We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Das Marent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Das Marent
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Fiss
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I was there with my family (including my 3 year old child). The price/quality ratio is really good, we had very good dinners, the service was great (especially Christin - thank you). The hotel itself is very nice, our room was clean and spacious. The place of the hotel is nice because not too close to other buildings.
The only disappointment for us was the spa which was only nude.... but this is a cultural topic I know ;-)

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranceMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

The design of the hotel is very nice and modern. Place is well kept and very clean. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. In our bathroom we only had shower gel and a bar of soap which was never replaced during the five nights we stayed at the Das Marent.

Breakfast is very good but dinner did not meet our expectations. The first course is always soup or broth which were good, but would have expected something more innovative. The second plate was well presented but the choice is limited to a meat dish or a vegetarian option. If you're a fish eater you have to pay extra. We had one complaint with the chicken which was served raw. The waiter immdiately removed all 4 plates and replaced them with grilled chicken, explaining that the previous dish was cooked sous vide. There was no choice for desert and during our stay it was mostly sorbet or something similar. Considering the many positive reviews on the food we really expected something better.

The spa area is small but very good. The indoor pool however is kept cold and infact few people were using it. Moreover the only view you see from the pool area is the hotel van.

On the whole, I would recomend this hotel for one or two nights but not if you're staying longer.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Budun72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Based on previous reviews we booked the hotel excitedly with lots of expectations especially with respect to food.

The hotel is very modern with nice, confortable, very clean spacious rooms .

However in our opinion,the hotel must be going through some financial difficulties and is trying to cut costs.

The pool and spa area are much smaller than what we can see in the photos. The pool is not warm as expected and this was not rectified after complaining. Besides it faces a wall and the only view from the side is most of the time blocked by the hotel's van.

The only cosmetics in the room was shower gel. No body lotion,no shampoo. One small bar of soap for the whole stay. Not expected from a " luxury " hotel.

Breakfast was very good - nothing to complain about

Cakes and pies - non existing. It meant just sitting at the bar, ordering drinks and getting a small dry piece of cake without any choice. We expected to find a laid table with different cakes and savoury items as an afternoon snack like in all other alpine hotels.

Then we were all looking forward to dinner time as it was explained to be the best.
We were very disappointed to get no choice except between meat option and vegetarian option. Again, the meat option was not of any good cuts but very basic ordinary food. We had to pay extra to eat some beef fillet on our last day.
On one particular day, we were all given very undercooked chicken which we had to give back. No apology was given though the plates were changed.

The salads were the same boring stuff every day - lettuce, tomatoes, sweet corn, tuna, hard boiled eggs

Dessert was a sorbet ( except for one day ). It was different but would have liked to taste more Austrian desserts like the famous apple strudel.

All in all, do not go there for the food!

The staff on the other hand are very nice and the service is very good.

Though we had an amazing holiday in the region, it is difficult to say that we would return to " Das Marent ".



Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasmarent2014, Manager at Das Marent, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Sir & Madam,

thank you very much for your time to wrote a valuation of your stay in DAS MARENT. It´s really important for us to take position in this case because these are untruths and lies you wrote!

You booked a special package which was much cheaper than the normal rates. In this package there is halfpension included (a 4 course menu and also a handmade cake or pie in the afternoon). When you book the normale rates a 5 course menu with the opinion to choose between several dishes is included.

You wrote, that the chicken meat was undercooked. This is not correct. The preparation style is called „SOUS-VIDE“. This method stands for the control in the water bath under vacuum. All other guest liked the meat! We had no complaints!

Since you complained the chicken meat, the waiter brought you a new stewed chicken which you had eaten. Don´t write that we didn´t apologize this!!!!! As the waiter noticed your dissatisfaction, he also asked you if you would like to order another meat. That a beef filet is not for free is self-evident.

On each evening we served varied dessert variations and not only sorbets.
We served you at 13.09.17 a Sherbet of Lychee with mango foam, 14.09.17 variation from chocolate-flaky-pastry with salt-caramel and raspberries,
15.09.17 a sherbet of apple and cucumber with gin-tonic-foam, 16.09.17 variation from Mocha-pineapple-green pepper and at 17.09.17 ice cream with marinated apple and caramel.

The pool is heated and the water temperature is 32 degrees. It´s not a pool with warm thermal water. Therefore you have to book in a thermal spring.

It´s a shame that you wrote things that they are not true.

Please do us a favor and do not come back in DAS MARENT, because you spread untruths and lies. We can comfort you, there are neither financial hardship nor financial measures

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

me and my wife and 3 daughter stayed here in april 17.
the hotel was excellent from the amazing pool and spar facilities.
the rooms where very modern and had all the tech you needed.
but the best bit of our stay in this hotel was the food!
the hotel is owned by two local guys who our brother and passionate about
food and presentation of it. The food at this hotel is worthy of a michellen star.
its fabulous!!!
nice bar as well. A must stay if your going to fiss.
one night the owner came to the bar and took the time to chat to me and wife
and show us around his amazing kitchen, there is also a chefs table for a special treat or celebration.
when in fiss don't miss this place.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Millenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Fiss and the other snowactivity-villages also have great hotels to stay with restaurants of authentic austrian kitchen.

But this restaurant is the absolutely peak in the region. A la carte and menus are just hilarious and the price is also it.

See you soon!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Moritz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiss hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Toalstock Fiss
1 km away
Schlosshotel Fiss
Schlosshotel Fiss
#2 of 13 in Fiss
311 reviews
0.7 km away
alpslodge LIFE.STYLE.HOTEL.FISS
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Bergblick
Hotel Bergblick
#7 of 13 in Fiss
67 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Fisserhof
Hotel Fisserhof
#12 of 13 in Fiss
65 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Gebhard
Hotel Gebhard
#6 of 13 in Fiss
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Marent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Marent

Address: Unterer Spelsweg 6, Fiss 6533, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Fiss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Fiss
Price Range: $390 - $856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Das Marent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing