We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection of local wagyu”

Yakiniku Abashiri Beer Kan
Ranked #1 of 227 Restaurants in Abashiri
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 February 2019

After reading about the difficulty some other travelers had with seating, we got our hotel (the Dormy Inn close by) to book a table for us (Japanese hotels are happy to book for you, so use that service).
We were in a semi-private room with large windows overlooking the Abashiri river. Ordering was easy via a table with selectable language. We ordered individual portions, and tried both the Abashiri wagyu and the Shiretoko wagyu amongst other dishes, but you can also get a selection if you wish. The meat and vegetables were all good.
Prices were reasonable for food, albeit local Abashiri beers were more expensive than normal Japanese beers on tap. One of the better places we ate at in Abashiri (as many places were closed mid-week, possible because of winter).

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank PH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

The meat is wonderful, the beer is great, the prices are very reasonable for yakiniku, which is an expensive meal in general.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank tal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Similar to another review the Female host on the welcome desk asked us to wait a few times without taking our name or table requirements like she was for everyone else.
After 45 minutes we left after it was clear we were being given the run around. It was also clear we were the oh foreign appearing people in the establishment, my advise would be to avoid this restaurant if you are clearly a 'gaijin'.
I've been on many visits to Japan and this is the first time I've experienced this treatment and must say the next place we went to was very friendly and offered great service just down the road.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

The 3 of us went to this place for dinner. The girl at the counter was dealing with other customers who had reservations, telling them which tables to go etc, so we waited for a bit. More people came in after us, they all seemed to have reservations. The staff members continued to ignore us completely and utterly and dealt with other customers.
I understand that they were busy, but it wouldn't hurt to say just a few words like 'do you have a reservation?' 'I'll be with you in a moment'?
But for the entire time, the staff managed to behave like we weren't even there. It was so bad we couldn't even slot in a 'hello'.

We also detected quite unpleasant 'strangers don't belong here' sort of vibes both from other customers and the restaurant staff, so we left.
I've never had such bad service in Japan. Seriously not up to Japanese standards.
After leaving this place, we went to Sukiya restaurant near the station and had cheap and really cheerful meals, the food was good and needless to say, service was kind and attentive.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Service
1  Thank a k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

First the beers - well a blue beer and a green beer are interesting, but having tasted them once now, I have done that! The food is OK - DIY barbecue with plates of meat. The serves are relatively small, so you need to order at least 3 for 2 people. There are enough pictures to get by with our very minimal Japanese.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank ianmacd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yakiniku Abashiri Beer Kan also viewed

Abashiri, Hokkaido
 
Abashiri, Hokkaido
 

Been to Yakiniku Abashiri Beer Kan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.