We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glow Worm Caves, Mount Tamborine, QLD”
Review of Glow Worm Caves

Glow Worm Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 119.36*
and up
Springbrook and Tamborine Rainforest Tour Including Natural Bridge and Glow...
More Info
USD 103.34*
and up
Gold Coast Attraction Pass Including Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary and Dracula's...
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Glow Worm Caves, Mount Tamborine, QLD”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I loved the glow worm caves to bits! It was really quite spectacular and interesting to see all the glow worms shine in the bottom of the cave. The tour guide was also quite good, except for being 15 minutes late! When you first enter the cave, there is a DVD to watch about what you will see in the darkness. The tour guide gave us all glow necklaces to where around our necks. After the tour had finished, we went to check out the cafe' next to Cedar Creek Winery. Their menu wasn't that advanced. It didn't have much food to choose from at all. There was no food that I actually liked. So we ended up going to the Mt Tamborine Skywalk to have lunch in their eco centre.
Overall, the Glow worm caves, I think were pretty good. The only thing I was a bit disappointed in was that the tour guide was 15 minutes late. Other than that, the whole thing was very good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    203
    67
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful glow worms yet sadly disapointed.”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

my husband and I took our children up to the glow worm caves recently and sadly we will not be returning. When we were arrived we decided to get a coffee first and waited nearly five minutes until we were noticed by any of the staff, an older gentleman who smelt of alcohol. the coffee when it arrived was like warm dish water however the scones were quite lovely.

Harrison my 3 year old had to use the bathroom. when we asked who i assumed was the manager behind the bar she was about as warm and friendly as a rabid dog. after she barked her reply she let out a very audible frustrated sigh leaving me feel very unwelcome.

As for the Glow Worm tour, the "native rainforrest" that they boast of is nothing more than a thickett of weeds with a few miserable native and introduced trees.
An audiovisual dvd is listened to after you enter the cave, before you see the glow worms but when the guide played our dvd it was in CHINESE!!! six or seven minutes passed before the guide returned and then there was apparently no time to listen to the dvd in english.

after we were hearded through a narrow and cramped passageway we finally got to see what we were there for, The Glow Worms. Sadly there were no silk thingies on the glow worm we were shown but it was really bright and cute.

after viewing the one lonely glow worm for 20 seconds under red light (white light is unsustainable the guide said?) we were hearded into the darkness where we then proceeded to listen to fifteen minutes of drivel whilst staring at some pretty lights.

overall the service was terrible and the best part of the experience was stopping in the main street for some yummy fudge mmmmm. I just wanted to share my experience for any mums thinking of taking their kids up

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank diving_Deans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Take a walk on the dark side to see these lights”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

A chance turn visiting on Mount Tambourine brought us to this unusual attraction.
With no preconceptions, we entered into these caverns on a 30 minute tour. It started with a short introduction about the site as the lights were gradually dimmed before plunging into darkness to enter the main cave. Although a bit spooky at first, as our eyes adjusted there were gasps of awe, seeing the rock faces gradually illuminate like a night sky appearing before us, The tiny glow worms with their silken threads phosphorescent in the gloom.
There is a lovely seating area outside by a lake and a gift shop selling an array of affordable glow worm souvenirs. All this and a winery too. Something for all the family!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayemem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderfully informative!”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Visited with daughter and grand-daughter.....it was a very very informative tour. We had been to GloWorm caves in New Zealand and
were so thrilled to find this place. Hats off to the enterprising owners
who have developed this property from scratch! I rate it a MUST SEE!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Australiangroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Educational”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We did not just only see the glow worms but learnt about its life cycle and the research done of them for their light emitting ability. Great effort by the owner and team who are helping to increase the glow worms' number by cultivating them in the cave before placing them back in the wild.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank windmill00qi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glow Worm Caves also viewed

Tamborine Mountain, Scenic Rim
 
North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
 

Been to Glow Worm Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing