave and Myrtos beach, before heading down to Poros, and then to Petani beach for our evening meal. The other day we visted Assos, which we can't recommend enough, even the long walk up to the castle. We also went to Fiskardo, which was fine, but I would not bother again as it was a bit like a food court! That evening, we went to the excellent Captain Nicholas, which was a short drive away near Vatsa Bay and I throughly recommend.

Room Tip: We loved room 35.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews