We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“a lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Waterkant

Hotel Waterkant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sassnitz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Waterkant
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sassnitz
Corindi Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

after travelling through scandinavia we took the ferry from trelleborg,sweden,to sassnitz.on landing in sassnitz our host was waiting at the dock to drive us the 10 kilometres to hotel waterkant.we had a neat and clean room with a view of the marina and sea.the hotel is very close to restaurants lining the marina.there is also a u-boat museum very close by.the owners of waterkant were very helpful and went out of their way to assist with any request or question.rooms were reasonably priced and ours was about 65 euros with a nice breakfast.all in all we'd strongly recommend hotel waterkant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martythongman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

A very quiet, clean B&B on the east coast of the island, centrally located for excursions to the the chalk cliffs, Kreide Küste. Sumptious breakfast, free Wi-fi and free parking. Come in April when the tourists are few but bring a hat, gloves and scarf. You must go to the harbor where there are many ship restaurants. Be sure and visit the world's greatest ruin, Prora, miles of water front vacation apartments built by Hitler under his Kraft durch Freude program. The site is for sale.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Most people seem to use this hotel (guest house really) for one night before catching the ferry to Bornholm. This was our original intention but research showed that Rugen might be worth seeing so we booked for two - it should have been more!
We were given a warm welcome on arrival - the owner spoke very good English. We had asked for a seaview room with a balcony and this is just what we got with views over the lovely garden, out over the harbour and across the bay to Binz. The room was very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was very good indeed in the German style, again, we couldn't fault it. There are some very good local restaurants for an evening meal all within comfortable walking distance.
We plan to visit again and make a more extensive tour of the island - it is an enchanting place and the Waterkant would make an excellent centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saloio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

The hotel has a cosy family feel and we were given a warm welcome by the owner who spoke fairly good English. n.b It felt like we were the only brits in this part of Germany!

Our room was a little dated but very clean and comfortable. We had a lovely traditional German balcony with flowers and a fabulous view across the harbour and out to the Baltic Sea.

We enjoyed several cold pilsners in the well kept garden, which we had to ourselves (helped by fabulous weather). Again, this had great views out to sea.

Sassnitz and indeed Rugen Island itself is very beautiful though some of the resort has not been rebuilt since the war so it had a ' faded grandeur' feel to it.

The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We'd stay here again.

  • Liked — Sunny garden
  • Disliked — no lift
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jsalmon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2007

Our room, which was attractive, spacious and very clean, looked out over the harbor at Sassnitz, a spectacular view. We loved the breakfasts which were included. The proprietress was very friendly and helpful. There is no elevator, but that didn't bother us. Very close to the harbor and an easy walk to the National Park. We loved the hotel and would return in a heartbeat.

Ich wuerde dieses Hotel empfehlen! (I would recommend this hotel!)

  • Liked — the excellent room and view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Danac106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sassnitz
0.2 km away
Kurhotel Sassnitz
Kurhotel Sassnitz
#1 of 13 in Sassnitz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 km away
Rugenhotel Sassnitz
Rugenhotel Sassnitz
#5 of 13 in Sassnitz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Meeresgruss
Hotel Meeresgruss
#3 of 13 in Sassnitz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Precise Resort Rugen
Precise Resort Rugen
#2 of 4 in Sagard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
12.7 km away
Travel Charme Kurhaus Binz
Travel Charme Kurhaus Binz
#1 of 47 in Ostseebad Binz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.0 km away
Panoramahotel Lohme
Panoramahotel Lohme
#2 of 3 in Lohme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waterkant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waterkant

Property: Hotel Waterkant
Address: Walterstr. 3, 18546 Sassnitz, Rugen Island, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Rugen Island > Sassnitz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sassnitz
Price range (per night): $72 - $130
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel overlooks Sassnitz Harbour with a wonderful panoramic view of the Baltic Sea. The atmosphere is friendly and home-like. There is a car-park next to the hotel, and a terrace in the garden invites you to take a relaxing sunbath while enjoying the view of the harbour and the sea. Sassnitz is an ideal starting point for expeditions on the island of Ruegen all year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing