We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at the ancient gate to the town”
Review of Hotel Schwan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Schwan
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Wertheim
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Stayed here on business last week for the first time in a couple of years and really enjoyed all aspects of this establishment. It is ideally situated at the gates to the medieval town and has a lovely terrace where food and drink are served all day. We ate here a couple of evenings and the food was very good as was the breakfast. The refurbished rooms are very well appointed and spacious and even the "old" rooms are good. If there is one down point, the rooms could do with air conditioning units to keep the temperature down in the warm summer evenings. Other than that we will definitely use this establishment again.

Room Tip: The terrace is at the the front of the hotel so rooms not overlooking the terrace will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gavin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2016

In August 2016 I made a reservation for 2 nights at this hotel for me and the wife. I was offered a double room in the newer part of the hotel where we had stayed a few years back without issue. I was then emailed the confirmation for a double room in the new part of the building for a confirmed rate of 105 Euro per night. Upon arrival on 26 November 2016 we were shown our room but it was in the old part of the building which we rejected. I informed the staff member that we had a confirmation for a room in the newer part of the building and then we were shown such a room which we accepted. We checked out as planned on the morning of 28 November and were presented with a total bill of 298 Euro for room and breakfast only. The staff member did not seem to speak English well enough for me to argue with so I went ahead and paid the bill but planned to email the hotel upon our return home to make a complaint. It was clear that we were overcharged 88 Euro (approx. $85 U.S.) for our stay. I have now communicated with the hotel by email and have been informed that in spite of our confirmation for a double standard room in the new area of the building we accepted a "junior suite" at the price of 149 Euro per night. Nothing of the kind was explained to us when we checked in as we simply told the staff member that our room was supposed to be in the new part of the building. He then escorted us to the new part and showed us this alternate room which appeared satisfactory and we accepted. We were never informed that we were then opting for a much more expensive "junior suite". Live and learn I guess as we will never stay at the Hotel Schwan in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Positioned alongside the river, we could step outside the hotel into the old medieval town. The building incorporates the old town gate as it straddles across the street. The rooms were smartly furnished - good size and comfortable. We managed to find a space to park across the road. An inside garage parking facility was available nearby, but as we had a large vehicle we wanted surface parking. Being the weekend, it was free. Otherwise it would have been payable. Sadly, as it was the weekend and the shops closed early on the Saturday, it made for a quiet time! Wifi connection was variable which was frustrating to say the least. We ate a nice evening meal in the restaurant. Breakfast was also good quality with an especially nice savoury scrambled egg - delicious!

Stayed: June 2016
Thank mazaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

very friendly and helpfull staff, i liked the most location close to the river with underground parking facilities, and if you have the roof box there are about eight spaces that you can park just outside the underground car park-it is free until 08.00 in the morning, after this you have to pay about 50 cents per hour. Rooms are being modernised, but even the old rooms which i took was clean, big and tidy.
continental breakfast was ok, but short of staff in the morning, probably i was out of season-September.

Room Tip: choose a room with front view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank artkatallozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

The rooms are large and, as one would expect from a modernised German hotel, clean and well furnished; the morning's breakfast was characteristically ample and varied. Our only misgivings were that (a) we had no Wi-Fi reception in our room and (b) the sheets were a mixture of synthetic and cotton fibres: acceptable under normal circumstances, but not on a hot summer's night. (It is only for these reasons that I am reluctant to give the hotel a higher rating.) Courteous staff, who showed us where to park a car with a roofbox, which was too high for the local underground garage.
The town of Wertheim is lovely: interesting architecture, and a magnificent ruined castle on the hill above: worth climbing up to it in the early morning, to gain good views of the Main valley and work up an appetite for breakfast!

Stayed: July 2015
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wertheim
0 km away
Hotel Am Malerwinkel
Hotel Am Malerwinkel
#4 of 9 in Wertheim
33 reviews
0.2 km away
Tauberhotel Kette
Tauberhotel Kette
#3 of 9 in Wertheim
44 reviews
2.6 km away
Gasthof Hotel Mainperle
Gasthof Hotel Mainperle
#8 of 9 in Wertheim
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Belle Maison - Das kleine Hotel
11.2 km away
Hotel Anker
Hotel Anker
#1 of 5 in Marktheidenfeld
104 reviews
7.5 km away
No photo provided
Weisses Rossel
#6 of 10 in Wertheim
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schwan

Address: Mainplatz 8, 97877 Wertheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Wertheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Wertheim
Price Range: $197 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Schwan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing