We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We travelled for a curry and we're glad we did”
Review of Gandhi

Gandhi
Ranked #15 of 32 Restaurants in Les Houches
Price range: USD 9 - USD 29
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

During a cycling trip in the Alps we drove for over half an hour to get a much earned curry at this restaurant.
While the setting and interior is nothing to get super excited about the service and food left is more than happy that we'd made the trip.
We were a little worried that the curries may be overly mild as we know the French aren't hugely into hot food but we needn't have worried. The waitress could easily tell we were English by our poor French and when we ordered (a Madras for my mate and a Vindaloo for me) she asked us if we wanted them "English Hot". What came was just as we expected and hoped. Portions were not massive but plenty for us and in my opinion, all but the most glutinous curry eaters.
Highly recommended, just be sure and let them know what you and and how you like it and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank DenimGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We thought we would try something other than French food in Les Houches and this restaurant was close to our hotel. Our main dish was just fine, but skimpy, and the tough samosas we were served definitely came across as reheated frozen fare. Friendly service but I would go elsewhere next time.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank ArtisticGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We always feel very welcome here, have been several times. Great vegetarian options and very reasonably priced...nice to eat in or take out. It took a few visits to figure out what was our favourite to order but it is hands down palak paneer....delicious!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tansy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Really? Excellent authentic Indian food? Nothing is excellent or even good, sorry.
Think of it as a fast food place and there you have it; everything tastes like if cooked days before, mushy, greasy.
Ok, I'll stop now but don't go there unless everything else in town is closed!

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank micol2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I have been going to this restaurant frequently over the duration of 2 to 3 years and have never been let down. Roshad's hospitality is very welcoming and his authentic Indian cuisine is the best in the Chamonix Valley. We often hold our business meetings in here as it is such good value.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CVT-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gandhi also viewed

Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
 
Chamonix, Haute-Savoie
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
 
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing