We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
22
15
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
15
7
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2014

This place is a real jewel if you like nature, silence, calm... It is really very relaxing. The city is not far away (5 mn) if you need it and the hotel is around 15 km from the A8 highway that goes from München to Salzburg. Hosted in an ancient farm the inside has been modernly adapted to travellers expectations. The owner are very nice and attentive to their host's need. Rooms are very nice, rather large for European standards, and well equipped. In addition to the room's mini-bar, a choice of drinks is available downstairs at very cool price in order to spend sometimes either outside on the terrasse or inside on the sofa nearby the old piano. We liked the fact that the place is equipped with its own water and electricity production unit (based on water). Bikes can be rented on site. It really deserves the grade given by customers on the German sites (9/10).

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. We have been able to sleep a whole day and a night without being disturb by the noise although people were coming and going normally.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sed_nomini_tuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed her as a half way point between Venice and Munich for a flight back to the States the following day. We booked our stay on bookings.com and did not get a lot of reviews for this place. But we needed a place to stay so we took a chance. We are glad we did!!! What a fantastic, clean, friendly place to stay. The rooms were huge for European standards. The beds were comfortable and the rooms spotless. Breakfast was included which was a top notch! The owner speaks English for those times when we couldn't figure a word out in our German. The owner tends to every detail trying to make his place a fantastic destination, and it shows. Highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank j_vogt9824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed there again for a short night. Again everything was very well organized (late arrival) and the room was perfectly cleaned and prepared. No matter if you stay in the main building or the side one, rooms are all well equipped with minibar, hair dryer, Sat-TV and Wireless Lan (for free !)
Perfect value for money..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank LakeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a trip to the region. It is quite a remakable place, nestled on many hectares of land. The electricity is generated from their own hydro-electric plant, and in winter apparently the heat is generated from burning waste wood. Obviously, it is not your typical hotel. The Maier family are wonderful hosts, and make you feel welcome immediately. we stayed in the recently rennovated annex, which is 3 floors and was converted from the old corn mill. Our room was a very comfortable triple with a large double (Queen) and single. The room was very clean, and the bathroom spatious with a nice hand-held shower. We had an end unit, which let the breeze come through.

There is no airconditioning, and the room was warm in the early evening, but cooled off nicely by about 10 p.m. Although the top floor has nice high ceilings, talking to others it sounded as if they were warmer, although they were provided with a fan. There are train tracks near by, and you will hear the train whistle (not too loud, but very noticable) until it stops around 2300h.

The breakfast is great with boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon, fruit, smoked salmon, varous cold-cuts, sausages and cheeses, yougart, muesli and two other cereals, juices, coffee, various teas, breads, etc. It is a relaxed, buffet. They also give you a key to the main building so that at other times you can help yourself to a selection of beers, juices, water and wine on an honour system, at a very reasonable price.

The place is definately off the well-travelled roads, and a GPS is very helpful to find the place, but it is a great location to explore the surrounding area, or as a stop-over when travelling between northern and southern Europe. It is a very pleasant and comfortable place to spend a night or more.

Room Tip: the rooms in the annex are modern and comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Curt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

The Maier's family will pamper you all the time of your stay.
Large rooms, quiet place, you'll be really aurrounded by nature, fields, bush, rivers... and not far the Chiemsee with its natural and historical (Herreninsel and Ludwig's Castle) charme.

A perfect place for bycicles, Willy, the owner, will give you one for free if you ask him, and will explain some interesting routes completely out of the traffic.

Large and really good breakfast in the morning with a a wide choice of things, sweet, savory, good ham's and cheeses selection, bread selection with all the bavarian typical breads, eggs in different ways, and all the usual things to start a new day in a perfect way.

Close to Salisburg (45 minuts) to the south and 1,5 hours drive to Munich (on state streets) (1 hour with the highway).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews