We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding, superb venue - don't miss it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Ballina, Australia
1 review
“Outstanding, superb venue - don't miss it!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Tell everyone - this is a most beautiful, quality place to stay - none better on Tamborine Mountain. Stunning, panoramic mountain views -truly majestic on sunset. Just beautiful, top quality accommodation- superb quality in every detail; and a sumptuous breakfast to die for. Hosts are the kind of lovely, caring and kind people you would just love as your family members or next door neighbor. Totally delightful and restful experience - if you value a beautiful place, this is a must do!
Paul & Paula Bioletti, Ballina, Northern NSW.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
194
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

10 friends spent 2 nights in heaven at Avocado Sunset. The ambience of the B+B, the magnificent setting, the fabulous hosts and beautiful food made our weekend one to remember. You don't really need to leave the B+B for 2 whole days. It is so comfy and lots of books and DVDs to keep you entertained. The bedrooms are beautiful with everything you need in the bathrooms, including spa baths!

We will be back. Thank you Cheryl, Richard and David
Di, Trudy, Sue, Jenny, Pam. Pat, Carol, Lizzie, Sandy xx

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastDisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This was an amazing experience. We actually stayed at another Hotel in Mount Tamborin and while we were driving around and looking for a nice view, (We stayed in a tree house ;-)) we found the BB from Cheryl and Richard.
We stopped by and tried to see if someone was at home. They were very welcoming and showed us all rooms. Sadly the Safari room with an real fire oven was booked. So we decided to stay in the other "spa room" or so. (I forgot the name lol)
It was super nice. We had a bottle of Champagne in the HUGE bath tub and enjoyed the view, the sound of nature and the birds...
I recommend the sunset!
What can I say, the house is eco-friendly, self-sufficient and in the same time more luxury than some condos. Water quality is better than in Singapore and Avocados and eggs are harvested in the huge backyard.

All the best to Cheryl and Richard. Keep the awesome quality up and make more people happy like you made our holiday.

Cheers
Best regards from Singapore

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We decided to get away for some well overdue R and R, and we came across Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast online, their website was informative and made the place very appealing.

From the moment that we walked through the door we were made to feel very welcome and at ease by our hosts Cheryl and Richard. They were just amazing, they were friendly and extremely accommodating nothing was too much trouble for them, they made us feel at home.The views from the Veranda were completely breathtaking and the fresh and cooked breakfasts were delicious as was the in room dining.

We stayed in the Oriental room which had a queen sized bed and our own private fire place. We also had a television in the room and access to a wide variety of DVD's for us to watch in the comfort of our own room.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast to our family and friends and we will definitely be returning in the near future. We both came away from our weekend feeling refreshed and rejuvenated which was the goal for the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The place has the most amazing views. Each room is different so make sure you read the website and book one with the features you are after. We stayed in the safari room because it had all the features we were after - views, spa, fireplace.
The house itself is very elegant and you can't help but feel instantly relaxed.
We were arriving late on our first evening (having come straight from work), so we pre-arranged with Cheryl and Richard to have an in-room dining option for dinner on our first night. It was really easy, great value, and the food was fantastic. Would definitely recommend that if you are arriving in late or even if you feel like eating in.
The house also has a large DVD and board game library you are welcome to borrow if you feel like chilling out in your room.
The surrounding area was nice, we found the Gallery Walk to be too touristy for us (and too overpriced!), but we enjoyed nearby attractions such as the Botanic Gardens (free) and the local national park walking tracks. Dinner at the local Irish pub 'Clancy's' was fantastic (we ate there twice!), but we found you had to book earlier in the day if you wanted a table inside on the busy nights (Friday/Saturday), as we saw a number of people turned away or offered cold outside tables (in the middle of winter!) while we were there.

Room Tip: Book early as there are only 4 rooms in total!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wizz54, Owner at Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Hi Guys
Thank you so much for your very kind words. I think you have just put the Safari room in even greater demand!
The thing Cheryl and I enjoy the most about running our B&B is the interaction with our guests especially if they are really taking advantage of what we have to offer and they feel relalaxed at the end of their stay.
What can we say. We hope you can both come again very soon!!!
Best Regards
Richard and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
3.5 km away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.1 km away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.2 km away
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.4 km away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
5.9 km away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
3.5 km away
Camelot Cottages
Camelot Cottages
#4 of 6 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Address: 186 Beacon Rd, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in North Tamborine
Price range (per night): $190 - $265
Hotel Class:4 star — Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 60 minutes from Coolangatta Airport, (75 minutes from Brisbane), Avocado Sunset is surrounded by Queensland National Parks. Enjoy the cool summertime breezes and crisp clear winter sunshine while you snuggle beside your log fire. Each individually themed room has queen bed with en-suite and double spa baths, prices fully inclusive per room including traditional B&B hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing