We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but unfriendly service”
Review of Hotel de Bourgogne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Bourgogne
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cluny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel and the location was perfect. Located in the heart of cluny it was a perfect location. The hotel was nice inside. we had a suite and it was large, nicely decorated and very clean.

Some of the hotel staff were very friendly but a couple did not speak english at all and were not overly helpful. We made a reservation for the restaurant for dinner and it did not live up to expectations. Our waitress did not understand a word of english and appeared to make no effort to understand us when we attempted french. In most other places our french was passable but in cluny not at all. However, some of the other waiters appeared to be much better so perhaps we just had a bad experienced. We had mixed reviews on the food. Overall we felt out of place in this restaurant and couldnt get out fast enough. I would not recommend. the breakfast was excellent!

All in all i would stay at the hotel again but would choose to eat dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah-blair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2011

As others have pointed out, this hotel is superbly located, with outstandingly good food. The rooms vary in size but the one we had was large and comfortable. Friendly staff and good value. What more need one say?

Room Tip: Ask for a large one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Service at the top, the hotel's personnel is extremely kind and professional. The room I got (number 25) was quite large, as well as the bathroom equipped with two washbasins and a tub. The hotel as well as some of the rooms faces on the ancient abbey and the central square of Cluny. Simply excellent dinner at the restaurant (maybe a little bit expensive, but it 's worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlessandroC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Arrived at the Hotel de Bourgogne after a long drive from London to a comfortable room with wonderful view of one the remaining Cluny Abbaye towers. Bath perhaps not the most modern but all clean, functional and a decent size for two people with luggage.
The family run hotel is in the centre of this charming small historic town and just near the Abbaye and museum - in fact it is built on part of the old nave - but is very quiet . There is a garage which can be pre-booked and a small garden behind the hotel (boasting the largest dahlia I have ever seen).
The dining room was completely full on a Sunday night but did not feel noisy. There were prix fixe menus but we couldn't decide amongst the mouth-watering dishes on offer so went a la carte and were really pleased with our unusual and delicious dinner. Interesting wine list.
Breakfast served from 7.30 to 10 a.m. was varied (normal continental as well as ham, cheese) with home made jams and very good fromage blanc made by the chef.
We would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

A very conveniently located hotel in the center of historical Cluny. Simple vanilla rooms, but a very good dining room, a comfortable lounge, and a great location within walking distance from the many sites make this the best spot for a stay in town. Not inexpensive but enjoyable. Parking available.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cluny
0.8 km away
Hotel-Restaurant de l'Abbaye
1.2 km away
Hostellerie d'Heloise
7.4 km away
Chateau d'Ige
Chateau d'Ige
#1 of 1 in Ige
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Chateau de Besseuil
Chateau de Besseuil
#1 of 1 in Clesse
230 reviews
19.7 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre
6.6 km away
Hotel L'Estaminet
Hotel L'Estaminet
#1 of 1 in Mazille
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bourgogne

Address: Pl. de l'Abbaye, 71250, Cluny, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Cluny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cluny
Price Range: $135 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing