We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bush House. Parkbrae Estate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkbrae Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkbrae Estate
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bush House. Parkbrae Estate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had 2 nights enjoying the comforts of this lovely house. It's 3 spacious bedrooms and lounge look out into native bush but still get plenty of sun. Two generous bathrooms meant no hold ups when getting ready to go out in the mornings. The well appointed kitchen made self catering easy. Located a minute from the lake front made a 6.30am walk to watch the sun rise and paint the landscape with its warm glow one of our many special memories of Takapo.
The weather was perfect for the 3 days we were there. Our decision to drive up Mt John for an early morning coffee before we left was rewarded with the best coffee, scones and muffins we have had for a long time and as for the view - it is breathtaking. The glistening top of MT Cook could be seen above the Southern Alps with Lakes Tekapo and Alexandrina sparkling at their base. There was not a breath of wind so the silence was exquisite.
We will come again.

Room Tip: Bush House is perfect for family groups or friends. Plenty of car parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Adrienne,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments! It always means so much to us to hear how much all of you enjoyed Parkbrae Estate. We were delighted to have you and your family stay with us and we are positive you'll return to our little paradise by the Lake!
All the best,
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    26
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

A family wedding at Lake Tekapo required the perfect accommodation. Parkbrae Estate provided it. The brides parents and grandmothers enjoyed the charming Aldouri Lodge while the young marrieds loved Bush House and Garden Studio.. Nothing was too much trouble even for the youngest traveller. MacKenzie Basin wind lived upto its name but the bride blew us away as some traditions were followed at the Church of The Good Shepherd.. The bonus was the gardens that relaxed and the walk to the ceremony. Thankyou for being part of our stunning weekend. We are coming back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Hi Karen,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and all the stunning photos!
We are just so delighted you and all your family had a great time! Especially on such a special occasion!
We would to have you back and this time for a bit longer! ;-D
Best wishes,
Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Wonderful accommodation with olde world charm which was made unique with Caroline's superb touch. Great view of the Lake and church.
We stayed in Aldourie which had plenty of room for cars, boats and bikes. Lovely big fridge freezer and kitchen for a weeks stay with 11people.
Some of our group stayed in 2 of the wee huts which were so cute and loved by them.
Our grandchildren loved the Library which became a playhouse.
Can't say enough about our Hosts Caroline & Graeme (& Patricia in the office) who made our stay unique.
Would recommend this as a great place to stay and we will be going back.
DON'T foget to go star watching up Mt John, we had a fantastic night. During the day walk up Mt John to be rewarded with magnificient views, great coffee and food.

Room Tip: All rooms in the house were great and thoses in the huts were happy as.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieandGrahamNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you so much for all the great comments! Apologies for late reply though but we are upgrading our computer... very slow and confused... ;-D
We are just delighted you enjoyed your stay. It was wonderful to have all your family here! Really love that house, especially at night time with the lights on and the big windows... It looks so beautiful and lively! Great to see!
Looking forward to your next visit.
Until then,
Best wishes!
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed in the Top of the tower room for 2 nights. Nice welcome by the owner. The room has unbeatable views of Mt John and the lake. Full equipped kitchen and nice bathroom. We did miss a nice couch to sit on. Overall it was a nice place to stay walking distance from the small town. Do go and eat at Kohan if you like Japanese. Excellent! Place could do with better cleaning though.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritchy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely comments.
Top of the Tower has certainly one of the best views in Tekapo which is what most guests look for when they stay in this wee paradise.
We certainly appreciate your opinion and will relay it back to our cleaning team.
Also, we had the same thought regarding couch as we too feel a lounge area is quite suited to appreciate the view even more. So, you might have to come back another time to take advantage of the improvements.
Until then,
All the best for 2012!
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Absolutely charmed by this olde worlde property. There are 5 double bedrooms and corresponding space for 10 people. There are lots of nooks and crannies to explore and a fascinating library. I want to arrange a family reunion here in the future. Stunning views of the Church of the Good Shepherd and convenient for local shops and the Alpine Springs Spa and hot pools. Could move in tomorrow if it were possible!!! Absolute heaven on earth.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Culturevulture23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.
Aldourie is quite a special place! Every inch of the house has been decorated with much love and attention to detail. Carolyn Murray has great vision and taste which is reflected in all properties.
It would be wonderful to have you all staying again next year!
Do come back.
Until then,
Best wishes fore 2012!
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.8 km away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.4 km away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkbrae Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkbrae Estate

Property: Parkbrae Estate
Address: Sealy Street, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price range (per night): $207 - $436
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkbrae Estate is so much more than a stay... it is an experience! Preferred by so many due to its unique style cottages and units (apartments), peaceful surroundings and privileged location! No doubt the spot in Tekapo! Only a stone's throw away from the stunning turquoise lake and a few steps from the Church of Good Shepherd and Collie Dog Statue, Tekapo's best known icons!! When at Parkbrae Estate, wake up to breathtaking scenery or warm up by the fire on a cold winter night... stroll through the gardens with camera in hand soaking up the morning light... sit on the balcony with a book or a glass of the finest NZ wine...wait until the stars come out in the mesmerizing night sky and make a wish... or two... Perfect for romantic getaways, family holidays, weddings, gatherings or just an excuse to treat yourself!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing