We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Do this while you’re at the church

I wouldn’t come here just for the statue, but it’s a stone’s throw away from the church of good... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Flymehigh
,
Singapore, Singapore
via mobile
Pleasant spot

Just a very short walk from town or Church of the Good Shepherd. Interesting to see the history and... read more

Reviewed 16 October 2018
SteveM999_12
,
St Helens, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 385 reviews
  
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
98
141
131
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
141
131
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews best friend nice tribute photo opportunity hard working local history new zealand lake and mountains take photos amazing views collie shepherd mackenzie farming role contribution plaques memorial
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Wonderful to see this tribute of the sheep dog at Lake Tekapo which is and always will be man's best friend.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank lindosladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

As I say in the title it's only worth visiting as part of a visit to the church building, but as with the latter it's swamped by tourists.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

This is just another statue of man's best friend. It is located near the church of the good shepherd. This statue is dedicated to the sheep dogs who are invaluable to the people in this region. An acknowledgement of their contribution.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank PaulSiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

I wasn't so taken with the dog monument but the views of the lake & the clouds in the sky are beautiful. For me this was how I expected clouds to be when they say the 'Land of the long white cloud, plenty of parking here & hundreds of tourists really was very busy.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

The statue is within a short walk from the Church of the Good Shepard and not many tourists were near it so we took a lot of great shots of it with the mountains in the background. It is a great tribute to the hard working dogs of the region!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Ourroadlesstraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews