We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
155
14
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
14
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel van perfect stay stayed here spa area is brothers cosmetics shuttle meat region dish presentation design dessert vegetarian menus luxury austria
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

The design of the hotel is very nice and modern. Place is well kept and very clean. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. In our bathroom we only had shower gel and a bar of soap which was never replaced during the five nights we stayed at the Das Marent.

Breakfast is very good but dinner did not meet our expectations. The first course is always soup or broth which were good, but would have expected something more innovative. The second plate was well presented but the choice is limited to a meat dish or a vegetarian option. If you're a fish eater you have to pay extra. We had one complaint with the chicken which was served raw. The waiter immdiately removed all 4 plates and replaced them with grilled chicken, explaining that the previous dish was cooked sous vide. There was no choice for desert and during our stay it was mostly sorbet or something similar. Considering the many positive reviews on the food we really expected something better.

The spa area is small but very good. The indoor pool however is kept cold and infact few people were using it. Moreover the only view you see from the pool area is the hotel van.

On the whole, I would recomend this hotel for one or two nights but not if you're staying longer.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Budun72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Based on previous reviews we booked the hotel excitedly with lots of expectations especially with respect to food.

The hotel is very modern with nice, confortable, very clean spacious rooms .

However in our opinion,the hotel must be going through some financial difficulties and is trying to cut costs.

The pool and spa area are much smaller than what we can see in the photos. The pool is not warm as expected and this was not rectified after complaining. Besides it faces a wall and the only view from the side is most of the time blocked by the hotel's van.

The only cosmetics in the room was shower gel. No body lotion,no shampoo. One small bar of soap for the whole stay. Not expected from a " luxury " hotel.

Breakfast was very good - nothing to complain about

Cakes and pies - non existing. It meant just sitting at the bar, ordering drinks and getting a small dry piece of cake without any choice. We expected to find a laid table with different cakes and savoury items as an afternoon snack like in all other alpine hotels.

Then we were all looking forward to dinner time as it was explained to be the best.
We were very disappointed to get no choice except between meat option and vegetarian option. Again, the meat option was not of any good cuts but very basic ordinary food. We had to pay extra to eat some beef fillet on our last day.
On one particular day, we were all given very undercooked chicken which we had to give back. No apology was given though the plates were changed.

The salads were the same boring stuff every day - lettuce, tomatoes, sweet corn, tuna, hard boiled eggs

Dessert was a sorbet ( except for one day ). It was different but would have liked to taste more Austrian desserts like the famous apple strudel.

All in all, do not go there for the food!

The staff on the other hand are very nice and the service is very good.

Though we had an amazing holiday in the region, it is difficult to say that we would return to " Das Marent ".

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasmarent2014, Manager at Das Marent, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Sir & Madam,

thank you very much for your time to wrote a valuation of your stay in DAS MARENT. It´s really important for us to take position in this case because these are untruths and lies you wrote!

You booked a special package which was much cheaper than the normal rates. In this package there is halfpension included (a 4 course menu and also a handmade cake or pie in the afternoon). When you book the normale rates a 5 course menu with the opinion to choose between several dishes is included.

You wrote, that the chicken meat was undercooked. This is not correct. The preparation style is called „SOUS-VIDE“. This method stands for the control in the water bath under vacuum. All other guest liked the meat! We had no complaints!

Since you complained the chicken meat, the waiter brought you a new stewed chicken which you had eaten. Don´t write that we didn´t apologize this!!!!! As the waiter noticed your dissatisfaction, he also asked you if you would like to order another meat. That a beef filet is not for free is self-evident.

On each evening we served varied dessert variations and not only sorbets.
We served you at 13.09.17 a Sherbet of Lychee with mango foam, 14.09.17 variation from chocolate-flaky-pastry with salt-caramel and raspberries,
15.09.17 a sherbet of apple and cucumber with gin-tonic-foam, 16.09.17 variation from Mocha-pineapple-green pepper and at 17.09.17 ice cream with marinated apple and caramel.

The pool is heated and the water temperature is 32 degrees. It´s not a pool with warm thermal water. Therefore you have to book in a thermal spring.

It´s a shame that you wrote things that they are not true.

Please do us a favor and do not come back in DAS MARENT, because you spread untruths and lies. We can comfort you, there are neither financial hardship nor financial measures

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

me and my wife and 3 daughter stayed here in april 17.
the hotel was excellent from the amazing pool and spar facilities.
the rooms where very modern and had all the tech you needed.
but the best bit of our stay in this hotel was the food!
the hotel is owned by two local guys who our brother and passionate about
food and presentation of it. The food at this hotel is worthy of a michellen star.
its fabulous!!!
nice bar as well. A must stay if your going to fiss.
one night the owner came to the bar and took the time to chat to me and wife
and show us around his amazing kitchen, there is also a chefs table for a special treat or celebration.
when in fiss don't miss this place.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Millenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Fiss and the other snowactivity-villages also have great hotels to stay with restaurants of authentic austrian kitchen.

But this restaurant is the absolutely peak in the region. A la carte and menus are just hilarious and the price is also it.

See you soon!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Moritz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel definitely has my top notch rating...!

The two Marent brothers "in arms" have truly achieved a perfect combination of how to indulge their guests into culinary highlights, cosy family feeling and all eyes of their staff on every wish you could think of during your ski vacation...!

The top culinary talent of Alexander and Christian Marent has been shaped over many years and many stages at world class restaurants across the globe but further affined by their personal joined creativity... !

All food aficionados... go see and taste for yourself!

My personal pick of the year off course is their good friend Manfred, sommelier of the house, guiding us every evening through the excellent wine list... Thank you Manfred, for your excellent Austrian wine choices, truly a grand pleasure!

Staff is friendly beyond any doubt and gives you the impression as if they belong to the family, thank you again, Martina, Denise, Anna, Kirstin and Nathalie for all your smiles and happy service...!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ignace V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasmarent2014, Manager at Das Marent, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Ignace!

Thank you very much for your detailed review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again at DAS MARENT.


Kind regards from Fiss,
Family MARENT & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews